GTM No Script

你会和汽车谈话么?
如何从行人的角度重新定义汽车的交流方式

你当前设计的汽车使用一种让人尴尬的社交方式

汽车为何总是鸣喇叭呢? 

假想下你在步行途中,附近的车辆鸣起的喇叭达到 100dB,你是否会问自己:我确实需要注意这辆车吗?驾驶员按喇叭真的会帮助到他人吗?汽车为何总是对我如此不友好呢?

在当今这个时代,富有创意的车辆理念要多于以往任何时候,从自行车式混动汽车,到快捷乘客运送车,再到电动皮卡,不胜枚举。在某种程度上而言,此类创新受到自动驾驶技术的启发,在自动驾驶范畴中,车对车 (V2V) 通信采用自动化方式,而且让人欣慰的是,它以安静的方式实现。

从另一个角度,相对于车辆创新,新的城市规划更注重行人的体验。这意味着汽车与自行车、电动滑板车以及行人之间的距离将变得越来越近。

在这种环境下,多模式程度日益加强,而且大众对汽车的安全性持怀疑态度,因而汽车需要采用更为有效的方式与外界保持通信。简而言之,汽车需要使用新的“语言”,即采用全新的车对人 (V2P) 通信方式。否则,大众的这一感知会进一步强化,会更加认定汽车是现代城市景观的破坏者。

问题来了,这种全新的汽车通信方式会以怎样一种方式呈现呢?

我们提出了车辆通信框架

Star 公司涉足汽车领域已有一些时日,致力于设计全新的车与人通信方式。为了在车内实现更直观的交流,我们联合创意了 Nomi 机器人伙伴,这款产品已斩获多项荣誉。

如今,我们在专注研究汽车的外部语言,提出了一种简易好用的框架。这一框架有横纵两个坐标:潜在危险(这个境况的风险程度如何?)以及信号强度(汽车与外界的通信强度如何?)

通过这两个维度,我们可以得到四个象限:静象(低风险、弱信号);显象(低风险、强信号);隐象(高风险、弱信号);以及警报(高风险、强信号)。

如需详细了解我们在屡获殊荣的 Nomi项目,请阅读该案例研究。

深入阅读

传统的汽车通信

我们今天所熟知的汽车语言已进化了大约一个世纪。虽然部分视听信号(例如转向指示灯)最初与直觉相违背,但是如今已被广泛接受。

我们以行人或者骑行者这个视角。(另外,为简单起见,此处不考虑接近距离这个维度。)如果我们把一些传统的信号放入这个框架,会发现以下结果……

静象象限充满着背景交通通信信息:你未处于危险之中,但你可能要考虑考虑“把狗拴好”。

显象象限中,驾驶员有充足的自我表达空间:你如自己所想获得了关注。但是别人真的有必要知道你的感受吗?

隐象象限绝对是生死攸关的区间:你没有发现危险的临近。然后突然……!

最后一个象限是警报,这个象限在很大程度上由权威部门把控。你从远处就能认出这些信号,而且它们一般有充分理由,值得获得你的注意。

这表明如今的汽车通信系统在整个框架中的分布非常均匀。驾驶员处在四个象限的中心,根据情况,他们灵活的通过语气和手势作出反应 — 从彬彬有礼到路怒症各有不同。

调性微调

语言是一种富有生命力的存在。而且在某些情况下,如今的汽车语言仍然在完善之中。孟买使用亮红灯的方式惩罚按喇叭的行为。通过吸音树或实施速度限制来整体上降低道路噪音。电动车会发出合成的引擎声来警示行人。

但在隐象象限内的一些情况仍未得到解决,例如驾驶员开门时车门会占用自行车专用道:给出的视觉信号短暂而又难以察觉,而给骑行者带来的后果可能会非常严重。

这些渐进式调整很重要,但传统的汽车通信是以由驾驶员操控和汽车为主的交通环境为假设,不断地进行演进完善的。

如上所述,此类假设越来越跟不上时代的步伐了。鉴于此,一种全新的车与人的交流系统设计在不断推陈出新。

全新的车对人通信语言

近些年来,全新的车对人通信模式、符号以及媒体不断涌现出来,堪比寒武纪生命大爆发。多重因素促成了这一现象,包括全新的城市出行理念以及自动驾驶技术的出现。

自动驾驶汽车的出现,将会形成一种信号空放的现象,因为坐在方向盘后面的驾驶员不再需要看这些信号了。这产生了新的问题,因为在实际的驾驶中,车的通信信息都是通过驾驶员这个主要渠道达成的。因此,许多汽车设计师会问自己这样一个问题:一辆自动驾驶 Level-5 的汽车接近行人,它该如何告知行人何时可以安全通行呢?

从框架中可以看出,大多数汽车的通信新概念都落在了强信号区。可以想象,这种在技术上的加强补偿式通信会在一段时间内占主流,直到更多新的信号方式被认可为止,就像驾驶员挥手示意让行人通过一样。

信号来源(从左上角至右下角):表情符号显示 (Mojipic) | 投射的斑马纹 (Hyundai) | 投射的驾驶车道 (Waymo) | 合成的引擎声(作为法律要求)| 品牌标志投影 (Osram) | 前向格栅屏幕(Google、Uber 和 Lyft

符合社交行为的适当的车辆通信系统

在未来几年,行业上将会有更多的信号类型涌现。那么哪些信号会行之有效呢?最后再次看一下我们提出的框架,我们相信未来的信号分布会是这样。

人们会很难接受那些不必要的显信号。静象信号会进一步弱化,融入到背景环境中,避免噪音污染和信号灯光的污染。在中心位置(此前曾由驾驶员掌控),多样化的视听信号将趋于完善,帮助人们安全出行。权威部门将继续管控强信号象限里的报信号。而危险的隐象信号将通过强而适度的信号来实现。简而言之,你将获得与社交行为相符的车辆通信方式。正如我们所见,这个关于车辆通信系统的模型清晰明了,而且同时将不同的交通参与者纳入了考量。

那会怎样呢?

我们希望这个简易的框架还能助力你设计汽车通信方式。

使用这个框架后,你也许可以找到一些基本问题的答案:汽车通信系统的不同信号该如何分布?或者:如何通过发出适当的信号来避免隐患的出现?

但是你也许还会提出更细化的问题:视觉信号如何转换成听觉信号?或者:信号的强度如何根据接近距离作出反应?

不管您面临那个问题,重要的是让我们共同设计出全新的汽车通信系统,一个安全可靠、经久耐用而又富有社会价值的通信系统!

也许,我们甚至可以对汽车鸣笛作出新的构想。

你喜欢我们的模型吗?或者你是否已经将其应用于自己的工作?无论如何,我们都期待听到你的消息!

取得联系!

cross arrow facebook twitter linkedin

Do you speak Car?
How pedestrians are redefining car communication

The car you’re designing is socially awkward

Why are cars always honking? 

When you’re a nearby pedestrian absorbing 100dB, do you ask yourself: Does this car really need my attention? Is this really helping anybody? And why are cars always so mean to me?

Today, there are more creative vehicle ideas than ever — from car-bike-hybrids, to people movers, to cyber trucks. In part, these ideas are inspired by self-driving technology, where vehicle to vehicle (V2V) communication is automatic and, thankfully, silent. 

On the other hand, new city planning favors people over cars. This means that cars are in closer and closer proximity to bikes, electric scooters and pedestrians. 

In this increasingly multi-modal and car-skeptical environment, cars need better ways to communicate with the outside world. In short, cars need a new ‘language’, a new method of vehicle-to-pedestrian, or -person (V2P) communication. Otherwise, cars risk cementing their role as the bull in the China shop of modern cityscapes. 

So, what will this new method of car communication sound like?

car language

Our framework for vehicle communication

Star has worked in automotive for a while, defining new ways for cars and people to communicate. For intuitive communication within the vehicle, we’ve co-created Nomi, an award-winning robot companion. 

Now, while working on outward-facing car language, we came up with a simple yet useful framework. It’s based on two axes: potential danger (How risky is this situation?) and signal intensity (How strongly is the car communicating to the outside world?) 

Combining the two axes, you get four quadrants: Ambience (low risk, weak signal); Spectacle (low risk, strong signal); Pitfall (high risk, weak signal); and Alarm (high risk, strong signal).

To find out more about our work on the award-winning Nomi, read the case study.

Read more

car communication solutions

Traditional car communication

The car language we know today has evolved over the past century or so. And even if some of the audiovisual signals, like indicators, may have initially been counter-intuitive, they are well-known today. 

Let’s take the perspective of a pedestrian or cyclist. (Also, for the sake of simplicity, let’s neglect proximity.) When we place some traditional signals in our framework, we get this… 

The Ambience quadrant is filled with background traffic noise: You’re in no danger, but you might consider putting your dog on a leash.

The Spectacle quadrant offers ample room for drivers’ self-expression: You get the attention you want. But do people really need to know how you feel?

The Pitfalls quadrant remains a source of fatality: You didn’t see it coming. And then suddenly…! 

And lastly, the Alarm quadrant is largely monopolized by the authorities. You can spot them from a distance, and they usually have a good reason to bother you.

This shows that today’s car communication system covers the entire framework quite evenly. And at the center of it all, the drivers flexibly adjust their tone and gestures — from courtesy to road rage.

car communication system

Tonal fine-tuning

Languages are alive. And in some cases, today’s car language is still being refined. Mumbai punishes honking with red traffic lights. Sound-absorbing trees or speed limits muffle general street noise. And electric cars emit synthetic engine sounds to warn pedestrians.

But some pitfalls still remain unresolved, like a driver door opening onto the bike lane: While the visual signal is brief and subtle, the consequences for the cyclist can be dire. 

While these are important incremental adjustments, traditional car communication has evolved under the assumptions that people operate cars, within a car-heavy environment.

As mentioned above, these assumptions are becoming increasingly obsolete. And this is what has prompted innovations for new vehicle-to-pedestrian communication systems.

car communication

A new vehicle-to-pedestrian language

In recent years, there has been a veritable Cambrian Explosion of new modes, symbols and media for vehicle-to-pedestrian communication. This has been brought about by multiple factors, including new urban mobility concepts and the advent of autonomous driving.

Self-driving cars will create a signal vacuum behind the steering wheel where the driver used to be. This is problematic because, besides actual driving, the driver today is a key channel for the car’s communication. So, one question that many car designers ask themselves is: How can an approaching level-5 car notify pedestrians when it is safe to cross the street in front of them?

Looking at the framework, most of the resulting concepts err on the side of more intense signalling. Presumably, this technical over-compensation will persist until the new signals are more widely recognized, just like a driver waving a hand.

Sources from top left to bottom right: Emoji display by Mojipic | Projected zebra strip by Hyundai | Projected driving path by Waymo | Synthetic engine sound as legal requirement | Brand logo projection by Osram | Forward-facing grill screen by Google, Uber and Lyft

A socially appropriate communication system for the vehicle

In upcoming years, the industry will be filled with even more signals. So, which ones will be successful? Looking at our framework one last time, we believe that this is the distribution we’ll see.

 Unnecessary spectacle will become harder for people to accept. The ambience signals will recede further into the background, to avoid noise and light pollution. In the center — once the driver’s domain — diversified audiovisual signals will mature and help people negotiate traffic safely. Authorities will keep their monopoly on the strongest alarm signals. And dangerous pitfalls will be matched with adequately strong signals. In short, you get socially appropriate car communication. As we see it, this model represents a vehicle communication system that is coherent and considerate of diverse traffic participants.

And now?

We hope this simple framework can also help you design your car communication

Using it, you might answer some basic questions: How are the different signals of your car communication system distributed? Or: How could you help avoid pitfalls with adequate signalling? 

But you might also ask more refined questions: How would your visual signal translate into an auditory one? Or: How does your signal’s intensity change depending on proximity?

Regardless of what question you pick — Together, let’s design a new car communication system that is safe, long-lived and socially valuable! 

And maybe, we can even rethink the car horn.

Did you like our model? Or have you used it in your own work? Either way, we’d love to hear from you!

Get in touch