医疗保健虚拟助手和语音技术:Star 医疗科技实践事业部分享的见解

David Box

依据 David Box

医疗保健领域中的数字语音助手 R1hbapm

数字语音助手已成为日常生活中不可或缺的一部分。在美国、英国和德国市场,有 57% 的人使用语音助手,30% 的调查对象表明在日常生活中依赖这些语音助手。整体而言,语音技术采用率的增长速度几乎超出所有其他现代技术,包括手机。 

语音技术可让各个年龄阶层的人群受益,为人们提供一种更加自然的方式,让他们能与机器交互、轻松访问信息以及导航复杂系统。 

语音助手在医疗保健领域中的重要性,以及用户对话界面对于年长者及原居安老赋能的重要性不可小觑,在当下我们面临重大挑战这一时期尤其如此。全球医疗保健系统尚未从疫情的冲击中恢复过来,同时工作人员短缺、可负担性方面的危机以及人口快速老龄化问题,给全球医疗保健系统带来了巨大压力。 

虽然年轻人和年长者之间仍然存在数字鸿沟,但是研究表明,年长者对技术的掌握程度在日益提高。仅就过去两年而言,在 65 岁以上的长者中,智能手机的持有比例已从 53% 提升至 61%。 

当下是采用多模式医疗保健数字助手的成熟时机。我们已进入一个拐点,在这个阶段,年长一代对技术解决方案持开放态度、市场对医疗保健创新存在迫切需求,同时计算能力有所提升,这几个因素共同推动着 AI 技术向前发展,让其必要性和接受度得到提高。 

语音技术和医疗保健数字助手蕴藏着巨大机遇,企业可利用这一机遇在 7.6 万亿美元的长寿经济领域中,让自己的医疗科技和数字医疗保健解决方案获得立足之地。为此,他们必须关注以下主题:可用性和设计、自然语言处理,以及与更为广泛的互联家居医疗保健技术生态系统的集成。  

Voice Assistants for Healthcare (2)

可用性不止是引人注目的用户界面

可用性必然是产品策略的基础部分,必须在各个触点中加以考虑。如果一项技术对于患者而言难以使用、会使工作流程变得复杂,或者甚至只会带来挑战,那人们不会使用它。

许多数字产品构建者低估了摩擦的影响,忘却了这一事实:在 65 岁以上的年长者中,四分之一的人群视为“与社会隔绝”,可能无人可帮助其熟悉新技术。为此,应在产品构思中融入参与式设计元素。以下这点至关重要:思考谁会来帮助引导用户,以及如何针对特定需求构建简化便捷的体验。包括采用大型字体、语音指令以及(毋庸置疑)语音控制。 

用户培训和手册非常重要。同时,语音技术需与使用移动设备原生功能(例如短信发送、网页浏览器以及 Siri 和 Alexa 等嵌入式工具)的对话界面相匹配。用户对此类使用体验更为熟悉,因此,它们获得的采用率和参与率会更高。 

自然语言处理和 AI

使用的 AI 和自然语言处理/理解模型进行核查,以此着手语音助手开发工作。虽然语音助手通常拥有卓越的可用性,但是尚未达到提供无缝体验的程度。

原因在于许多语音助手需采用预先构建的对话形式,从而会限制对话功能。Front Porch Group 执行的研究表明,在年长者中采用语音助手的比例较高。人们并不担心因按错按钮而导致设备损坏这个问题。挑战存在于对话这一点上。 

当前的问题源自现有的自然语言处理 (NLP) 系统,即用于训练计算机理解人类语言的 AI 模型;这些模型使用简短、直接的问题训练计算机。对于在日常生活中频繁接触电脑、熟悉如何表述问题的年轻人而言,这一点并非难事。 

针对年长者的对话 UX 设计应将多个元素考虑在内,例如放慢语速以及采用年长者在人际互动中习惯使用的精选短语和字词。相对于语音助手经过训练所能理解的问题,他们使用的语句更加复杂而且更长。 

对于致力于弥补这一差距以及改善采用率和参与度的企业而言,这是一个宝贵机遇。AI 应能够理解年长者的表述,而非年长者需去改变自己的表达方式(这一点非常具有挑战性)。我们需要的是自然语言处理能力更强的 AI,它可理解较长的问题、将其分析为特定组分,并将其匹配至相关答案,尤其是对于与病症相关的问题。 

许多人(不分年龄)未储备对应的词汇来表述自己可能存在的症状。因此,AI 需要针对疾病状态具备广泛的理解能力以及对应的知识储备。通过这种方式,此功能之后可在基于解决方案的语音助手中予以实施,或者集成至 Alexa 或 Sirior 等现有的语音助手。 

Elliq

集成、模式与互操作性

如果不将模式和集成考虑在内,那么任何关乎虚拟助手技术和原居安老的对话都不算完整,智能音箱尤其如此。截至 2025 年,75% 的美国家庭会拥有智能音箱,65 岁以上的年长者会成为市场份额增长最为迅速的一个群体。 

智能音箱可发挥两个非常重要的作用:辅助技术与陪伴,我们可从 ElliQ(快乐安老伴侣)等突破性产品中看到它们的进化成果。ElliQ 是一款语音操控医疗保健伴侣,可助力年长者保持活跃性和参与度。 

ElliQ 类似于 Alexa,但是无需用户作出提示或提问。相反,ElliQ 会主动发起对话、记住先前的交互并专注于产生共鸣和建立融洽关系。用户可与它一起玩游戏,会收到有关饮食、锻炼和服药时间的提醒。同时,ElliQ 凭借计算机视觉和动觉,可对动作做出回应、跟踪用户所在位置,甚至可转向用户,构建更加逼真的体验。  

ElliQ 不局限于语音物件的定位,这一优势至关重要,促使其在年长人群中大获青睐,而此成功尤其出于以下原因:与通过其他设备执行活动相比,与它交互的过程让人更具协作感。  在语音助手技术中加入物理元素可大幅改善持续参与性,而且不分年龄群体。我们已与 Nio 共创全球首款车载伴侣 Nomi,从此案例中可以窥见这一点。如同 Nomi 可改善移动出行之旅一般,医疗保健领域中的类似应用亦具备巨大潜力。 

无论跳出音箱的思维框架是否是最佳产品方法,与目前或者即将出现在家居环境中的大量数字医疗科技和医疗保健技术广泛集成,对于产品策略而言起着至关重要的作用。作为多模式方法的一部分,数字语音助手效果最佳。设备的解决方案及其生成的数据不可处于孤立状态。在开始之际就需内置互操作性。 

在平台和设备的总体集成方面,Catalia Health 的工具套装是跨平台虚拟助手实际应用的一个最佳示例。Catalia 在自己的 Mabu Care Insights 平台上将多种 AI 工具集成在一起,涵盖了直观应用、短信息、聊天机器人、可穿戴设备和 Siri/Alexa 兼容性。因此,不仅患者易于使用此产品,对于提供商亦是如此,从而可保障所有相关方都会参与其中,同时确保在整个医疗保健系统中实现数据流动。 

Frame 6

以语音技术为原居安老赋能之策略

我们已从医疗保健虚拟助手的早期发展阶段中看到,开放这一媒介对于提升参与度、缓解社交孤立及改进成果可带来非常显著的影响。 

因此,虚拟助手应成为数字医疗保健产品开发策略的基础成分。语音技术可不断提高人机交互的自然程度,因此即使你并未计划将患者视作最终用户,它同样可为提供商、从业人员和生命科学专业人士带来裨益。无论用户群体是谁,这些考量因素(可用性、AI 和自然语言处理以及互操作性)都同样合理。 

最后一点,老龄化经济并非始于年老者。这一转变发生在 55 岁以上的人士身上。关键在于让他们习惯通过互联设备进行交互及使用服务,同时助力其采用积极的生活方式。简而言之,科技可在整个老龄化之旅中提供陪伴功能、舒适性和巨大价值。所有人都值得过上更加健康、安全和独立自主的生活,而科技是构建这种生活方式的关键所在。 

Star 和 Linus Health 联合举办网络研讨会

通过我们最新举行的网络研讨会,以大胆创新的视角了解原居安老的前景。

观看网络研讨会

相关主题

分享

医疗保健领域中的数字语音助手 R5dkbapm
David Box
Star 医疗科技事业部常务董事

David 担任 Star 的医疗科技事业部常务董事一职,负责与客户共同构思和开发数字医疗保健产品,从初期设想到启动和后期维护,均参与其中。在加盟 Star 之前,David 曾在医疗保健行业深耕 10 年之久,协助客户构建领先市场的产品和服务,致力于改善患者的健康状况、提高参与度并改进医疗保健体验。

利用 Star 在医疗科技领域的强大实力

我们热衷于构建能够获得用户青睐的数字产品, 以此改善医疗保健效果

了解我们的专业技能

您可能还喜欢…

返回所有材料
Loading...

Star 是一个缔造产品的全球化团队。我们将策略、设计和工程服务无缝融入工作流程,致力于构建影响力、扩展性、性能和可靠性兼具的解决方案。

见解与启发

直接以邮箱订阅 Star 分享的有关趋势、技术和最终目标导向型方法的最新见解。

联系人

或者向我们发送电子邮件:hellostar@star.global

plus iconminus iconarrow icon pointing rightarrow icon pointing rightarrow icon pointing downarrow icon pointing leftarrow icon pointing toparrow icon pointing top rightPlay iconResume iconCross iconActive Badge iconInactive Badge iconFocused Badge iconDropdown Arrow iconQuestion Mark iconFacebook logoLinkedin logoLinkedIn logoFacebook logoTwitter logoInstagram logo

Healthcare virtual assistants and the voice tech: insights from Star’s HealthTech Practice

David Box

by David Box

Digital voice assistants in healthcare R1hb5d6

Digital voice assistants have become an integral part of daily life. 57% of people in the US, UK and German markets are voice assistants users, with 30% of respondents reporting daily reliance upon them. Overall, adoption rates in voice tech have increased faster than nearly every other modern technology, including mobile phones

Voice tech benefits people of all ages, offering a more natural way for humans to interact with machines, easily access information and navigate complex systems. 

The importance of voice assistants in healthcare, as well as conversational user interfaces for older adults and enabling aging in place, cannot be overestimated, especially as we confront critical challenges in the current moment. Worker shortages, an affordability crisis and a rapidly aging population are putting immense strain on a global healthcare system that has yet to recover from the pandemic. 

While there still is a digital divide between younger and older generations, research shows that older adults have become increasingly tech-savvy. In the past two years alone, smartphone ownership among people over 65 increased from 53% to 61%

The moment is ripe for multimodal healthcare digital assistants. We’ve reached an inflection point in which the confluence between an older population open to technology solutions, a pressing need for healthcare innovation and increased computational capabilities are driving growth, necessity and acceptance of AI technologies

Voice tech and healthcare digital assistants are an opportunity for companies to get their MedTech and digital healthcare solutions a strong foothold in the $7.6 trillion Longevity Economy. To do so, they must pay attention to usability and design, natural language processing and integration into the broader connected in-home health technology ecosystem.  

voice assistants for healthcare

Usability is more than just an attractive user interface

Usability must be a foundational part of product strategy and considered across every touchpoint. If technology is difficult for a patient to use, adds complexity to workflows, or is even just a challenge to set up, people won’t use it.

Many digital product builders underestimate the impact of friction and fail to remember that a quarter of people over 65 are considered “socially isolated” and might not have a person who can help familiarize them with new technology. For this reason, participatory design elements should be incorporated during product ideation. It’s essential to think about who will help onboard users and how to create a streamlined and simple experience designed around specific needs. This includes larger fonts, spoken instructions and, of course, voice control. 

User training and manuals are critical. At the same time, voice tech needs to be paired with conversational interfaces that use native mobile device capabilities such as SMS messaging, web browsers and embedded tools like Siri and Alexa. These user experiences are more familiar, and subsequently, will have higher adoption and engagement rates. 

Natural language processing and AI

Companies need to approach voice assistant development by first examining the AI and natural language processing/understanding models they plan to use. Voice assistants generally boast good usability, but they haven’t become seamless yet.

That’s because many voice assistants require a pre-structured form of dialogue, thus limiting their conversational abilities. Research from the Front Porch Group suggests that adoption rates of voice assistants among older adults are high. People don’t fear pressing the wrong button and breaking the device. The challenges are conversational. 

Current issues stem from existing natural language processing (NLP) systems — the AI models used to train computers to understand human language — which are trained using brief, direct questions. This isn’t an issue for younger people who have been exposed to computers their whole lives and are familiar with how to phrase their queries. 

Conversational UX design for seniors needs to include elements such as slowing speech pace and the use of selective phrases and words older adults are used to in-person interaction. Their sentences are more complex and longer than the questions that voice assistants have been trained to understand. 

This is an opportunity for companies to bridge the gap and improve adoption and engagement. Rather than older adults having to change the way they speak, which can be immensely challenging, AI should understand them. We need AI with stronger natural language processing capabilities that can comprehend lengthy questions, parse them down to their specific components and match them to relevant answers, especially for condition-related questions. 

Many people, regardless of age, don’t have the vocabulary to describe symptoms they may be experiencing. So AI needs a wide comprehension ability and knowledge-based around disease states. From here, this functionality can then be implemented into a solution-based voice assistant or integrated into existing voice assistants like Alexa or Siri. 

voice assistant development

Integration, modalities and interoperability

No conversation about virtual assistant technology and aging in place is complete without considering modalities and integration, particularly the smart speaker. By 2025, 75% of US households will own a smart speaker, with adults age 65+ comprising one of the fastest-growing market shares. 

Smart speakers provide two very important roles: assistive technology and companionship, and we can see their evolution in breakthrough products like ElliQ, “the sidekick for happy aging.” ElliQ is a voice-operated care companion helping older adults stay active and engaged. 

ElliQ is similar to Alexa but doesn’t require prompts or questions from the user. Instead, ElliQ proactively initiates conversations, remembers previous interactions and focuses on building empathy and rapport. People can play games with it, be reminded of when to eat, exercise and take medication. Simultaneously, ElliQ’s computer vision and kinesthetics enable it to respond to movement, track where people are and even swivel toward a user, creating a more lifelike experience.  

The advantage of bringing ElliQ beyond an audio presence has been crucial for its success among older individuals, especially because interacting with it feels more collaborative, as compared to activities mediated through another device.  Regardless of age demographic, the addition of a physical element in voice assistant technologies can hugely benefit enduring engagement. We’ve seen this in our co-creation with Nio to create the world’s first in-car companion, Nomi. Just as Nomi is improving mobility journeys, there is immense potential for similar applications in healthcare. 

Whether thinking outside the speaker box is the best approach for your product, broader integration with the array of digital MedTech and healthcare technologies now, or soon to be, present in the home is essential for product strategy. Digital voice assistants work best as part of a multimodal approach. The device’s solutions and the data it generates cannot be siloed. Interoperability needs to be built in from day one. 

Looking at overall integration across platforms and devices, one of the best examples of cross-platform virtual assistants in action is Catalia Health’s suite of tools. Built around their Mabu Care Insights platform, Catalia has combined AI tools across an intuitive app, SMS message, chatbots, wearables and Siri/Alexa compatibility. As a result, it’s not only easy for the patient to use but for providers, too, ensuring engagement on all sides while ensuring data flow across healthcare systems. 

virtual assistant technology

Strategies for leveraging voice tech for enabling aging in place

We’ve already seen in these early days of healthcare virtual assistants how impactful opening up this medium is for boosting engagement, reducing social isolation and improving outcomes. 

That’s why virtual assistants should be a foundational part of digital healthcare product development strategy. Even if you don’t plan on patients being the end-user, voice tech is equally beneficial for providers, practitioners and life science professionals for its ability to foster increasingly natural interactions between humans and machines. These considerations — usability, AI and natural language processing and interoperability — are equally valid no matter who the user is. 

Finally, the aging economy doesn’t begin with the elderly. It’s a transition happening to those over age 55. What’s critical is getting them used to interacting with and consuming services from connected devices while helping them live an active lifestyle. In short, it’s tech that accompanies, comforts and provides immense value across a person’s aging journey. That’s the key to creating the healthier, safer and more independent lives everybody deserves. 

Star and Linus Health webinar

Get a bold look into the future of aging in place in our latest webinar.

Watch the webinar

Contact us

Create aging in place technologies that remove friction and promote lasting engagement. Contact Star’s HealthTech Practice.

Get in touch

Related topics

Share

Digital voice assistants in healthcare R5dkb5d6
David Box
Managing Director, HealthTech at Star

As Star’s Managing Director of HealthTech, David works with customers to ideate and develop digital healthcare products from inception to launch and beyond. Prior to joining Star, David spent 10 years working with customers in the healthcare industry building market-leading products and services that improve patient outcomes, increase engagement and enhance healthcare experiences.

Harness our HealthTech capabilities

We are passionate about improving healthcare outcomes with digital products that are a pleasure to use

Loading...
North America, Big

We are truly global.
Explore our locations around the world.

North America, Big

Star is a global team of product creators. We connect strategy, design and engineering services into a seamless workflow devised to build solutions with the right focus on impact, scalability, performance and prudence.

Insights & inspiration

Receive the latest Star insights on trends, technologies and endgame-driven approaches straight to your inbox.

Contacts

Or write us at hellostar@star.global

© Copyright Star 2022. All rights reserved Privacy Policy

plus iconminus iconarrow icon pointing rightarrow icon pointing rightarrow icon pointing downarrow icon pointing leftarrow icon pointing topPlay iconResume iconCross iconActive Badge iconInactive Badge iconFocused Badge iconDropdown Arrow iconQuestion Mark iconFacebook logoLinkedin logoLinkedIn logoFacebook logoTwitter logoInstagram logo