为医疗器械的成功开发奠定基础

Geoffrey Parker
Tomasz Puk

依据 Geoffrey Parker, Tomasz Puk

医疗器械开发 R1hbapm

选择最具可行性的医疗科技解决方案发展策略需要考虑诸多因素,比如工程设计、商业、法规等,这些因素会对您的开发、维护和运营成本产生直接影响。任何形式的产品开发都不存在通用方法,医疗器械的开发也一样。

在 Star,为了确保成功开发互连、合规的医疗科技与数字医疗保健解决方案,我们利用自身经验,通过端到端产品开发支持,帮助客户开发以患者为中心的合规、可扩展医疗器械技术。

首先,我们会考虑最基本的问题:怎样才算是医疗器械?根据以往的经验,很多公司会采用非黑即白的方式思考这个问题,即要么是医疗器械,要么不是。实际上,如今您有很多选择,也可以采用很多不同的方法。

如果从一开始就选择正确的行动方案,可以简化您的监管审批过程,为您未来的产品开发和维护以及贵公司在医疗器械领域的整体布局奠定基础。在本文中,我们将概括性地介绍一些重要的考虑因素,在 Star,正是这些考虑因素帮助我们思考医疗科技和数字医疗保健解决方案的开发。

器械分类的重要性

很多公司向我们提出,他们需要将整个产品定位成医疗器械。事实往往并非如此。

了解为什么首先了解公司本身而非项目概念。它拥有现成的医疗器械或成套器械吗?还是说它是一家创业公司,正在开发生态系统中前所未见的新产品?在这里,预算、历史和专业知识都至关重要。

完整的产品策略通常需要根据器械分类来制定。我们在下方简单解释了美国食品及药物管理局 (FDA) 审批流程,它可以帮助您确定您想开发的产品是否将被认定为医疗器械:

  • 在《预期目的》文档中描述您的产品,注明预期用途。
  • 针对您的产品将要进入的市场,将预期目的与医疗器械或体外医疗器械的定义进行比较。
  • 接下来,在“监管策略”中记录原因,并为您的产品收集有关预计需要遵循的所有监管制度的信息。

了解这些细微差别很关键,因为有些公司在主观上不希望自己的产品被认定为医疗器械。在这种情况下,他们会调整功能,并在患者和行动方案之间增加一个临床步骤来防止产品被归为此类。

例如,假设您想开发一个为多发性硬化 (MS) 管理提供支持的解决方案。由于很多多发性硬化干预措施都是每周实施一次,并且采用了令人痛苦的肌内注射方式,因此,了解在哪个部位注射对于确保患者感到幸福和坚持注射至关重要。显示注射部位历史记录的应用程序不会被认定为医疗器械。它基本上等同于一个具有时尚用户界面 (UI) 的笔记本。

但是,如果您开发的应用程序既能跟踪注射部位,又能利用算法,根据近期的历史记录告知患者应该在哪个部位注射,则该应用程序属于医疗器械。这种区别很关键,因为它实际上可以将执行相同功能的两种设备(一种直接提供关于注射部位的建议,另一种跟踪注射部位)划归到两个不同的产品类别中。这对产品策略设计、开发和上市时间有很大的影响。

meddevice1

我的公司应该采取什么方法?

每一位客户的情况都不同,我们往往会根据实际情况提供建议。有些情况下,我们可能会建议客户选择开发受监管医疗器械的路线。而对于其他公司,这种路线可能不太适合。通常,我们会建议他们将产品的某些组件定位成医疗器械,其余组件定位成非医疗器械(开发医疗科技解决方案的关键优势)。

根据我们以往的创新医疗器械上市经验,我们可以帮助客户更好地了解具体的分类依据以及最适合用于实现他们当前和长期目标的方法。例如,创业公司虽然将开发受监管医疗器械作为未来目标,但可能无法为此拨出预算。

所以,我们能做的就是为他们提供医疗方面的引导,帮助他们制定有效的路线图来开发互连医疗器械。这恰恰是我们在某个正在进行的项目中采用的策略。我们开发整体解决方案,将部分组件定位成医疗器械,另一部分定位成非医疗器械,并在构思到上市的整个过程中提供支持。

目前我们与该合作伙伴处于产品开发的第二阶段,帮助他们熟悉监管渠道,从而逐步实现验证的功能。我们能够采取最终目标导向型方法,首先制定路线图,帮助客户找到方向并为他们寻求合适的策略,然后在整个过程中的每一步为他们提供帮助,从而实现我们的价值。

医疗科技解决方案和模块化方法

MedTech-solutions-and-a-modular-approach-1

由于软件即医疗器械 (SaMD) 解决方案仍然处于萌芽阶段,人们依旧很容易认为,所谓医疗器械,主要就是物理硬件。

大多数医疗科技解决方案拥有 10 年以上的使用寿命。从这一点来看,系统的设计/架构必须确保能够通过更新轻松进行系统的调度、释放和部署。

采用数字产品能够在创建、迭代、部署和更新系统方面为您提供更大的灵活性。依靠医疗科技解决方案,我们可以在同一个生态系统中,将软件解决方案的各个组件分成医疗器械和非医疗器械两种,从而实现以下优势:

  • 能够释放系统,并在必要时对每一种医疗器械单独进行验证。
  • 反映与其他医疗器械不同的变化频率,例如,移动应用程序比后台系统更新得更频繁。
  • 该解决方案的非医疗器械组件具备高度的灵活性,受到的监管要求也比较低。
  • 支持运行该解决方案的客户仅对部分系统进行更新。
  • 使每个组成要素自成一体,具有特定的逻辑和架构独立性。

上市之后的产品总拥有成本与产品的上市时间同样重要。通过适当的规划和开发,您可以降低这些成本,并满足产品未来发展的需求。

制作预期目的声明

器械的预期目的是最重要的因素,为设计提供指导。了解如何制作预期目的声明可以为您提供成功开发医疗器械所需的灵活性,让您灵活控制时间和成本。在描述预期目的时,即使微小的变动也可能对我们完成验证的方式造成巨大影响。

根据我们规划的预期目的,有时不同的产品也需要完成相同的监管审批流程。它与我们的商业计划密切相关,比如我们打算将该设计用于什么目的,以及未来我们如何才能销售、推广和维护它。

根据《欧盟医疗器械法规》 (MDR) 第 2 条:“预期目的是指制造商在标签、使用说明、宣传材料、销售材料或声明中说明的,以及制造商在临床评估中规定的对器械的预定用途。”

一切工作都围绕您的预期目的声明展开。产品的分类也完全基于该声明。如果您最后改变了预期用途,那么,您可能需要重新完成整个验证流程。我们之所以强调与合适的生态系统伙伴合作很重要,原因就在于此。有时难免会发生这种改变。临床评估和符合性评估是耗时最多的程序,但如果选择了正确的策略和验证机构,完成这两个程序花费的时间可以缩短到 3 至 6 个月。

在 Star,我们与客户一起确定“预期目的”文件时,通常会评估以下信息:预期用途声明、主要功能、适应症、禁忌症、用户群体情况和种群、身体部位/组织类型、预期使用环境、功能原理、其他预期用途以及医疗器械限制/器械误用。

这份主要文件为设计控制、产品开发、风险管理以及推动产品上市所需的一切工作提供了指导。

MDR

更新和产品变更

互连医疗器械带来了传统制造商以前从未考虑过的机遇和挑战。从软件的进一步迭代到安全漏洞的修补,所有产品都需要具备灵活性。

如果我们在预期目的声明中针对医疗器械的重点进行定义,那么,只要未来的变更没有改变此医疗器械的用途,我们就只需要更新应用程序,而无需在监管机构那里重新对该器械进行验证。

安全更新便属于这种类型。更新运行某个软件的库而不改变界面也属于这种类型。如果您做出了重大更改,比如使用完全不同的东西彻底修改 AI 算法,那么您只能重新完成验证与确认流程。

根据变更的程度,即重大变更还是非重大变更,更新分为三个不同的级别,这三个级别又细分为版本发布和补丁发布。

  1. 重大变更 — 需要发布新版本,由于医疗器械的性能发生了重大改变,通常还需要重新完成临床评估过程,获得新的 UDI-DI(器械唯一标识-器械标识)。在这种情况下,您可能必须重新完成临床评估、获得新 CE 标志、接受产品审核等等。
  2. 非重大变更(微小软件修改) — 由于器械性能没有发生改变,无需重新完成临床评估过程。对于此类修改,您必须证明预期目的没有发生改变。产品要求没有改变。因此,我们只需将产品更新成完全等同于已上市产品的新版本即可。从软件的角度看,以上更改可以通过下列两种形式实现:
    • 版本发布 — 不影响医疗器械性能的新产品版本。需要进行进一步的验证与确认。
    • 补丁发布 — 与修复漏洞、提升可用性相关的软件修改。需要针对改动元素进行验证与确认。

下方列出了三个医疗器械产品更新的示例,重点说明了产品在发生变更后是否必须重新接受验证。

  1. 如果通过扩展预期目的来增加新医疗器械功能,则属于重大变更,需要重新完成临床评估过程和获得新的 UDI-DI,新软件产品的识别字符串也会增大,例如从版本 1.1.0 变成 2.0.0(请注意,产品识别字符串不是 UDI-DI)。这种情况导致产品需要重新接受验证,以便重新获得上市批准。
  2. 现有产品的技术堆栈更新可以通过发布新版本来实现,这是一种非重大变更。UDI-DI 保持不变,软件产品识别字符串将会更新,比如从版本 2.0.0 变成 2.1.0。
  3. 利用安全补丁修复微小问题可以通过发布补丁来实现,这是一种非重大变更。UDI-DI 保持不变,软件产品识别字符串将会更新,比如从版本 2.1.0 变成 2.1.1。

总之,一旦您开始考虑 SaMD 解决方案,考虑它的不同组件具备的高度模块化水平和沟通能力,您将拥有无与伦比的灵活性,这不仅能帮助您更轻松地清除监管审批过程中的障碍,还能快速更新和扩展您的产品。

医疗器械开发领域可能很复杂,但它也充满潜力,能够为患者、医疗器械制造商以及整个医疗生态系统伙伴网络创造价值。

与我们的医疗科技专家取得联系

联系 Star 的医疗科技和数字医疗保健专家,进一步了解我们如何加快您的产品开发之旅,帮助您共同打造创新医疗科技解决方案。

联系我们

相关主题

分享

医疗器械开发 Ralkbapm
Geoffrey Parker
Star 医疗科技事业部技术总监

作为 Star 医疗科技事业部的技术总监,Geoff 拥有 25 年的丰富经验,并将其充分应用到软件解决方案的设计与交付之中。Geoff 专注于医疗保健、生命科学和健康行业,他坚信,技术应该以一种非入侵的方式改善我们的生活。他享受与客户合作的过程,从中了解他们的业务和用户需求,致力于提供安全、互联且富有吸引力的解决方案,此类解决方案能够满足行业监管要求,并可为所有利益相关者带来价值。

医疗器械开发 Rapkbapm
Tomasz Puk
Star 监管咨询与技术总监

Tomasz 在为全球市场设计、开发和维护复杂 IT 解决方案方面拥有良好的业绩记录。他曾担任多种不同职务,包括软件开发者/设计者、研发部门经理和医疗器械流程顾问,集业务、管理和工程技能于一身,致力于为我们客户提供所需的扎实技能和经验,助力其推出世界级医疗科技解决方案。Tomasz 曾担任 Pro4People 的首席执行官,并帮助 Star 顺利将其收购。如今,他同时在 Star 的医疗科技团队和服务交付团队担任领导职务。

Loading...

Star 是一个缔造产品的全球化团队。我们将策略、设计和工程服务无缝融入工作流程,致力于构建影响力、扩展性、性能和可靠性兼具的解决方案。

见解与启发

直接以邮箱订阅 Star 分享的有关趋势、技术和最终目标导向型方法的最新见解。

联系人

或者向我们发送电子邮件:hellostar@star.global

plus iconminus iconarrow icon pointing rightarrow icon pointing rightarrow icon pointing downarrow icon pointing leftarrow icon pointing toparrow icon pointing top rightPlay iconResume iconCross iconActive Badge iconInactive Badge iconFocused Badge iconDropdown Arrow iconQuestion Mark iconFacebook logoLinkedin logoLinkedIn logoFacebook logoTwitter logoInstagram logo

Building foundations for successful medical device development

Geoffrey Parker
Tomasz Puk
by Geoffrey Parker, Tomasz Puk

Selecting the best possible MedTech solution development strategy involves engineering, business and regulatory considerations that will immensely impact your development, maintenance and operations costs. For medical devices, as with any other form of product development, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. 

At Star, to ensure the successful development of connected and compliant MedTech and Digital Healthcare solutions, we draw on our experience helping clients build patient-centric, compliant and scalable medical device technology through end-to-end product development support. 

We start by walking through perhaps the most fundamental consideration: what makes something a medical device? From our experience, many companies think in terms of black and white – either something is a medical device or isn’t. The reality is that there are many options and different approaches available to you. 

Taking the right course of action from stage one streamlines your regulatory processes and sets the foundation for the future development and maintenance of your product and your company in the overall medical device landscape. In this article, we outline a few important considerations that help shape our thinking about MedTech and Digital Healthcare solution development here at Star.

The importance of device classification 

Many companies approach us with the idea that their entire product needs to be a medical device. This often isn’t the case. 

Understanding why begins not by looking at the project idea but the company itself. Is it the owner of an existing medical device or suite of devices? Or is it a startup creating something quite new in the ecosystem? Budget, history and expertise make all the difference here. 

Entire product strategies are often based around device classification. We’ve outlined below a simplified interpretation of the FDA process that can help you determine if the product you want to build will be considered a medical device:

  • Describe your product in an "intended purpose" document including intended use.
  • Compare the intended purpose vs. medical device or in vitro medical device definitions for the market you intend to launch in. 
  • From here, you document, reason in "regulatory strategy" and collect information for your product across all planned regulatory regimes.

Understanding these nuances is critical because some companies deliberately do not want their product to be considered a medical device. If so, they’ll adjust the functionality or add a clinician step in between the patient and the course of action to prevent this classification. 

What approach should my company take?

Each of our clients is different and we always advise accordingly. In some instances, we may suggest they pursue the route of building a regulated medical device. For other companies, the timing just might not be right. Often, we'll recommend that certain components of their product be medical devices and other elements not (a key benefit of developing MedTech solutions). 

From our experience bringing innovative medical devices to market, we can help clients better understand where exactly these classifications lie and what approach best suits their current and long-term goals. For example, younger companies might not have the budget to pursue building a regulated medical device though this may be a goal down the road. 

So what we can do is provide them guidance on healthcare topics and give them a strong roadmap for developing connected medical devices. This is exactly the strategy we pursued with an ongoing project. We developed an overall solution in which some parts of it are medical devices, and some aren't, and have supported that journey from ideation through launch

We are currently in phase 2 of product development with this partner and are helping them navigate the regulatory channels to get the next iteration of functionality certified. Our value comes from our ability to take an endgame-driven approach that begins by creating a roadmap to help clients navigate and pursue the right strategy for them and then help them along every step of the way. 

MedTech solutions and a modular approach 

It’s still easy to think about medical devices mainly being pieces of physical hardware since SaMD solutions are still in their relative infancy. 

Most MedTech solutions have a 10+ year lifespan. We have to design/architect the system so updates will be easy to schedule, release and deploy from that perspective. 

Working with a digital product gives you more flexibility in creating, iterating, deploying and updating it. With MedTech solutions, we can segment different components of a software solution into medical and non-medical devices inside the same ecosystem to achieve the following benefits: 

  • Be able to release and, if needed, certify each of the medical devices separately. 
  • Reflect the different frequency of changes vs. other medical devices, e.g., mobile apps being updated more frequently than the backend systems. 
  • Have high flexibility and low regulatory requirements in non-MD elements of the solution. 
  • Enable clients operating the solution to update only part of the system. 
  • Make each of the elements encapsulate specific logic and architecturally independent.

As important as the initial time to market is, most of the total ownership costs come after the GoLive milestone (placing on the market). With the right planning and development, you can lower these costs and give your product what it needs to evolve in the future. 

Approaching intended purpose statements

A device’s intended purpose is the overarching element that guides its design. Knowing how to structure your intended purpose statement gives you the flexibility needed for successful medical device development – and therefore flexibility in terms of time and cost. Small changes in how we described the intended purpose may have a big impact on how we go through the certification process. 

Sometimes the regulatory effort is the same for different products depending on how we structure the intended purpose. It's very intertwined with the business plan for what we are going to do with the design and how you are going to be able to sell, market and maintain it down the road. 

According to the EU Medical Device Regulation (MDR) Article 2, “‘intended purpose’ means the use for which a device is intended according to the data supplied by the manufacturer on the label, in the instructions for use or in promotional or sales materials or statements and as specified by the manufacturer in the clinical evaluation.” 

Everything starts and ends with your intended purpose statement. Your product's classification will be based entirely on it. If you end up changing our intended use, then you may have to go through the complete certification process all over again. This is where we emphasize the importance of working with the right ecosystem partner. Sometimes, these changes are unavoidable. The longest part is the clinical evaluation and conformity assessment procedure, but with the right strategy and notified body the time this takes can be reduced to 3-6 months. 

At Star, when defining an "intended purpose" document with our clients we usually evaluate the following information: intended use statement, main functions, medical indications, medical contraindications, user groups with profile and population, body part/tissue type, intended usage environment, functioning principle, other intended uses, and medical device limitations/device misuse.

This master document guides design control, product development, risk management and everything to do with bringing your product to market. 

Updates and product changes

Connected medical devices create opportunities and challenges legacy manufacturers never had to consider. From further iterations of the software to patching security vulnerabilities, flexibility needs to be baked into any product. 

If we define the medical device product with a narrow focus in the intended purpose statement, then as long as future changes are not changing the uses of the medical devices, then we're just updating an application (just like any other piece of software) and shouldn’t have to recertify it with the regulatory bodies. 

Security updates are a great example of this. The same would also go with updating the library that operates a piece of software without changing the interface. You'd only have to go through the verification and validation process again if you made a major change like overhauling the AI algorithm with something entirely different. 

There are three levels of update divided by whether it’s a significant or non-significant change, which is then sub-grouped into version and Hotfix releases. 

  1. Significant change – requires new version release, as well as usually repeating clinical evaluation process, new UDI-DI (unique device identifier-device identifier), as the medical device performance has been significantly changed. In this case, you may have to repeat clinical evaluation, new CE mark, audit of product and so on. 
  2. Non-significant change (minor software revision) – does not require repeating Clinical Evaluation Process, as the device performance remains unchanged. For these modifications, you have to show that the intended purpose has not been changed. Product requirements have not been changed. Thus we are just updating a new product version that's fully equivalent to what's been on the market. Such a change from software perspective can be introduced in two ways:
    • Version Release – a new product version which still does not impact the medical device performance. Full verification and validation activities are applied. 
    • Hotfix Release – a software revision associated with bug fixes, usability enhancement. Verification and Validation activities specific to the modified element are applied. 

Below are three examples of medical device product updates that highlight whether products have to be re-certified or not after changes are made to them. 

  1. Adding a new medical device feature initiated by extending an Intended Purpose document would be introduced as the significant change, resulting in repeating clinical evaluation process, new UDI-DI assignment, and a new software product identification string increased e.g. from version 1.1.0 to 2.0.0 (please note product identification string is not UDI-DI). The result would require a re-certification to repeat market approval. 
  2. Technology stack update for the existing product would be done by releasing a new Version Release, as a non-significant change. The UDI-DI would remain the same, the software product identification string would be updated e.g. from version 2.0.0 to 2.1.0. 
  3. A security patch combined with minor problem report fix would be by releasing a Hotfix Release, as non-significant change. The UDI-DI would remain the same, the software product identification string would be updated e.g. from version 2.1.0 to 2.1.1.

The bottom line is that once we start to look at SaMD and how modular and communicative its different components can be, you're opening up a world of flexibility to not only clear regulatory hurdles more easily but also more quickly update and evolve your product offering. 

The world of medical device development might be complex, but it’s full of potential to deliver value to patients, providers and the entire spectrum of healthcare ecosystem partners.

Connect with our MedTech experts

Connect with Star’s MedTech and Digital Healthcare experts to learn more about how we can accelerate your product journey to help you co-create breakthrough MedTech solutions. 

Geoffrey Parker
Technology Director, HealthTech at Star

As Technology Director for HealthTech at Star, Geoff brings over 25 years experience designing and delivering software solutions. Dedicated to healthcare, life sciences and wellness industries, Geoff believes that technology should enhance our lives in a non-invasive manner. He enjoys working with clients to understand their business and user needs, and deliver secure, connected and engaging solutions that address the industry's regulatory requirements and deliver value to all stakeholders.

Tomasz Puk
Director of Regulatory Consulting and Technology at Star

Tomasz has a proven track record of designing, developing, and maintaining complex IT solutions for the global market. Having worked in various roles including software developer/designer and R&D department manager and medical device process consultant, he combines business, managerial, and engineering skills, to provide the depth of skills and experience our clients need to launch world-class MedTech solutions. Tomasz was formerly CEO of Pro4People and helped navigate their acquisition by Star. Today, he holds leadership roles in both Star’s HealthTech and Service Delivery teams.

minusplusloadercrossplusarrowarrow-downfacebooktwitterlinkedininstagramquotefilter-arrfilter-not-choosenfilter-choosenbellstar quote background