概述

SAIC OIMT(上汽海外出行科技有限公司)是中国最大车企、全球第七大汽车制造商上汽集团投资成立的一家车用软件开发公司。上汽集团年产汽车超七百万辆。MG Cars(名爵汽车)是上汽集团英国公司的子公司,对 Morris Garages 这一经典汽车品牌赋予了全新的设计并将其重新推向市场。为迎合千禧一代驾驶者的需求,该公司新推出了采用先进电动汽车技术的纯电动车型。

  • 在印度和泰国目标市场成功开展了用户现场测试
  • 及时交付了新型 HMI(人机界面)设计,保障新车在 2019 年 9 月顺利生产和上市
  • 采用 Star 新型 HMI 设计的名爵汽车现已在印度和泰国投入使用
  • 新型 HMI 设计将在名爵所有车型上实现,也包括欧洲市场

诉求

SAIC OIMT 最初与 Star 接洽之际,提出了近乎苛刻的要求:在五个月内设计并构建出能够投入生产的 HMI,但不得改动车辆的硬件!团队需要为已进入装配阶段的车辆重新针对数字化用户体验进行设计,而不得改动任何实体组件。除此之外,新型 HMI 还需要迎合印度和泰国市场消费者的需求,让这项任务愈加艰巨。

项目

客户希望通过此项目,构建出一种能够满足这两大目标市场年轻消费群体数字需求的 HMI 设计。设计要顺应最新的科技潮流,聚焦于互联、数字触控和智能助手。界面设计要直观,而且能够强化消费者与车辆和名爵品牌之间的情感互动。

新设计要与名爵品牌的视觉语言设计相得益彰,设计成果将在全球所有名爵车型上应用。

在了解这些需求后,Star 团队便开始投入工作。首先需要了解市场趋势和竞争对手。然后,团队进行了现场构思,从而了解客户的真实驾驶体验并快速构建核心交互框架的原型。提出三大切实可行的交互概念后,团队随后与 SAIC 创新团队合作共创,共同设计视觉概念。两个团队共同提出了六个不同的设计方向,并在内部进行了测试,最终圈定了三个方向。随后便开始在目标市场上启动实地原型测试。上汽集团选定了最终的设计方向后,Star 团队立即着手根据车辆的功能模块和团队之前创建的信息架构,制定详细的视觉和动效设计方案。

Star 采取的方法确保了用户体验流程得到最终确定和验证,并确保了所有用户界面套件均可供工程师转化和开发。最终结果如何?配备全新 HMI 的名爵汽车现已在印度和泰国成功投入使用。

客户评价

Star 团队在处理此项目的过程中表现出极高的专业素养和创造力。他们能够快速满足我们的业务需求并对目标市场形成清晰认知,给我们留下了深刻的印象。他们按照项目规范和我们设定的期限顺利完成了交付。与他们合作,让我们安心无虞。”

黄先生
上汽海外出行科技有限公司 高级产品经理

设计如何助推业务发展?

让我们来聊聊

项目服务范围

  • 开展市场和用户研究
  • 整理目标用户资料
  • 创建用户体验线框图
  • 制定信息架构解决方案
  • 完成视觉设计概念
  • 开发交互概念原型
  • 执行概念用户验证测试
  • 交付详细的 UI 设计方案
  • 交付动效设计方案

Overview

SAIC OIMT is SAIC Oversea Intelligent Mobility Technology is a software development company for vehicles invested by SAIC Motor, which is the largest auto company in China, and the seventh largest car manufacturer in the world. The company produces over seven million cars annually. MG Cars, a subsidiary of SAIC Motor UK, is a redesign and relaunch of the classic Morris Garages car brand. The new line of cars caters to the millennial driver, is 100% electric and uses state-of-the-art EV-technology.

  • Successfully conducted live user testing in target markets of India and Thailand
  • On-time delivery of a new HMI design to coincide with car production and launch in September 2019
  • MG Cars with Star’s new HMI design are now on the road in India and Thailand
  • New HMI design to be implemented across all MG product lines, including in the European market

The idea

SAIC OIMT approached Star with a daunting request: design and build a production-grade HMI in five months – without changing the vehicle’s hardware! The team needed to redesign the digital UX for a vehicle that was already in the assembly line, without touching any physical components. To further add to the task’s complexity, the HMI needed to cater to the India and Thailand markets.

hmi car design
hmi solutions

Project

The goal of the project was to create an HMI design that would meet the digital needs of young consumers in the two target markets. The design should embrace new technology trends centered around connectivity, digital touchpoints and smart assistants. The interface should be intuitive and strengthen consumers’ emotional relationship with the vehicle and the MG brand. 

The new design should harmonize with the MG brand’s visual design, which is present across the entire MG product line globally. 

The Star team set to work. The first step involved understanding market trends and competitors. Then the team conducted on-site ideation to understand the customer journey and quickly prototype core interaction frameworks. Equipped with three solid interaction concepts, the team then joined forces SAIC’s innovation team to work on the visual concepts. Together, they produced six different design directions, tested these internally and selected three finalists. Now it was on to the target markets to test the prototypes in the field. Once SAIC had selected a final design direction, Star team developed a detailed visual and motion design, based on the vehicles’ function modules and the information architecture the team had created.  

Star’s approach ensured that the UX flows were finalized and validated and that all UI kits were ready for engineers to implement and develop. And what was the final result? MG Cars, equipped with the brand-new HMI, are now on the road in India and Thailand.

Testimonial

“The Star team showed the utmost professionalism and creativity in their approach to this project. We were impressed by how quickly they were able to get up to speed with our business and develop an understanding of our target markets. They delivered to project specifications and according to the deadlines we set. They were a pleasure to work with.”

Mr. Sheng Jie Huang 
Senior Product Manager at SAIC OIMT

How can design
empower your business?

Let’s talk

Project scope

  • Market and user research
  • Target user profiles
  • UX wireframe creation
  • Information architecture solution
  • Visual design concept creation
  • Interactive concept prototypes
  • Concept user validation
  • Detailed UI design
  • Motion design