GTM No Script

揭秘数字疗法:医疗保健领域的未来就在当下

 

将处方疗法直接下载到智能手机中,这听起来似乎有些遥不可及。但是,数字疗法 (DTx) 已悄然而至,能够按需提供以患者为中心的个性化医疗保健服务。

据预计,未来十年 DTx 在不同医疗领域中的应用将呈爆发式增长。数字疗法会给医疗保健理念带来哪些挑战?它必须克服哪些障碍才能实现大规模采用?

本文汇集了数字健康领域四位领军人物的专业见解,将为你一一揭晓答案。以下是部分他们所分享的关于 DTx 的精辟见解。如果你不想错过这些创新大师所说的每一个细节,请收听完整的播客内容

准备好将 DTx 目标付诸行动了吗?立即联系 Star 的数字医疗保健专家。

立即联系

  • 个性化是 DTx 赖以发展的根基。凭借 DTx,可根据个人需求提供定制的医疗保健干预服务。Matt Omernick 曾把 DTx 治疗比喻成药丸,“不同用户获得的药丸 [治疗] 完全不同,而且药丸每天都会变化”,会根据患者健康状况的变化调整疗法,从而确保治疗的有效性。
  • 获得 FDA 批准的产品和非处方药产品各分秋色。目前处于 DTx 的起步阶段,要区分获批的数字疗法和健康类应用程序(比如脑力游戏和调整练习)可能有点难度。但是这两类产品都有存在的必要性,而且可以联合起来使用以促进实现改善医疗与健康领域这一整体目标,正如 David Box 所说,“非处方药 DTx [同样有用],虽然它不一定获得了 FDA 的批准,但它通过提高依从性最终确实起到了改善患者健康状态的作用”。
  • 获得 FDA 批准虽然充满挑战,但是这个过程有望加快节奏。DTx 属于全新的医药类别。因此,并没有针对如何获得 FDA 以及其他监管机构的批准确立专用的路线图。但是,Shrawan Patel 指出,在首批 DTx 面市后,要获得监管机构的批准所面临的障碍会有所减少,“第一款 [数字疗法] 上市后,其他产品便有章可循,它可发挥基准的作用,为其他公司提供上市指引”,会对日后提升产品开发速度起到促进作用。
  • 利用大型数据集加快测试。数据为全新的产品测试框架创造了条件。因而,在 David Cox 看来,过去的双盲对照研究模式“愈发显得过时”。相反,我们“正在迈入这样一个时代,数据量在围绕证据的探讨中发挥着重要作用。”

在 Apple Podcast 中订阅   |   在 Spotify 中订阅

请注意播客以英文的形式提供

数字疗法的未来

正如 David Cox 所说,要构建大规模的 DTx 解决方案来促进大范围应用,“没有捷径可走”。但是我们正朝着正确的方向迈进。比如说,像 Constant Therapy 这类应用程序已经获得 40 多万次的下载量,让我们看到了由 DTx 驱动的未来可能呈现的模样。

未来 5 到 10 年,数字疗法将以各种方式给医疗行业带来变革性的影响,这些方式可能在意料之中也有可能出乎意料:

  • 技术集成。来自 Star 的 David Box 表明,数字疗法将集成“当下甚至不存在的技术”(包括植入材料、可穿戴设备和软件的可能组合),会让我们为之一惊,欣喜不已。
  • 防重于疗。所有嘉宾都认同以下观点:医疗保健领域将把重心转向预防护理。当下的智能冰箱已经能够在食物不足时为你订购食物,我们可以试想下它们的发展趋势。据 David Cox 预计,“社会将进一步推进此 [技术] 的发展,直至冰箱对你有足够的了解,从而能够分辨出你不宜吃哪些食物,适合吃哪些食物,这样它就可为你订购合适类型的食品,[从而] 为你提供最适宜的饮食。”DTx 将在各种产品中实现这类功能,渗透到生活的方方面面,为所有人提供更为全面的预防护理。
  • 减少治疗的副作用。目前,临床医生通常使用药物作为患者的一线治疗方案,但是每种药物都会产生对应的副作用。我们选择忍受这些副作用,是迫于没有可行的替代方法所致。Shrawan Patel 阐释了 DTx 将如何开辟新的渠道,进而改变这一模式,临床医生可以“尝试数字疗法,而不是一开始就测试药物的效用(执行生物药物分析)。这样,你就不用担心会产生任何药物类的副作用。”最终造就的局面是:患者获得有效的一线治疗,而无需忍受传统药物带来的副作用。
  • 更注重认知健康和心理健康。Constant Therapy 等 DTx 干预疗法以及 Headspace 等非处方药产品大获成功,这表明医疗保健领域越来越关注认知健康和心理健康。Matt Omernick 对这一新兴趋势进行了描述,并表明“市场上富有先见之明的保险公司和付款方已经洞察到这一点”,认为这一趋势会“有利于提升我们的健康水平”,同时会改善他们的盈亏状况。

全方位了解已上市的 DTx。立即下载我们的行业趋势报告。

立即下载

深入了解 DTx 和医疗保健领域的发展

Matt Omernick 概括了 DTx 将带来的各种变革,认为“与我们药物互动的过程是真正让人愉悦的,可以提前进行,甚至能起到预防的作用”。DTx 可为我们的健康带来多重裨益,而这只是暂露头角而已。试想下十年后我们将达到的高度。

这几位 DTx 方面的专家为我们分享了大量真知灼见,上文不过是冰山一角而已。如需详细了解数字疗法和医疗保健领域的未来,请收听播客

在此之前,可下载我们的趋势报告。我们在此报告中探讨了数字健康领域的 9 大类别,未来十年这些类别将重新定义医疗保健领域。本报告深入全面地介绍了领先的 DTx 产品,并说明了企业如何开始自行构建以患者为中心的可扩展数字疗法解决方案。

立即下载

cross arrow facebook twitter linkedin

Digital therapeutics unlocked: the future of healthcare is now

 

digital therapeutics

Downloading a prescription therapy directly to your smartphone sounds like technology from the future. However, digital therapeutics (DTx) are already here and delivering on-demand, personalized and patient-centric healthcare. 

Over the next ten years, DTx applications are projected to skyrocket across every aspect of medicine. How will digital therapeutics challenge our conception of healthcare? And what obstacles must it overcome to achieve wide-scale adoption? 

We gathered four digital health leaders in this expert roundup episode to answer these questions and more. Below is a small selection of the fascinating DTx insights they shared. To hear everything these innovators had to say, listen to the complete podcast. 

Ready to go from DTx idea to action? Get in touch with Star’s digital health experts now.

Contact now

  • Personalization is a DTx cornerstone. With DTx, health intervention becomes customized and tailored to individuals. Matt Omernick described how DTx treatment is like a pill that “anyone that experiences it…is getting a completely different pill [treatment] that changes every single day for them and for them alone,” creating adaptable and effective therapies that adapt to changes in patient health.
  • FDA-Approved and OTC products both have a place. In these early days of DTx, distinguishing between approved digital therapeutics and health apps like brain games and mediation exercises can be difficult. But both are necessary and can work together to support the overall goal of promoting health and wellness because, as David Box notes, “over-the-counter DTx [is also useful] because it’s ultimately helping improve patient health by or through adherence” even if a product doesn’t necessarily have FDA approval.
  • Achieving FDA Approval is challenging but will begin to get quicker. DTx is an entirely new class of medicine. As a result, there is no dedicated roadmap for achieving FDA and other regulatory body approval. Nonetheless, Shrawan Patel noted that the barriers to regulatory approval will shrink after the first wave of DTx hits the market, “once one [digital therapeutic] is out there, more can come down the pipeline because it can act as what’s called a predicate…that allows other companies to come onto the market” helping to facilitate faster product development in the future.
  • Quicker testing through harnessing large data sets. Data opens up new frameworks for product testing. Consequently, the past model of controlled, double-blind studies are starting to grow “more and more outdated,” according to David Cox. Instead, we are “starting to move towards a world where the volume of data plays a part in the conversation around proof.” 

The future of digital therapeutics 

As David Cox notes, “there’s no silver bullet” for building large scale DTx solutions that drive universal adoption. But we’re headed in the right direction. Apps like Constant Therapy, for example, already have 400,000+ downloads and give a glimpse of what a DTx-driven future might look like. 

Over the next 5-10 years, we’ll see digital therapeutics transform medicine in a variety of expected and unexpected ways: 

  • Technology integration. Star’s David Box noted how digital therapeutic would delight and surprise us with “technologies that don’t even exist today,” including potential combinations of implantables, wearables, and software.
  • Prevention rather than treatment. All the guests agreed healthcare would shift gears to focus on preventative care. We can imagine the evolution of today’s smart fridges, for instance, that already can order food for you when you’re running low. David Cox projected “then accelerate that [technology] forwards….when it knows enough about you to know what’s bad for you, and what’s good for you…then it’s going to be ordering the right types of foods for you to eat…[resulting in] the perfect diet for you.” DTx will be doing this across a range of products across people’s lives creating more comprehensive preventive care for everyone.
  • Treatment with fewer side effects. Right now, clinicians often use medications as first line treatments for patients, yet every medication comes with its own set of side effects. We tolerate these adverse effects as no viable alternatives exist. Shrawan Patel illustrated how DTx would alter this paradigm by opening new channels where clinicians could “instead of trialing a drug first (biopharmaceutic) you can trial a digital therapeutic. So you have none of the biopharmaceutic’s effects to worry about.” The result is effective first line treatments for patients without the negative side effects that come with traditional medications.
  • Greater emphasis on cognitive and mental health. The immense success of both DTx interventions like Constant Therapy along with OTC products such as Headspace indicate growing cognitive and mental health focus in the healthcare community. Matt Omernick described this emerging trend and how “smart insurers and payers out there already know this” and believe it will “pay dividends down the road for our health” as well as their bottom line. 

Get a comprehensive look at DTx in action. Download our industry trend report now.

Download now

Dive into DTx and the evolution of healthcare 

Matt Omernick summed up the changes DTx will deliver noting that “interacting with our medicine can actually be enjoyable, early, and even preventative.” This is just the beginning of what DTx can do for our relationship to our health. Imagine where we’ll be in ten years. 

We’ve just only begun to discuss the fascinating insights these DTx experts shared. Listen to the podcast to hear more about digital therapeutics and the future of healthcare.

digital therapeutics trend report

Before you do, download our trend report. In it, we explore 9 digital health categories that will redefine healthcare over the next decade. It’s the perfect in-depth look at leading DTx products and how you can start on the journey towards building your own patient-centric and scalable digital therapeutic solutions.

Download now