GTM No Script

工作场所策略必须具备灵活性、以科技作为推动力而且以确保福祉为核心,原因何在

未来的工作场所策略 - Shine 播客  59443

在经历两年的剧烈扰乱和变动后,如今,工作场景是怎样一番景象呢?企业如何能够营造、构建合适的工作环境,从而助力团队成员保持最佳状态?

在这一新年首期播客中,我们的专家对这些问题进行了探讨。本次对话以构建合适环境为主题,探讨了为何需要了解人们需求,以及通过哪些方式在这一充满变数的世界中提升生产力、福祉并促进增长。科技、心理分析、有关工作场所的技术趋势以及不断变化的劳动力,都是这一过程中的主角。

立即倾听专家的见解,收听完整讨论内容。

收听播客

挥别朝九晚五的模式。工作的定义已发生改变

疫情期间,在技术赋能下,员工能够居家办公(如果足够幸运,亦有可能一边观海一边工作)。员工不再需要经历漫长的通勤过程、高峰期,亦无需受到穿工装的约束。如此一来,你自然觉得士气会更高,至少工作氛围会更为积极。然而,事实并非完全如此。虽然许多员工确实享受到这些益处,但是各行各业中出现的高倦怠率也令人担忧。

原因何在?出现了两大密切相关的问题。首先,许多员工感到不堪重负,以至于有些政府甚至通过了“离线权”法律。与此同时,我们都已体会 WFH(居家办公)生活带来的限制。对于许多育有小孩的员工或者几代人同住狭小居所的员工而言,远程办公让人力不从心。他们把握住一切机会,希望能够尽快回到办公室工作。

此外,Morten 表示,“青年人才不想要采用朝九晚五的工作方式(工作时间为周一至周五上午 9 点至下午 5 点)。他们向往充实的生活,希望将工作分解为可在一天当中任何时间完成的任务。不希望频频加入 Zoom 通话,也不想与老板开会。”

朝九晚五的工作方式

Stephen 补充道,“千篇一律的方式并不可行。国家不同、部门不同,具体情况也会有所差异。远程办公这种模式可能会继续存在,但是雇主需要考虑采用合适策略,来构建融合型或混合型工作场所。”未来数年,工作场景会不断变化,而采用灵活工作方式的企业会获得最高的适应能力。

Morten 对两大已发生变化的工作场所策略之基本要素进行了说明,进一步细化了上述观点,“我们已经更为深刻地意识到工作不仅仅关乎工作本身。它代表着我们要完成的任务。另外,工作空间对工作的完成度具有重大影响。如今,我们愈发意识到工作空间对于不同工作模式的重要性。”

他以亲身经历阐述了这一点。他表示在家中要 3 小时才能完成的管理任务,在咖啡馆中 1.5 小时内即可完成。他在这一环境中能够专注于工作处理。然而,他的一位朋友却认为这家咖啡馆过于喧闹忙乱,而无法让人集中注意力。

雇主需要看清当下的现实状况。如果能够了解个人需求,以及如何在实体和虚拟环境中利用空间,则可提高士气和生产力、提升健康与安全性,并可提高留任率。

Victor 解释道,在正确看待这一点后,“大多数企业着眼于未来的工作场所。他们专注于工作位置,而非我们实际处理工作的方式。未来的工作情景可用以下三大要素加以描述:灵活性、科技、福祉。

为此,企业需要探索基于任务的工作模式,以及如何随时随地为员工提供合适的工具与环境。

能够让我们发挥最佳绩效的最为合适的工作空间

随着 Victor 深入探究瞭望-庇护理论(用于构建最佳空间),对话得以进一步深入。人们倾向于选择视野开阔(瞭望)而又比较隐蔽(庇护)的环境。我们在思考空间策略时,需立足于高点,着眼于能够为我们提供最多信息的空间。

我们所知的办公室概念,仅有 200 年的历史。它在很大程度上基于工厂或仓库类型的工作予以构造。想想过去两个世纪所发生的各种变化。如 Victor 所说,“事实上,我们在户外环境中能够发挥最佳绩效,但是我们已将所有时间花在于密闭环境中构建一个个的隔间,将大自然隔离在外,我们在人造光源下呼吸着‘二手’空气,对户外环境的接触非常有限。”

当下是合适的时机来利用深刻见解,了解推动员工发展的因素以及可对这一点提供促进作用的技术,从而跨越上述阶段,让办公室的形式更加合理。要实现这一点,尤其需要改变管理模式,同时也需要采用全局观。

如 Morten 所述,“目前许多企业的统计数据表明:如果员工不在办公室办公,则晋升的几率会大幅下降。因此,也许你会因居家办公政策而获得优良绩效,而且一切都很顺利,但是我们要说的是 10 位高层领导中有 8 位会希望员工在办公室工作,才会给他们提拔的机会。”这势必会造成优秀人才的流失。

企业需要紧随科技趋势,尤其是数据点,据此做出决策,员工可以远程办公、在办公室办公,亦可以采用混合工作模式。专注于个人工作质量及其与企业的整体福祉之间的关联,至关重要。

构建最佳混合策略,加速团队发展。与我们的专家保持联系。

取得联系

工作场所技术如何让世界变得更加美好

在我们向前迈进的过程中,技术发挥着关键作用。在技术赋能下,远程办公得以实现,此外,工作环境也能实现以人为本,而不受地理位置的局限。一切都将归结于大数据,以及企业对它的应对方式。

健康和安全的重要性与日俱增,长期而言,此类数据对于计划复工的企业而言非常关键。在此类场景中,Friday PM 等企业利用人工智能、传感器和分析技术,从而实现对办公室的精密微调。

例如,此类企业可监控建筑中的二氧化碳含量,从而防止其达到危险水平,并可相应对容纳人数进行调整。同样地,此种控制可应用于空间布局中。可衡量在特定的空间和家具布局中的团队工作情况,并持续迭代,从而改善个人福祉。

详细了解工作的现状和未来

几位领军人物针对工作的未来和工作场所技术解决方案分享了引人入胜的见解,而我们论述的部分仅仅为冰山一角。他们继续针对不断变化的工作环境、设计解决方案分享了自身经历,并进一步探讨了如何结合年青一代的“智能”因子与年长一辈的“智慧”特性,甚至对元宇宙进行了探究。

详细了解 Friday PM(Star 内部孵化的初创企业)的数字工作场所进化平台,并在社交媒体上进行关注。此类平台致力于助力全球企业利用合适方法和最新技术,来构建灵活且适用的工作空间,促进员工发挥最佳绩效。

了解 Friday PM 如何利用前沿技术与深刻见解来构建以人为中心的空间。

了解工作的未来

GTM No Script

Why your workplace strategy must be flexible, tech-driven and focused on wellbeing

Shine: a podcast by Star_guests

After two years of radical disruption and change, what does work even look like anymore? And how can companies inspire and create environments that help their team members be at their best? 

These were the questions our experts tackled on this first episode of the new year. This conversation rooted in the built environment answers “the big why?” on the importance of understanding human needs and how to promote productivity, wellbeing and growth in our highly unpredictable world. Technology, psychology, workplace technology trends and the changing workforce all take center stage. 

Hear it from the experts and listen to the entire discussion now. 

Listen to the podcast

Say goodbye to the 9-5. The definition of work has changed

During the pandemic, technology enabled people to work from home (or the beach if you were lucky). They said goodbye to long commutes, rush hour and office wear. So you’d think that morale — at least around people’s jobs — would be higher. But this hasn’t entirely been the case. While many workers do enjoy these benefits, there is an alarmingly high burnout rate across industries.

What’s causing this? Two closely related issues have emerged. First, many employees feel overburdened, so much so that some governments are even passing “right-to-disconnect” laws. Concurrently, we’ve all experienced the limitations of WFH (working from home) life. For many people with children or living in small, multigenerational homes, remote work has been anything but easy. They’ve jumped on opportunities to get back to the office as quickly as possible.

Moreover, Morten describes how young talents don’t want a 9-5 approach (Monday to Friday, 9 AM to 5 PM schedule) to work, “They want to live a full life and fit work into tasks as something that happens at any time of day. They don’t want to join countless Zoom calls and have meetings with the boss.”

Stephen adds, “One size does not fit all. Things vary from country to country and sector to sector. Working remotely is likely here to stay, but employers need to look at strategies to create blended or hybrid workplaces.” The companies that embrace flexibility will be most suited toward the evolution of work over the next few years.

Morten breaks it down by explaining the two fundamental workplace strategy factors that have changed, “We’ve been much more aware that work is not just work. Work is tasks that we do. And space has a major impact on how well we do them. We’ve now become much more aware of how important space is for different work modes.” 

He illustrates this through a personal example. He describes a cafe where he can knock out admin tasks that take 3 hours at home in just 1.5 hours. It gives him the right level of focus. However, one of his friends sees the same cafe as being way too loud and hectic to get anything done possibly. 

Employers need to wake up and smell the coffee here. Understanding individual needs and how you use space both in physical and virtual environments translates to better morale, productivity, health and safety and higher retention rates. 

To put this in perspective, Victor explains, “Most organizations look at the future of the workplace. They focus on the location rather than how we actually do our work. The future of work can be described in three words: flexibility, technology, wellbeing.” 

To get it right, they need to think task-based working model and how to provide the right tools and environment for employees wherever they are. 

The most appropriate space to do our best work

The conversation grows deeper as Victor dives into the prospect-refuge theory for optimal space creation. People tend to prefer environments with an unobstructed view (prospects) and areas of concealment (refuges). When we do our strategic thinking, we need to be up high, looking at spaces that give us the most information.

The office as we know it is only 200 years old. It was largely modeled on factory or warehouse type work. Think about all that has changed during the past two centuries. As Victor explains, “We’ve spent all our time building boxes and keeping nature out in enclosed environments, breathing recycled air under artificial light with limited access to the outdoors where we actually do our best work.” 

It’s time to evolve past this stage by leveraging deeper insights into understanding what makes people thrive and the technologies that can help facilitate this. This will require a shift from management in particular and a holistic view. 

As Morten elaborates, “There are many companies now where statistics show that if you’re not visible in the office, your chance of promotion goes significantly down. So you might have a successful work from home policy, and everything is going well, but let’s say 8 out of 10 senior leaders want to physically see their employees for them to move their career forward.” This is a sure-fire way to lose good talent. 

Instead, they need to keep up with tech trends, especially data points to inform their decision regardless of whether a person works remotely, in the office or follows a hybrid working model. It’s important to focus on an individual’s quality of work and how it’s linked to the overall wellbeing of the company. 

Create the best hybrid strategy to fuel your team’s growth. Get in touch with our experts.

Get in touch

How workplace technology will make the world a better place

Technology is crucial as we move forward. Just as it made remote work possible, it will also enable more human-centered work environments regardless of where that might be. Everything is coming down to big data and how organizations respond to it. 

With health and safety more important than ever, this data is critical for companies planning their return to work over the long term. This is where companies like Friday PM are leveraging artificial intelligence, sensors and analytics that enable sophisticated fine tunings of the office. 

For example, they can monitor carbon dioxide in a building to prevent them from reaching dangerous levels and modulate occupancy accordingly. This level of control can likewise be applied to space layouts. It’s possible to measure how teams work given a certain space and furniture allocation and continuously iterate to improve wellbeing down to the individual. 

Explore more on the present and future of work

We’ve barely scratched the surface of the fascinating insights these leaders shared on the future of work and workplace technology solutions. They went on to discuss their own experiences in the evolving work landscape, design solutions, more detail on how to harmonize the “intelligence” of younger generations and the “wisdom” of older generations and even touched on the metaverse.

Discover more about Friday PM’s — Star’s internally incubated startup — digital workplace evolution platform and follow them on social media. They’re helping companies worldwide leverage the right approach and the latest technology to create flexible, fit-for-purpose workspaces that unlock the best in people.

See how Friday PM harnesses cutting-edge tech and deep insights to create people-centered spaces.

Check out the future of work