医疗保健领域中的互操作性:对面向未来的 SaMD 和 IoMT 解决方案至关重要

Lyndon McPhail

依据 Lyndon McPhail

医疗保健数据互操作性带来的益处 R1hbapm

医疗保健互操作性并非仅仅是一个技术术语或一项法律指令。它可对患者健康产生重大影响;对互操作性加以利用后,可为医疗保健企业创造无限机会,来提供更多价值、增加营收、降低成本并拯救患者。提供商在获得可互操作数据后,可在提供医疗保健服务时作出更佳决策,改善患者的健康状况。 

我们在本文中探讨了你需了解的有关互操作性的信息。了解互操作性的优势、法规考量事项以及市场领先产品的示例,以此改善产品和技术策略。

医疗保健领域中的互操作性指代? 

下文是一个真实的故事,折射出在实现互操作性前一种司空见惯的情况。这一案例发生于十年以前:一名患者在抵达医院急诊室后被接收入院,在经历数日治疗后,办理了出院。结果,医生给患者开具了一种对共病症禁忌的疗法。如果这位患者长期持续服用该药物,等待他的将很有可能是死亡。 

幸运的是,在这一医疗保健系统开启 EHR 互操作性实现之旅后,他们为医院开发出接口,如此一来,所有报告(会诊和内部实验室报告、出院总结及其他重要文件)均可直接推送至医生的电子病历系统,医院无需单独将每份报告以传真方式发送给患者的家庭医生。此功能彻底改变了医疗模式,而且为变革电子病历生态系统创造了机遇。 

医生并未在 2 周后(由于需手动输入数据以及使用传真机发送数据)才收到入院报告,而在患者出院后第二天就收到报告。因此,医生意识到这一关键问题,立即联系患者让其停用药物。

如果当时互操作性已得到全面实施,结果会更为理想: 

1. 患者可以访问自己的健康记录并与医院进行分享;或者

2.医院可直接访问患者的关键健康信息,从最开始就清楚不可开具禁忌药物处方。

3.患者的主治医生会立即获悉患者已入院(入院报告上写明入院原因)。

阅读我们最近发布的文章

Star 的“医疗科技实践”事业部围绕互操作性分享了重要见解。

了解更多

从患者和提供商到行政官员、系统和企业,整个医疗保健行业的所有利益相关者均可通过以下方式受益于互操作性: 

  • 协同效果更佳:改善重要信息的访问方式,意味着减少重复检测,从而能够降低成本和减少传达错误情形的发生,同时防止产生可能有害的治疗交互作用。
  • 性能更高:若能更充分地访问数据,可改进分析,从而在整个工作流中实现数据驱动型改进。
  • 体验得到改善:若能更快、更完整地访问患者数据,可减少冗余的管理工作,进而改善提供商和患者的体验。
  • 患者获得更多自主性:患者能够访问自己的数据,在医疗保健服务中发挥更大作用,从而对自我管理和居家医疗保健服务起到推动作用。
  • 敏感数据得到保护:若自动以电子方式交换信息,能够确保采取适当的访问控制措施、可对活动进行审计及手动处理,从而避免通过不安全的渠道传输信息。

互操作性至关重要,而上述内容仅仅是部分缘由而已。因此,我们强烈建议客户不仅要将其视为一项要达标的指令,还要将其视为实实在在的机遇来提供服务并让企业脱颖而出。 

通过互操作性改善“医疗保健圈”以及患者的访问权限

随着全球人口呈现老龄化趋势,对于交付医疗保健服务而言,互联设备和安全数据共享变得日益重要。从本质上而言,健康数据具备敏感性,需确保其私密性和安全性,从而形成了一大基本矛盾。它必须拥有强大的访问控制机制,同时需确保具备正当需求的人员能够访问和理解此类数据。

缺乏互操作性可能导致无法充分理解个人或人口健康数据,从而致使成本增加、效率低下、医疗保健效果欠佳。 

成功实现互操作性,首先依赖于能够深入理解患者的“医疗保健圈”。简而言之,“医疗保健圈”指代任何当前或曾经与患者就健康问题有过接触的临床医生、联合医疗专业人员或医疗保健机构。  在整个团队中共享患者的健康信息至关重要,从而确保圈内的所有成员都能获悉患者的健康信息。  

此外,有证据表明:让患者加入自己的“医疗保健圈”后,可显著改善医疗保健效果。患者可通过个人设备和患者门户提供自己的健康数据,以此实现上述成效。整体而言,若各个“临床管理系统”的所有健康信息均可“推送”至临床数据存储库,医疗保健系统的效率会更高、成本会降低,最重要的是,医疗保健效果会得到改善

因此,医疗保健互联性以及相关的 IoMT 和 SaMD 服务是这一模式中的关键要素,来构建可及性、公平性、实惠程度及有效性更高的医疗保健服务。 

CN

互操作性法规标准与遵循  

自从《21 世纪治愈法案》通过之后,互操作性的推行在美国呈上升趋势,但是医疗保健 IT 开发人员仍然需要做出巨大努力,来满足更新的认证标准并提供新功能(截止日期为 2022 年 12 月 31 日)。最为重要的是适用于患者和人口服务的全新标准化 FHIR(快速医疗保健互操作性资源)API。 

然而,互操作性的优势远远不止法规遵循这一点。FHIR API 可对临床和组织环境中的数据访问起到促进作用,从而为新软件应用程序创新奠定基础。凭借它们,提供商、支付方和其他医疗保健组织能够以全新方式访问和使用患者数据,来管理医疗保健服务,同时让患者更易于连接到自己的数据,从而将患者信息整合至单个(或数个)应用程序。 

除了能够帮助提供商更全面地了解患者健康状况外,推行互操作性以及利用互联性软件解决方案还可为整个业内的组织提供助力。凭借更高的集成性能,企业可以更加充分地了解利用率和服务需求情况。生命科学组织可以利用强大的数据集开展知情程度更高的研究,各类决策者可以了解人们访问和使用健康信息的方式,从而推动更为强大的产品开发,同时改善体验、功效和安全性。 

Interoperability_2-1

医疗保健互操作性示例:了解我们在这一领域中的实力

人工智能、互操作性和 IoMT 的结合,可为医疗保健领域的所有利益相关者带来巨大裨益。我们最近所做的大部分工作与医疗保健互操作性相关。我们正在与欧洲一家原居安老医疗保健服务提供商展开合作,这是一个激动人心的项目。我们希望构建完全无需与最终用户进行交互的技术,原因在于目标最终用户经常会遇到移动性方面的挑战,或者不熟悉或不适应新技术的使用。 

因此,我们构建了人工智能驱动型 IoMT 互联平台,此平台可通过传感器、可穿戴设备、远程监控工具和无源家庭技术收集数据。所有此类数据均发送至某个家用网关之中。此后,我们构建了算法来解读此类数据,并为医疗保健服务提供商整合关键信息。 

照护者不再需忍受数以千计数据点的“轰炸”,可获得清晰见解;此类见解可助力其相应跟踪患者,甚至可按需升级为提供紧急服务。自平台发布两年以来,住院率已降低 80%,用户满意度达到 97%。 

这对于提供商和患者而言是共赢局面,让我们提前感知到预测医学即将实现的裨益。整个系统无缝融合,并在后台运行。同样地,提供商只需监控一个仪表板,而且可获得更多关于患者的富有见地的信息。最重要的是,我们已构建可无限扩展的平台,如此一来,它甚至可与未来几年才会上市的设备兼容运行。 

设想一下,随着此平台不断发展,预测式医疗保健能力能够达到的水平。它已经能够按时间跟踪生物标记,并就可能需要干预的时机提供建议。不只是一位患者,而是数以百万的患者能够访问可互操作的数据,访问程度得到大幅提升;在此条件下,此平台可实现多重裨益,例如,提前检测斑块堆积的信号,避免其发展到严重程度,导致心脏病发作。除了此方式,该平台还可通过大量其他方式来改善患者健康。 

互操作性、预测医学和医疗保健领域的未来

健康数据互操作性不仅是一项要求,亦是一大宝贵机遇。构建可互操作的医疗保健平台可实现多重优势,而我们触及的不过是冰山一角。无论是实现患者互联(凭借所需数据自行管理医疗保健服务)、简化提供商的工作流程,还是为医疗保健企业创造无限机遇来构建价值驱动型解决方案,当下它都值得你将它列为优先事项。 

我们的“医疗科技实践”事业部可助力贵组织在数字驱动型医疗保健时代实现革新、发展、构建产品/服务以及引领市场;如需了解详情,请点击此处与我们的专家取得联系。  

联系我们

构建具备互操作性的 SaMD 产品。开始与 Star 的“医疗科技实践”事业部展开讨论。

联系我们

分享

医疗保健数据互操作性带来的益处 R5dkbapm
Lyndon McPhail
Star 医疗科技事业部产品经理

Lyndon McPhail 是 Star“医疗科技实践”事业部的产品经理,在医疗保健 IT、互操作性、数据和其他先进技术方面拥有扎实的专业技能,致力于助力全球客户构思、设计突破性的医疗科技和数字医疗保健解决方案,以及对其进行软件工程开发。Lyndon 专注于系统集成领域(HL7,API),在开发和改进医院系统、电子病历系统以及临床决策支持工具方面拥有 20 余年的丰富经验。

利用 Star 在医疗科技领域的强大实力

我们热衷于构建能够获得用户青睐的数字产品, 以此改善医疗保健效果

了解我们的专业技能
Loading...

Star 是一个缔造产品的全球化团队。我们将策略、设计和工程服务无缝融入工作流程,致力于构建影响力、扩展性、性能和可靠性兼具的解决方案。

见解与启发

直接以邮箱订阅 Star 分享的有关趋势、技术和最终目标导向型方法的最新见解。

联系人

或者向我们发送电子邮件:hellostar@star.global

plus iconminus iconarrow icon pointing rightarrow icon pointing rightarrow icon pointing downarrow icon pointing leftarrow icon pointing toparrow icon pointing top rightPlay iconResume iconCross iconActive Badge iconInactive Badge iconFocused Badge iconDropdown Arrow iconQuestion Mark iconFacebook logoLinkedin logoLinkedIn logoFacebook logoTwitter logoInstagram logo

Interoperability in healthcare: essentials for future-forward SaMD and IoMT solutions

Lyndon McPhail

by Lyndon McPhail

Data interoperability in Healthcare R1hbapm

Healthcare interoperability isn’t just a technical term or legal mandate. It makes an extraordinary impact on patient health, and leveraging it creates infinite opportunities for healthcare businesses to deliver more value, increase revenue, decrease costs and save lives. Armed with interoperable data, providers can make better decisions at the point of care and improve patient outcomes. 

In this article, we explore what you need to know about interoperability. Unpack its advantages, regulatory considerations and examples of market-leading products to enhance your product and technology strategy.

What is interoperability in healthcare? 

This is a true story about something that happened all too often before interoperability. A decade ago, a patient arrived at a hospital emergency room, was subsequently admitted to the hospital, treated over a few days and released. As it turned out, the patient was prescribed a treatment that was contraindicated for a comorbid condition. If this patient remained on this medication for too long, he likely would have died. 

Fortunately, when this healthcare system started their EHR interoperability journey, they developed an interface for their hospitals so all reports (consult and internal lab reports, discharge summaries and other important documentation) could be pushed directly to a physician’s EMR instead of the hospital having to individually fax each report to patients’ family physicians. That completely changed their approach and created an opportunity to transform the EMR ecosystem. 

Instead of the 2 weeks it took for physicians to receive admissions reports (because of the combination of manual data entry and fax machines), the physician received the report the day after the patient was discharged. As a result, the doctor recognized the critical issue and contacted the patient to stop taking the medication immediately.

If interoperability had been fully implemented, the outcomes would have been even better: 

  1. The patient would have had access to their health record to share with the hospital; or
  2. The hospital would have direct access to the patient’s critical health information and would have known not to prescribe a contraindicated medication in the first place.
  3. The patient’s primary physician would have known his patient was admitted to the hospital immediately with the reason indicated on the admit report.

Read our recent articles

Star’s HealthTech Practice shares essential interoperability insights.

Learn more

All healthcare stakeholders from the patient and provider to administrators, systems and businesses across the industry, benefit from interoperability through: 

  • Better coordination: improvements to accessing important information means fewer repeat tests, reducing costs and miscommunication while preventing potentially harmful treatment interactions.
  • Higher performance: better access to data enables improved analysis to make data-driven improvements across workflows.
  • Improved experiences: faster and more complete access to patient data can reduce redundant admin work, improving experiences for providers and their patients.
  • Increased patient autonomy: with access to their own data, patients can take a larger role in their healthcare, promoting self-management and in-home care.
  • Protecting sensitive data: the automatic electronic exchange of information ensures appropriate access controls are followed, activity can be audited and manually handled, avoiding transmission through insecure channels.

These are only a few reasons why interoperability is so important. That’s why we strongly recommend our clients not just view it as a mandate to meet but as a true opportunity to dial-up service and differentiate your company. 

Enhancing the Circle of Care and patient access through interoperability

As the global population ages, connected devices and secure data sharing become increasingly essential for healthcare delivery. Health data by nature is sensitive and requires privacy and security, creating a fundamental paradox. It must have strong access controls while also being accessible and comprehensible to those who rightfully need it.

The absence of interoperability may result in an incomplete understanding of individual or population health data contributing to higher costs, inefficiencies and poorer outcomes. 

The success of interoperability is first reliant on the understanding of a patient’s “Circle of Care.” In simple terms, the Circle of Care is any clinician, allied health professional or health facility that has or had a health encounter with that patient.  It is critical that the patient’s health information is shared among the entire team to ensure each member of the circle is informed about the patient’s health information.  

Evidence has also shown that allowing patients to be part of their own Circle of Care greatly improves health outcomes. This is achieved by allowing the patient to provide their own health data through personal devices and patient portals. Collectively, when all this information from individual Clinical Management Systems is “pushed” to a clinical data repository, there are greater efficiencies, reduced costs on the healthcare system, and, most importantly, improved health outcomes.

As such, healthcare connectivity and related IoMT and SaMD services are a major piece of the puzzle for creating more accessible, equitable, affordable and effective care. 

benefits of healthcare data interoperability

Interoperability regulatory standards and compliance  

Since the passage of the 21st Century Cures Act, interoperability in the United States is on the rise, but there is still a significant way to go for Healthcare IT developers to meet the updated certification criteria and provide new functionalities by the December 31, 2022 deadline. Foremost is the new standardized FHIR (Fast Healthcare Interoperability Resources) API for patient and population services. 

However, the advantages of interoperability go far beyond legal compliance. FHIR APIs will serve as the foundation for the innovation of new software applications by facilitating data access across clinical and organizational settings. With them in place, providers, payers and other healthcare organizations can access and use patient data in new ways to manage care while empowering patients with easier connections to their own data, enabling the aggregation of their information into one (or several) apps. 

In addition to helping providers have a more complete view of patient health, interoperability and leveraging connectivity software solutions help organizations across the industry. With better integration, companies can better understand utilization rates and demand for services. Life science organizations can harness robust datasets for more informed research and decision-makers of all kinds can see how people access and use health information to drive stronger product development while improving experiences, efficacy and safety. 

Interoperability in Healthcare

Healthcare interoperability examples: a look into our work in the space

Combining AI, interoperability, and IoMT creates immense benefits for all healthcare stakeholders. Healthcare interoperability examples include much of our recent work. One project that we’ve been particularly excited about is our ongoing collaboration with a European aging-in-place care provider. We wanted to create technology that required zero interaction with the end-user, who often could have mobility challenges or have limited familiarity or comfort using new technology. 

So, we crafted an AI-fueled IoMT connectivity platform that gathers data from sensors, wearables, remote monitoring tools and passive in-home technologies. All of this data is sent to one gateway in the home. We then built an algorithm to interpret this data and synthesize key information for healthcare providers. 

Instead of being bombarded by thousands of data points, caregivers get clear insights helping them track patients accordingly, even including escalating to emergency services when necessary. In the two years since platform release, the result has been 80% lower hospitalizations and 97% satisfaction rates among users

This is a win-win for providers and patients, previewing the near-horizon benefits of predictive medicine. The entire system is frictionless and works behind the scenes. Likewise, providers only monitor one dashboard and have more insightful information about their patients. Best of all, we built the platform to be infinitely expandable so that it will work even with devices that won’t arrive to market until years from now. 

Imagine the predictive care capabilities as this platform evolves. It can already track biomarkers over time and suggest when intervention might be necessary. With increased access to interoperable data from not just one but millions of patients, it could be used to, for example, detect signs of plaque buildup before it grows too advanced and a heart attack occurs. And this is just one of the myriad ways it can be used to improve patient health. 

Interoperability, predictive medicine and the future of healthcare

Health data interoperability isn’t just a requirement, it’s an opportunity. We’ve barely scratched the surface of the advantages of crafting interoperable healthcare platforms. Whether enabling patient connectivity with the data they need to self-manage care, streamlining provider workflows or the infinite opportunities it creates for healthcare businesses to create value-driven solutions, prioritize it now. 

To find out more about how our HealthTech Practice can help your organization modernize, evolve, build and lead in the digitally-fueled healthcare era, get in touch with our experts here.  

Contact us

Building interoperable SaMD products. Start the discussion with Star’s HealthTech Practice.

Contact us

Share

Data interoperability in Healthcare R5dkbapm
Lyndon McPhail
Product Manager, HealthTech at Star

As Product Manager at Star HealthTech Practice, Lyndon McPhail provides his expertise in Healthcare IT, interoperability, data and other advanced technologies to help our global clients ideate, design and engineer breakthrough MedTech and digital healthcare solutions. Specializing in system integration (HL7, API), Lyndon has 20+ years of developing and enhancing hospital systems, EMRs and clinical decision support tools.

Harness our HealthTech capabilities

We are passionate about improving healthcare outcomes with digital products that are a pleasure to use

Explore our expertise
Loading...
North America, Big

We are truly global.
Explore our locations around the world.

North America, Big

Star is a global team of product creators. We connect strategy, design and engineering services into a seamless workflow devised to build solutions with the right focus on impact, scalability, performance and prudence.

Insights & inspiration

Receive the latest Star insights on trends, technologies and endgame-driven approaches straight to your inbox.

Contacts

Or write us at hellostar@star.global

© Copyright Star 2023. All rights reserved Privacy Policy

plus iconminus iconarrow icon pointing rightarrow icon pointing rightarrow icon pointing downarrow icon pointing leftarrow icon pointing toparrow icon pointing top rightPlay iconResume iconCross iconActive Badge iconInactive Badge iconFocused Badge iconDropdown Arrow iconQuestion Mark iconFacebook logoLinkedin logoLinkedIn logoFacebook logoTwitter logoInstagram logo