新范例:在医疗保健行业利用语音技术

医疗保健行业的语音技术 R1hbapm
A new paradigm harnessing voice tech in healthcare speakers

在这个以智能手机为中心的时代,很多东西都围绕着文字发展,所以,我们很容易忘记语音带来的影响力有多么强大。通过增加便利、创造有意义的互动、减少摩擦以及提供无数其他好处,语音技术正在改变医疗保健行业。我们将拥有专业知识、懂得如何制定和发布语音健康科技解决方案的四位领导者聚在一起。

与他们一起参加此次富有见地的谈话,了解语音技术在医疗保健行业扮演的重要角色、语音技术实现广泛应用所面临的挑战以及目前可以利用哪些机遇来推动利益相关者的切实参与。

向医疗保健行业的每一个人传递心声

医疗保健系统复杂、昂贵,并且因人口老龄化、劳动力减少和持续不断的人类健康挑战承受着巨大的压力。

如果你不是技术专家或医疗保健专业人员,可能就很容易错失语音技术在医疗保健行业的巨大变革潜力。所以,我们顺理成章地将语音技术同 Alexa、Siri 等我们熟悉的产品进行比较。但讽刺的是,其中很多解决方案都由 Alexa 提供技术支持或使用 Alexa 作为媒介,确实是某种简便性和便利性使得它们在医疗保健行业产生如此巨大的影响。

身为一名加拿大的医生,Teri 根据自己的经验进行了谈论,并阐述了将语音技术应用于医疗保健行业对于全球的重要性,他解释道,“医疗保健系统面临巨大的压力,任何能够减轻这种压力的办法都可以有效地造福于社会和整个医疗保健系统。”

下面提供了播客嘉宾分享的一些关键要点,主要探讨了语音技术带来的好处:

  • 语音技术以用户为中心:过去 30 年,我们一直在学习如何进一步适应图形用户界面。尤其是现在,由于智能手机随处可见,人们通常会默认它的存在。但因为人类和机器使用不同的语言,并通过导航界面将用户请求转化为操作,二者之间仍然存在巨大的摩擦。语音互动消除了这种障碍,带来了至关重要的便利性。
  • 语音技术负责处理日常事务,这是一件好事:医疗保健工作者承受着巨大的压力。他们每天的时间都不够用。护士仅将 37% 的时间花在患者身上。其余的时间都用来完成耗时的行政工作和重复劳动,比如取东西和管理药物。Nathan 描述了这样一种场景:“我们开始看到语音设备应用于医院、床旁(让患者能够将需求传达给值班护士的地方)、智能音箱(一种语音设备)以及基本上处于打开或关闭状态的红色呼叫按钮以外的地方。”这是一种双赢,既为护士节省了时间,又帮助患者获得了更好的护理。
  • 数字前门的胜利:它引出了播客中提出的对企业而言最重要的关键要点之一。David 阐述了语音技术如何做到不仅仅以患者为中心,“从数字前门的角度,我看到了语音技术蕴含的巨大潜力。仅仅从预约设定以及保险验证和确认的角度考虑,就会发现有很多患者流程可以利用机器人和其他产品,通过语音设定预约来完成。”最终,它帮助患者更加轻松地参与到系统中,并帮助提供商提高效率、节省时间。
  •  V-O-I-C-E:Teri 利用首字母缩写,针对语音技术对医疗保健行业的影响做出了最巧妙的总结。
    V – versatile(多功能)
    O – omnipresent(无处不在)
    I – innate(与生俱来)
    C – contextual(情境性)
    E – efficient(高效)

如果医疗保健公司能够制定出反映这五大核心原则的解决方案,就可以充分利用语音技术的全部潜力。

在 Apple Podcast 中订阅     |   在 Spotify 中订阅
请注意:播客以英文提供

是什么阻碍了语音技术的广泛应用?

你可能会感到诧异,如果语音技术这么棒,为什么它至今还没有普及。David 指出,语音技术面临的最大阻碍是“监管和合规”问题,以及“在公共场合说出患者健康状况的相关信息面临着挑战。”

人们对这种技术也没有足够的信任。但奇怪的是,Teri 指出这个问题并非来源于患者,而是来源于提供商,“我们缺少勇于将这种技术真正融入医疗保健行业的人。”

Tomasz 阐述了近期他与 Cedar-Sinai Hospital 的研究人员一起开展的研究,进一步说明了患者和提供商之间的这种隔阂。“有意思的是,老年患者都能坦然接受语音技术,因为使用语音技术是一件自然而言的事情,并且门槛相对较低,所以更为适用。

关键不在于你说什么,而是你怎么说

四位播客嘉宾对语音技术均持乐观态度,他们一致认为语音技术能够找到正确的方法应对这些挑战,实现大规模应用。最重要的是,David 提到,上述很多挑战都应该通过“医疗保健行业的多模式方法,即提供语音、文字、网络、移动和其他参与方式,而非仅提供语音”加以解决。因此,语音技术必然是综合性用户参与整体策略的一部分。

Nathan 强调了语音和人工智能等其他新技术的重要性,并展示了自动化机器人在全球新冠肺炎疫苗接种过程中如何为医疗保健工作者节省大量时间,同时提高参与率。呼叫中心实现了“大约 30% 的参与率”,也就是说,在已经登记了疫苗接种的人员中,有 70% 的人联系不上,无法确认他们是否赴约......使用这些自动化机器人之后,我们可以看到,参与率高达 80%。

但有关语音技术带来的好处,这仅仅只是开始。我们不必展望遥远的未来就能知道它能真正做些什么。Teri 描述了我们说话时的情形。这不仅仅关乎我们说了什么。以询问儿子在学校过得怎么样为例,当对方回答“很棒”时,即使是语调的改变也会让这句话的含义发生巨大的变化。

他进一步解释了“计算机通过何种方式也能检测到这一点。也就是说,你可以开始推断,你可以开始检测心理健康问题,比如抑郁、紧张和其他状况。”

这些叫作语音生物标志物,虽然听起来有点像科幻小说里的东西,但它们确确实实存在。Nathan 介绍了一项研究,该研究证明了语音技术能够从 10 秒钟的说话音频中提取一个人的心率。这些仅仅只是开始,未来,语音技术支持的健康科技创新还可以做到仅通过我们的说话声音就能学习和理解。

语音技术在医疗保健行业的能力与潜力

关于这些数字健康专家讲述的语音技术在医疗保健行业的影响,我们只进行了一些粗浅的介绍。除了以上见解之外,他们还探索了以下内容:

  • 生态系统中的更多用例
  • 环境听力在为老年人提供支持方面发挥的作用
  • 与语音助手建立情感连接
  • 医疗保健公司如何才能消除人们对数据隐私和监管的担忧。

他们阐述了一些更令人惊讶的事实,比如有些患者在面对语音助手时实际会比面对人类医生时更诚实。最后,Nathan 提醒听众,这项技术并非遥远的梦,相反,人们目前已经可以使用它。“语音技术的能力和潜力以及在它普及之前我们目前可以利用它做些什么。”

听取这些见解,了解如何开始接受语音支持的健康解决方案。

相关主题

分享

医疗保健行业的语音技术 Rl5kbapm
David Box
Star 医疗科技事业部常务董事

David 担任 Star 的医疗科技事业部常务董事一职,负责与客户共同构思和开发数字医疗保健产品,从初期设想到启动和后期维护,均参与其中。在加盟 Star 之前,David 曾在医疗保健行业深耕 10 年之久,协助客户构建领先市场的产品和服务,致力于改善患者的健康状况、提高参与度并改进医疗保健体验。

医疗保健行业的语音技术 Rl9kbapm
Dr. Teri Fisher MD
不列颠哥伦比亚大学医生兼临床助理教授

Teri 是不列颠哥伦比亚大学的体育运动医生兼临床助理教授。他是《The Voice Den》的创造者和主持人,这是一个全新的线上语音技术真人秀节目,将他对语音技术的热情与教育结合在一起。他也是领先播客——Voice First Health 的创始人,该播客涉及语音优先技术和医疗保健行业的交叉领域。Teri 还是 Amazon Alexa 的高级简报网络——Briefcast 的创始人。

医疗保健行业的语音技术 Rldkbapm
Nathan Treloar
Orbita 共同创始人、总裁兼首席运营官

Nate 是 Orbita 共同创始人、总裁兼首席运营官。Orbita 与医疗保健系统、支付机构、制药公司以及医疗保健服务供应商合作,共同推进数字医疗保健解决方案,改善结果,降低成本,减少风险。Nate 在 FAST Search、Microsoft、RAMP 以及近期入职的 Ektron 担任高管职务,拥有 20 多年的从业经验。Nate 是一名备受尊敬的搜索、文字和数据挖掘专家与演说家,曾为几百家全球最大的公司和政府机构提供咨询。

医疗保健行业的语音技术 Rlhkbapm
Dr. Tomasz Jadczyk MD/Ph.D.
CardioCube 首席科学官

Tomasz 是 CardioCube(语音技术支持的医疗数据收集自动化平台)的首席科学官,负责制定软件解决方案,改变人们从医生那里获得护理的方式。Tomasz 是《创新诊断与治疗:纳米机器人与干细胞》(Innovative Diagnostics and Treatment: Nanorobotics and Stem Cells) 一书的作者,也是波兰西里西亚大学的助理教授。

Loading...

Star 是一个缔造产品的全球化团队。我们将策略、设计和工程服务无缝融入工作流程,致力于构建影响力、扩展性、性能和可靠性兼具的解决方案。

见解与启发

直接以邮箱订阅 Star 分享的有关趋势、技术和最终目标导向型方法的最新见解。

联系人

或者向我们发送电子邮件:hellostar@star.global

plus iconminus iconarrow icon pointing rightarrow icon pointing rightarrow icon pointing downarrow icon pointing leftarrow icon pointing toparrow icon pointing top rightPlay iconarrow pointing right in a circleDownload iconResume iconCross iconActive Badge iconInactive Badge iconFocused Badge iconDropdown Arrow iconQuestion Mark iconFacebook logoLinkedin logoLinkedIn logoFacebook logoTwitter logoInstagram logo

GTM No Script
cross arrow facebook twitter linkedin instagram

A new paradigm: harnessing voice tech in healthcare

 

podcast by Star

In our smartphone-centered era, where so much has come to revolve around text, it’s easy to forget how impactful our voices are. But by offering convenience, meaningful interactions and reduced friction, along with myriad other benefits, voice technology is transforming healthcare. We brought together four leaders with expertise in creating and launching voice-fueled healthtech solutions. 

Join them in this insightful conversation that examines the scaling role of voice in healthcare, the challenges it faces in achieving widespread adoption and the opportunities for driving real stakeholder engagement you can start harnessing now. 

Dive into how voice tech is transforming healthcare.

Listen to the podcast

Giving a voice to everybody in healthcare

The healthcare system is complex, costly and under the immense strain of an aging population, shrinking workforce and ongoing population health challenges

For those who aren’t technologists or healthcare professionals, it can be easy to miss the vast transformative potential of voice in healthcare. That’s why we naturally compare voice technology to products we’re familiar with like Alexa and Siri. While, ironically, many of these solutions are powered by Alexa or use Alexa as a conduit, it is indeed a certain simplicity and convenience that make them so impactful in healthcare. 

Though he was speaking from his experience as a physician in Canada, Teri described the global importance of integrating voice technology throughout healthcare well by explaining, “There’s so much pressure on the healthcare system and anything that relieves that pressure has got a tremendous benefit to society and to the healthcare system as a whole.” 

Here are just a few of the key points the podcast guests shared that explore what voice offers: 

  • Voice is user-centric: we’ve been trained over the past 30 years to grow more comfortable with the graphical user interfaces. Especially now, with the ubiquity of smartphones, it’s easy to think of this as the default. But immense friction remains because humans and machines speak different languages and navigate these interfaces to translate user requests into actions. Voice interaction removes this barrier, creating convenience where it matters most. 
  • Voice takes care of mundane tasks, and that’s a good thing: healthcare workers are under immense strain. There is simply not enough time in the day. Nurses spend just 37% of their time with patients. The rest is spent on time-consuming administrative work and repetitive tasks like fetching things and medication management. Nathan described how “we’re starting to see voice devices being used in hospitals, at the bedside even where patients can communicate a need to an on-call nurse, to a smart speaker, a voice device, and beyond the red call button, which was basically on or off.” It’s a win-win that saves time for nurses while helping patients receive better care. 
  • Winning at the Digital Front Door: this leads to one of the most important takeaways from the podcast for businesses. David described how voice isn’t just patient-centric, “I see a huge potential for voice from the perspective of the Digital Front Door. Just taking that into account from appointment setting to insurance verification and validation, there are many different aspects of patient onboarding that can be accomplished with voice setting appointments, leveraging bots and other products.” Ultimately, it helps patients more easily get into the system, and providers maximize their time more efficiently. 
  • V-O-I-C-E: Teri gave the most memorable summation of voice technology’s impact on healthcare using the word as an acronym. 

                    V – versatile
                    O – omnipresent
                    I – innate
                    C – contextual
                    E – efficient 

If healthcare companies can create solutions that embody these five core principles, they’ll be able to leverage voice to its fullest potential. 

What stands in the way of widespread voice adoption?

If voice is so great, you might be wondering why it isn’t universal already. David described the biggest stumbling blocks for voice are “regulatory and compliance” issues and that “speaking information about a patient’s condition, for example, and you’re in a public setting, poses a challenge.” 

Likewise, there is not enough trust in the technology. Strangely, however, Teri described how this isn’t coming from the patients but providers “We are missing people who will be brave enough to really inject this technology into the healthcare space.” 

Tomasz further illustrated this dissonance between the patients and providers by describing recent studies he and researchers at Cedar-Sinai Hospital have conducted. “Interestingly, elderly patients are okay with voice because it’s so natural to use, and the entry bar for using voice technology is relatively low, so it’s more applicable. 

 

It’s not what you say, but how you say it

All four podcast guests were optimistic about voice technology’s ability to navigate these challenges and achieve scale. First and foremost, David noted that many of the above challenges should be overcome through “multimodal approaches in healthcare that offer voice, text, web, mobile as well as other means of engagement as opposed to voice only.” Voice thus must be a part of a comprehensive and holistic user engagement strategy. 

Signaling the importance of voice and other new technologies, including artificial intelligence, Nathan showed how automated bots have saved an immense amount of time for healthcare workers during the global COVID vaccination process while boosting engagement rates. Call centers have “about a 30% engagement rate, which means that 70% of the people have signed up for the vaccine aren’t being reached to confirm that they’re coming in for their appointment…with these automated bots, we’re seeing engagement rates of up to 80%.” 

But this is just the beginning of what voice offers. We don’t have to look far into the future to get a sense of what it can really do. Teri described how when we speak. There’s much more to it than just what we say. Using the example of asking his son how his day at school was, the sentence “it was great” changes so much only with a tone shift. 

Going further, he explained how “Computers can also detect that. And so what that means is you can start to extrapolate, and you can start to detect mental health issues, depression, anxiety and other conditions.” 

These are called voice biomarkers, and while they sound like something from science fiction, they are here and now. Nathan described a research study that proved the ability to extract a person’s heart rate from 10 seconds of spoken audio. This is just the beginning of what voice-enabled healthtech innovations will be able to learn and understand only from the sound of our voices. 

See how voice tech can help you lead healthtech innovation. Contact us to learn more.

Contact us

The power and potential of voice in healthcare

We’ve only scratched the surface of what these digital health experts shared about the impact of voice technology in healthcare. Beyond these insights, they also explored:  

  • Further use cases throughout the ecosystem 
  • The role of ambient listening for enabling aging in place
  • Forming emotional connections with voice assistants 
  • How healthcare companies can address concerns over data privacy and regulation. 

They shed light on several more surprising facts, including that some patients are actually more honest with voice assistants than human physicians. As a final thought, Nathan reminded listeners that this technology isn’t some distant dream but is ready for use now, “the power and potential of voice technology and what can be done with it is ahead of how it’s being applied right now.” 

Capture these insights and learn how to start embracing voice-powered health solutions. 

Listen to the podcast now