利用获得 AI 支持的医疗器械,改善所交付的保健服务

Lukasz Latus

依据 Lukasz Latus

我们无法抵抗岁月的脚步。在未来数十载的光阴中,婴儿潮一代的人口会进入老龄阶段,同时出生率会下降,预期寿命延长,在这些因素的作用下,65 岁以上人口的比例和数量都会出现上升。

人口老龄化会带来数项挑战,我们需加以应对。人们未来的居所是?随着时间推移,保健需求会增加,他们如何获得相关支持?我们如何确保这一点的实现,同时能够让他们保持独立性?

90% 的年长者希望能够继续待在自己的居所和社区当中。凭借新技术,这一选项的可行性不断增加。

我们将在本文介绍一些有碍顺利实现原居安老的因素、阐明克服此类阻碍的方式,并概述已在欧洲部署的 Star 项目(有助于更顺畅地连接年长者与保健服务提供商)。

在多个趋势的共同作用下,创新刻不容缓

去年,全球医疗保健系统中存在的不足之处展露无遗。在新冠肺炎期间,面对大量涌现的新患者,我们的医护人员显得非常短缺。虽然疫情最严峻的时刻已成为过去(但愿如此),但是这足以让我们感知到医疗保健系统会要面临更大的压力。

据世界卫生组织估算,医疗保健系统的劳动力短缺会达到 1800 万人次(截至 2030 年)。仅在美国每天就有 1 万人口迈入 65 岁,形势不容乐观。此外,随着保健需求增加,相关成本和资源需求亦会有所增长。

对于行动不便的人而言,许多居所并不适合居住,这一点让形势变得更为复杂。另外,他们可能难以承担目前的房屋费用,而且经常处于孤立状态。

简而言之,是时候以技术作为依托推出大胆创新的解决方案了。

专为原居安老而设计

虽然此类挑战可能看起来让人怯步,但是我们可从多个方面入手来获得可观成效。Star 推出了一项解决方案,旨在改善年长患者的生活,同时减轻提供商的负担。

我们拥有一大重合目标:设计出直观且同时便于两大群体使用的产品/服务。有数个重要因素要加以考量。首先,许多年长者对数字科技了解甚少。对于我们大多数人而言,“蓝牙”这类词汇司空见惯,但对他们而言,这些用语通常非常陌生,这一点给科技产品的使用带来了挑战。

有些长者比较幸运,他们家人比较年轻,知识面更广,可帮助他们使用此类工具。但是我们致力于构建出用户能够独立使用的产品。

在为年长者联合设计产品时,我们通常会准备多个不同设计,采用更大的按钮以及更为简易的界面。此外,我们可能还会利用语音技术和其他工具。

在这一案例中,我们进行了更为深入的探究。我们曾萌生以下疑问:如果用户完全不需要与技术交互,将会如何?如果技术能够以隐形的方式存在,直接自动融入用户的生活,又会如何?

借助我们的解决方案,用户无需学习应用程序或技术。我们构建出获得 AI 支持的平台,此平台可对传感器进行监控。凭借此功能,照护者可跟踪用户健康数据,并可将其与老年医学健康专家确定的指标进行对照,从而有利于提供诊断协助。

传感器存在于多个位置,例如智能服装和手表等医疗保健可穿戴设备、远程监测工具和被动式家居技术。之后,所有这些设备将数据发送至某个家庭网关。我们的算法会解读所有数据,并向提供商展示关键信息。

通过此解决方案,照护者可更为便捷地跟踪患者情况,并知悉需要升级照护服务的时间。服务内容可能为:指派医生、护士或其他医疗保健从业人员前往患者居所,并在必要时,提供急救与医院服务。

Star 已基于以下目标,执行算法来分析此类数据,从而协助照护者提供必要健康建议:

  • 年长患者的转院率降低 30%
  • 住院或急诊时长缩短 30%
  • 住院后失去自主能力的情况减少 30%
  • 孤独感增加等相关社会挑战减少 20%

虽然这一解决方案面世时间才一年多,但是在它的作用下,住院率已下降 80%,患者满意率达到 97%,对此我们倍感自豪。

为提供商的生活带来便利

我们构建平台的另一出发点为减轻医疗保健提供商的压力。毋庸置疑,降低住院率是其中一种途径。但是,我们的专注点在于确保平台无缝融入工作流程之中。

根据提供商的需求进行设计,这一点至关重要。虽然他们更精通技术,但是常常会对医疗器械产生倦怠。许多提供商并不希望在本已复杂的日常安排中再加入其他不便捷的技术。这个平台必须能够良好运作,而且可与当前的生态系统融合。因此,集成和互操作性无疑非常重要。

这一解决方案可将所有不同的数据流整合至同一通用结构中,我们可反复使用该结构来满足各种用途。我们建立了架构,此架构可将传感器系列中的所有额外输入数据转至某个数据库中。我们希望构建出能够无限扩展的结构,在新技术出现后也能将其融入。

凭借 Star 医疗科技事业部提供的这一指南,将理念转变为可投入市场的 SaMD。

克服 IoMT 平台构建过程中面临的技术挑战

虽然我们的 IoMT 解决方案用于为患者和提供商的生活带来便利,但是这个构建过程并非易事。我们面临着以下挑战:

  • 以安全且无缝的形式连接并集成解决方案的后端组件
  • 根据当地法规,我们不得使用 AWS 启动患者数据
  • 根据该解决方案,需在高度动态的环境中对访问进行全面严格控制

为了克服这些阻碍,我们运用了以下方法:

  • 使用质量管理体系提供所有文件和输出资料,确保合规性
  • 采用混合云解决方案和容器化架构,从而能够以独立单元的形式打包软件及其依赖项。
  • 构建严格的访问控制体系,确保医生、调度员和管理员在执行自己的角色任务时,不会将患者健康信息暴露于攻击风险之中。

最终,我们整个项目团队开发出获得 AI 支持的第三类医疗器械,来满足项目需求。此外,我们将集成和互操作性放在首要位置,因此未来新开发的器械和传感器亦可与之配套使用。

最终开发出强大的远程监测平台,此平台可集成物联网数据,根据患者病历和当前的健康状况触发警报,提醒照护者注意查看。

展望原居安老的前景

我们对此类技术的发展前景感到无比期待。我们已经能够想象出此番场景:随着算法不断演进,可通过算法做出更多决策,甚至有可能将提供商从方程式中解放出来。这样可为提供商匀出更多时间,并有助于进一步改善保健服务的交付效率。

例如,我们希望在不久的将来能够获得辅助式以及甚至自动化的诊断和处方开具服务。此外,我们将能够使用 AI 为患者找到最佳治疗方案,同时让提供商能够分析大量临床数据,从而获得对患者健康状况的深刻洞察。凭借这一点,能够降低保健服务成本、最大限度地提高资源效率,并可更全面地管理人口健康状况。

在此类技术以及各种医疗保健应用程序和可穿戴设备的辅助之下,我们将能够进一步鼓励使用预防保健服务,从而帮助人们维持健康状态并在必要时及早治疗。

通过 Star 医疗科技事业部,实现原居安老

如果我们希望在下个十年能够顺利实现原居安老,以及提高保健服务的实惠性、易得性和用户友好程度,同时为医疗保健领域的所有参与方带来更佳成效,那么面临的挑战将会非常之多。

Star 敢于直视挑战。我们与多家企业建有伙伴关系,包括 Constant TherapyClarify HealthZEISS,致力于构建世界一流的 SaMD、医疗科技和数字医疗保健产品大胆实践。开拓创新。以最终目标为导向。立即详细了解医疗科技实践部门

Image source: ElliQ

Lukasz Latus
Star 项目经理

Lukasz 担任项目经理一职,同时是获得认证的流程管理员,亦是一位业务分析师。他拥有 10 年的整体 IT 经验,专门负责管理医疗科技领域的监管项目。Lukasz 热衷于这份工作,它能让我们的专业技能得到精进、充分利用尖端技术,并可重新定义技术的强大作用,以此改善全球患者的生活。

利用 Star 在医疗科技领域的强大实力

我们热衷于构建能够获得用户青睐的数字产品, 以此改善医疗保健效果

minusplusloadercrossplusarrowarrow-downfacebooktwitterlinkedininstagramquotefilter-arrfilter-not-choosenfilter-choosenbell

Improving care delivery with AI-powered medical devices

Lukasz Latus

by Lukasz Latus

We’re getting older. In the coming decades, the aging baby boomer population combined with a declining birth rate and rising life expectancy will increase both the percentage and number of people over age 65. 

Our aging population presents several challenges we need to address. Where will people live? How will they receive the support as their care needs increase over time? And how can we ensure this while enabling them to retain their independence? 

90% of older adults want to remain in their own homes and communities. New technologies are making this an increasingly viable option. 

In this article, we’ll take a look at some of the hurdles standing in the way of successful aging in place, shed light on how they can be overcome and preview a Star project already deployed in Europe that’s helping better connect seniors with care providers. 

aging in place

Converging trends are triggering a pressing need for innovation

The past year has revealed the seams in the global healthcare system. During COVID-19, there has not been enough personnel to handle the large influx of new patients. While hopefully, the worst of the pandemic is behind us, this has given us a glimpse into the increased strain on the healthcare system to come.

The World Health Organization is estimating a healthcare labor shortage of 18 million workers by 2030. With 10,000 people turning 65 each day in the US alone, this is not a tenable situation. Moreover, as care needs increase, associated costs and required resources simultaneously go up. 

To further complicate things, many homes are not accessible for people with limited mobility. They also may struggle with affording their current housing and are often isolated. 

In short, it’s time for bold, tech-driven solutions.

Designing for aging in place 

While these challenges may seem daunting, there are numerous areas where it’s possible to make a significant impact. At Star, we crafted a solution targeted to improve the lives of older patients while reducing provider burden.

We had one main overlapping goal: to design something intuitive and easy to use for both groups. We had to consider several important factors. First, many older adults have limited familiarity with digital technologies. Vocabulary many of us take for granted like “Bluetooth” is often meaningless for them and makes using tech products challenging. 

Some are fortunate to have younger family members who are more knowledgeable and can help them navigate these tools. But we aimed to create a product that people could use independently. 

Generally, when we co-design a product for older people, we prepare different designs featuring larger buttons and simpler interfaces. We may also leverage voice technology and other tools.

voice technology

In this case, we went a step further. We asked what if the users didn’t have to interact with the technology at all? What if it could be invisible to them, so it just fits automatically into their lives? 

With our solution, there is no app or technology for them to learn. Instead, we created an AI-fueled platform that monitors sensors. This allows caregivers to track user health data and cross-reference them with indicators defined by geriatric health experts to facilitate diagnostic assistance implementation. 

Sensors include those on healthcare wearables such as smart clothing and watches, remote monitoring tools and passive in-home technologies. All of these devices then send data to one gateway in the home. Our algorithm interprets all this data and presents key information to providers.

The result is one solution for caregivers to help them track patients and know when it’s necessary to escalate their care. This might be sending a physician, nurse or another healthcare practitioner to their homes and when necessary, emergency and hospital services.

Star implemented an algorithm to analyze this data to help caregivers make necessary health recommendations based on the following goals: 

  • 30% reduction in hospital transfer rates for older patients 
  • 30% reduction in length of hospital stay or in the ER 
  • 30% reduction in autonomy loss post hospitalization
  • 20% reduction of associated social challenges such as increased isolation

While the solution has only been live in the market for a little over a year, we’re proud to say it's helped lower hospitalizations by 80% and has a 97% patient satisfaction rate.

Simplifying the lives of providers

Our platform is designed to reduce strain on healthcare providers simultaneously. Of course, lowering hospitalizations is one way we do that. But our main focus is ensuring that it fits seamlessly into workflows. 

Designing for their needs is vital. While they tend to be more technologically literate, they often suffer from device fatigue. Many do not want another clunky technology to add to their already complex daily schedules. Whatever it is must work well and fit into the current ecosystem. Integration and interoperability are thus absolutely essential. 

The solution unifies all the different data flows into one common structure that we can reuse for a variety of purposes. We created an architecture that translates all the additional input data from the range of sensors into one database. The idea was to create an infinitely expandable structure with the possibility to add new technologies as they emerge.

Go from idea to market-ready SaMD with this guide from Star HealthTech.

Overcoming the technical challenges of creating an IoMT Platform

While our IoMT solution was designed to make the lives of patients and providers easier, creating it was far from simple. We encountered the following challenges:

  • Connecting and integrating the backend part of the solution in a secure and seamless fashion 
  • Local regulations prevented us from using AWS to start patient data 
  • The solution required strict access controls all in a very dynamic environment

To overcome these hurdles, we employed the following approach: 

  • Used our quality management system to provide all documentation and outputs to ensure compliance 
  • Adopted a hybrid cloud solution and a containerized architecture that makes it possible to package software and its dependencies in isolated units
  • Created strict access controls to ensure physicians, dispatchers and admins could perform their roles without exposing vulnerable patient health information 

Ultimately, our full project team developed a Class III, AI-powered medical device ready to meet the project needs. Moreover, integration and interoperability are front and center so new devices and sensors that haven't even been developed yet will be able to work with it. 

The result is a robust telemonitoring platform that integrates IoT data that triggers alarms for caregivers to review based on patient history and current health status.

creating an IoMT Platform

Looking into the future of aging in place

We’re excited about where technology like this will evolve. We already can imagine the algorithm handling more decision-making and possibly even removing the provider from the equation as the algorithm evolves over time. This would free up even more time for them and help to further improve the efficiency of care delivery. 

For example, we’re expecting assisted and even automated diagnosis and prescription in the near future. We’ll also be able to use AI to find the best treatment plans for patients while enabling providers to analyze vast amounts of clinical data to generate deep insights into patient health. This will be an opportunity to reduce the cost of care, maximize resource efficiency and better manage population health. 

With these technologies along with the array of healthcare apps and wearables, we’ll further be able to encourage preventative care to help people stay healthy and seek early treatment if needed. 

Enabling aging in place with Star HealthTech 

We face many challenges over the next decade if we want to successfully enable aging in place and make care more affordable, accessible and user-friendly while improving outcomes for everyone in healthcare.

At Star, we’re up to the challenge. We partner with companies like Constant Therapy, Clarify Health and ZEISS to build world-class SaMD, MedTech and digital healthcare products. Be bold. Be disruptive. Be endgame-driven. Discover more about HealthTech Practice now.  

Image source: ElliQ

Lukasz Latus
Project Manager at Star

Lukasz is a Project Manager, certified Scrum Master and business analyst. He has 10 years of holistic IT experience, specializing in managing regulated MedTech projects. This is the type of work Lukasz loves as it pushes our expertise, uses cutting-edge technologies and redefines what technology can do to improve the lives of patients everywhere.

Harness Star's HealthTech capabilities

We are passionate about improving healthcare outcomes with digital products that are a pleasure to use

We are truly global.
Explore our locations around the world.

minusplusloadercrossplusarrowarrow-downfacebooktwitterlinkedininstagramquotefilter-arrfilter-not-choosenfilter-choosenbell