BNPL 服务:重新定义嵌入式金融的替代支付方式

Olivier Bessi

依据 Olivier Bessi

先买后付 (BNPL) 服务重新定义嵌入式金融 R1hbapm

“替代”通常指主流以外的东西,但在支付领域绝非如此。替代支付是指非现金或非传统借记卡/信用卡的支付方式,如今已经快速成为一种主要的全球支付方式。替代支付包括各种形式的数字支付应用程序、P2P 应用程序、数字钱包以及其他主要由开放银行开发驱动的颠覆性技术。

logos_FinTech_CN

先买后付又称 BNPL,是金融科技服务变革中最大的参与者之一。最初的概念是让消费者立即购买某个产品,然后按照分期方式延后付款,但现在,BNPL 服务开始着眼于开发自己的支付网关,并关注与零售商合作营销的机会。到目前为止,每年已经有 80 亿到 100 亿美元的资金从银行转移到该生态系统中。

那么是什么让 BNPL 和其他数字支付产品成为可能呢?答案是嵌入式金融,这是一种由非银行或非金融机构的实体提供的金融服务(例如贷款、支付处理)。嵌入式贷款包括 BNPL,由于疫情期间网购激增,该领域经历了巨大的增长。虽然目前 BNPL 的份额仅相当于总体卡类消费的一小部分,但它明显正在颠覆全球支付卡行业。

BNPL 是如何一步一步走到今天的?是什么推动它在金融科技支付领域迅速崛起的?这种增长可持续吗?

替代支付是指非现金或非传统借记卡/信用卡的支付方式,如今已经快速成为一种主要的全球支付方式。

先买后付 (BNPL) 服务重新定义嵌入式金融 Rm8abapm

Olivier Bessi

Star 金融科技事业部负责人

全球先买后付服务概况

首先,BNPL 模式的目标是让替代支付更加透明、更加便利。消费者对这种服务的需求无处不在。2005 年成立的瑞典 Klarna 公司是成立最早也是规模最大的 BNPL 公司之一,在全球拥有 9000 万名活跃用户,在 17 个市场的日交易量达 200 万次,该公司的服务在欧盟大部分地区都很受欢迎。澳大利亚的 Afterpay 在澳大利亚和美国市场十分有名,日本的 Paidy、英国的 Zilch 和新公司也在不断出现。其他一些主要优势也推动了这种趋势的发展,包括:

  • 方便消费者使用。新冠肺炎疫情导致全球开始实施封锁措施,消费者被迫在网上购物。电子商务的增长使很多用户第一次接触了 BNPL 服务,这种无息分期付款方式立即吸引了年轻的消费者以及因就业环境不稳定而受到影响的人们。
  • 提升商户的平均订单价值 (AOV)在此期间,很多商店必须快速适应从实体店交易到电子商务的转变,而 BNPL 平台提供了一个高性价比的方案来帮助商户打造无缝的客户体验和保持竞争力。虽然使用 BNPL 服务的商户费用高于使用维萨卡 (Visa) 或万事达卡 (Mastercard) 等传统支付卡方案的商户,但 BNPL 可以将商户的平均订单价值最高提升 40%。所以,对于很多企业来说,利大于弊。
merchant_customer_CN

持续的疫情对消费者的购物习惯产生了持久的影响。毫无疑问,这种影响包括 BNPL,在 2021 年头两个月,BNPL 同比增长 215%。随着越来越多的金融公司希望进入这个赛道,现在正是保持关注并提前制定计划的关键时刻,只有这样才能确保对快速变化的市场保持了解

最值得关注的 BNPL 趋势

BNPL 已成为主流,如今的公司十分注重拓展市场,因此,他们不满足于一小部分支付业务,采用了更具创造性的方式来获取用户。旨在进一步颠覆支付行业的四大发展成果是:

  1. “漏斗顶部”的核心要素为了主动吸引消费者,BNPL 公司在促进后端支付业务发展的同时,利用他们的品牌进入前端市场。例如,Klarna 与零售商合作开展营销活动,以此来吸引消费者进入他们原本可能没打算进入的门店。合作营销活动包括在 Klarna 的应用程序上投放广告并重点推介不同的零售商,以及针对用户提供具体的购物建议,这样可以引导消费者尝试新产品和进入新门店。这种应用程序内置体验旨在发挥电子商务平台的作用,或者将自身打造成一款“超级应用程序”,集购物、银行产品、支付和理财功能于一身。这些模式实现了 300% 到 400% 的最高复合年均增长率 (CAGR)。
  2. 新一代信用核查另一个发展迅猛的方面是对消费者进行复杂信用核查的需求。Afterpay 表示,在公司的总收入构成中,滞纳金的占比不到 14%,生态系统中的消费者违约增加可能要求 BNPL 公司不断改进内部算法,维持自身的信用核查能力。该服务甚至可能成为 B2B 产品中的一个高度专业化的独立模块。
  3. BNPL 超越电子商务在变革新消费者群体的支付方式方面,BNPL 似乎没有极限。在旅游和票务领域,先飞后付服务经历了巨大增长,餐饮行业的先吃后付服务也日渐兴起。“健康科技”也是一个十分有趣的领域,该领域的替代支付机会尤其值得关注。印度尼西亚 BNPL 公司——Kredivo 的 CEO Akshay Garg 解释了个中缘由,“在昂贵的医疗手术面前,很多人面临一个艰难的选择:究竟是背上巨额债务接受手术,还是干脆放弃手术。先买后付服务可以制定适合每一个人的付款计划,从而减轻很多人在这方面的决策压力。BNPL 平台的 White Labeled BaaS 解决方案是一种 B2B 产品,它的出现旨在为全球的商户和客户带来更大的灵活性。
  4. 端到端支付网关BNPL 公司越来越注重扩展支付接口,尽量利用电子支付处理软件(例如 Stripe、Venmo 或 Square)的机会赚钱。除了 BNPL 用例以外,如今他们还希望布局普通卡类支付业务,与支付网关和收单机构展开竞争。比如,他们会让用户选择在应用程序上和在店内支付时使用信用卡还是非信用卡,这项业务的企业平均资产回报率高达 7% - 9%。日本 Paidy 提供 BNPL 服务时,与维萨卡合作,努力为更广泛的用户提供顺畅的在线和店内购物体验。PayPal 已于近期收购 Paidy,争取在这个疫情期间异军突起的行业占据领先地位。
Top-BNPL-trends-to-watch

替代支付的未来前景如何?

在最后的 Paidy 案例中,维萨卡和 PayPal 都在很大程度上充分说明了 BNPL 和替代支付的未来前景。金融行业巨头的并购很常见,他们此举也是为了充分利用朝阳产业的机遇,同时减少他们当前的业务面临的威胁。

合作是公司提高自身应变能力的另一种方式。一方面,东南亚的 Grab 与 Citi 在贷款应用程序接口 (API) 业务中建立了合作关系。另一方面,2002 年成立的肯尼亚公司 M-Pesa 改变了移动货币的可能性,以及能够向非银行机构提供的服务,并且提供了开放式 API 服务,确保通过他们的 G2 平台与第三方合作。另外,Shopify 这类电子商务平台的竞争者在 150 个国家/地区为商户提供了实惠的方式来创建、管理和维护在线商店,并在近期与美国新兴 BNPL 公司——Affirm 合作,诸如此类,不胜枚举。

这些都意味着什么?这无疑反映了消费者的关键影响。全球消费者希望获得更加透明、顺畅的支付体验加剧了当前 BNPL 和金融科技生态系统众多领域的竞争。所以,引领潮流是关键,如果想保持产品生产和设计的灵活应变能力,最好的方式是采用以用户为中心的方法。

无论对于传统企业还是金融科技创业公司而言,现在都是重启思考贷款布局的关键时刻。分期付款和零售终端融资的发展达到了一个新高度,Star 了解从构思到发布所需的基本要素,能够保证您的下一次端到端产品开发取得同样出色的成果。

联系我们!

立即与我们联系,了解我们的专家如何帮助您取得数字金融的成功。

取得联系

相关主题

分享

先买后付 (BNPL) 服务重新定义嵌入式金融 R5dkbapm
Olivier Bessi
Star 金融科技事业部负责人

Olivier is passionate about financial technology, open banking, payments, cards, trading, derivatives and machine learning. He loves to build solutions that create value for companies and individuals in the B2B and B2C space. With 10+ years of experience in Product Management and Capital Markets, Olivier successfully collaborated with some of the UK's largest FCMs and investment banks. He successfully led the launch and growth of a new derivatives post-trade reconciliation product – driving its design, implementation, management, go-to-market, and pre-sales to build a profitable, sustainable business.

利用 Star 在金融科技领域的强大实力

我们的数字金融领域专家致力于融合策略、设计和软件工程开发服务,助力客户利用颠覆性技术和机遇,来构建创新、顺畅的集成式金融服务。

了解我们的专业技能
Loading...

Star 是一个缔造产品的全球化团队。我们将策略、设计和工程服务无缝融入工作流程,致力于构建影响力、扩展性、性能和可靠性兼具的解决方案。

见解与启发

直接以邮箱订阅 Star 分享的有关趋势、技术和最终目标导向型方法的最新见解。

联系人

或者向我们发送电子邮件:hellostar@star.global

plus iconminus iconarrow icon pointing rightarrow icon pointing rightarrow icon pointing downarrow icon pointing leftarrow icon pointing toparrow icon pointing top rightPlay iconResume iconCross iconActive Badge iconInactive Badge iconFocused Badge iconDropdown Arrow iconQuestion Mark iconFacebook logoLinkedin logoLinkedIn logoFacebook logoTwitter logoInstagram logo

BNPL services: the alternative payment redefining embedded finance

Olivier Bessi

by Olivier Bessi

While ‘alternative’ usually refers to something outside the mainstream — this doesn’t hold true in the payments world. Alternative payments, which describe anything that isn’t cash or traditional debit/credit card payments, have quickly become a prominent global payment method. This includes all forms of digital payment apps, P2P apps, digital wallets and other disruptive technologies that have largely been fueled by open banking development.

alternative payment methods

Buy now, pay later, or BNPL, is one of the biggest players in this FinTech services revolution. The original concept started by allowing consumers to purchase a product immediately and pay for it over time in several regular installments, but now BNPL services are starting to set their eyes on developing their own payment gateways and co-marketing opportunities with retailers. As of now, $8 billion to $10 billion in annual revenues have already been diverted away from banks in this ecosystem.

Yet what makes all this possible for BNPL and other digital payment products is embedded finance, which is the offering of financial services (such as lending, or processing of payments) by entities which aren’t banks or financial institutions. Embedded lending, which includes BNPL, is one segment that’s seen huge growth, in part because of online shopping surges during the pandemic. While currently only a fraction of overall card spending, BNPL looks clearly on track to disrupt the global payment card industry.

But how did BNPL get here? What led to its meteoric rise in the FinTech payments world, and is this growth sustainable?

Alternative payments, which describe anything that isn’t cash or traditional debit/credit card payments, have quickly become a prominent global payment method.

Olivier Bessi

Product Director, FinTech at Star

A look at buy now, pay later worldwide

First and foremost, the BNPL model takes aim at making alternative payments even more transparent and convenient. And consumer demand for the service is everywhere. Sweden-based Klarna, founded in 2005, is one of the oldest and biggest BNPL players and is popular in much of the EU, with 90 million global active users and 2 million daily transactions across 17 markets. Australia-based Afterpay is a big name in its home country and the US market, Paidy in Japan, Zilch in the UK, and new companies keep showing up. This trend is driven by some other key benefits:

  • Accessibility for shoppers. Starting with the global shutdown from COVID-19, consumers were forced to shop online. This surge in e-commerce led many users to encounter BNPL services for the first time, and the installment method of payments, interest-free, was instantly attractive to younger shoppers and to those against the backdrop of an uncertain job market.
  • AOV boosts for merchants. Around the same time, many stores had to quickly adjust from in-store to e-commerce sales, and BNPL platforms provided a cost-effective option to create seamless customer experience and stay competitive. While merchant fees are higher with BNPL than traditional card schemes like Visa or Mastercard, merchant AOVs can increase up to 40%. So for many businesses, the trade-off pays off.
BNPL benefits

With the pandemic ongoing, many of its effects on consumer shopping habits will persist. This undoubtedly includes BNPL, which saw a 215% growth year-on-year in the first two months of 2021. As more established financial companies want to buy in, now is a critical time to take note and plan ahead to stay relevant with a fast-changing market.

As BNPL has become mainstream, today’s firms are laser-focused on expanding their footprint by pushing beyond just fractional payments and getting more creative in their user acquisition models. Four major developments that are poised to further disrupt the payments industry are:

  1. The “top of the funnel” pivot. To be more proactive in attracting consumers, BNPL firms are using their brand to get into frontend marketing instead of just facilitating backend payments. Klarna, for example, is co-marketing with retailers as a way to entice consumers to visit a shop they might not go to otherwise. This includes advertising and highlighting different retailers within the Klarna app as well as giving user-specific shopping suggestions, which redirect consumers to try new products and shops. This in-app experience aims to work like an e-commerce platform, or “super app,” which includes shopping, banking products and payment and financing options all in one place. These models are seeing the highest compound annual growth rate (CAGR) at 300-400 percent.
  2. Next-gen credit checking. Another area that’s gaining momentum is the need for sophisticated consumer credit checks. While Afterpay says late fees contribute to less than 14% of the company’s total income, an increase in consumer defaults within the ecosystem might demand a continued improvement in BNPL firm’s algorithms for credit checking abilities. This service could even become a highly specialized and stand-alone module within B2B offerings.
  3. BNPL goes beyond e-commerce. BNPL services seem to have no limits when it comes to transforming payments in new consumer sectors. Travel and ticketing are experiencing a surge in fly now, pay later, while restaurants are seeing a rise in eat now, pay later. One especially interesting area to watch for alternative payment opportunities is in the world of HealthTech. Akshay Garg, CEO of the Indonesia-based BNPL service Kredivo, explains how, “when it comes to expensive medical procedures, many people face the tough choice of creating a huge amount of debt for themselves or forgoing the procedure altogether. Buy now, pay later could lessen the burden of this decision for many by creating a payment schedule that works for each individual.” And finally, the emergence of B2B offerings of White Labeled BaaS solutions for BNPL platforms aims to bring further flexibility for both merchants and customers around the globe.
  4. End-to-end payment gateways. To cash in on the opportunities out there for electronic payment processing software like Stripe, Venmo or Square, BNPL firms are increasingly focused on expanding their payment interface. Instead of just the BNPL use case, they now want to cover regular card payments as well, putting them in competition with payment gateways and acquirers. This would include both credit and noncredit options for users to choose for in-app and in-store payments, with an average return on assets for businesses of up to 7-9 percent. For Paidy in Japan, the BNPL service partnered with Visa in order to push for frictionless online and in-store shopping experiences that reach a wider audience – which just recently got acquired by PayPal in its race to claim a top spot in the pandemic-led boom.

What the future holds for alternative payments

The last case involving Paidy, Visa and PayPal is the perfect illustration of what the future may look like for BNPL and alternative payments at large. Acquisitions and consolidations by finance industry giants are frequent, and they’re equally an effort to cash in on a booming business and simultaneously lessen any threat to their current operations.

Partnerships are another way companies are building resilience. On the one hand, Southeast Asia’s Grab is collaborating with Citi in a lending API partnership. On the other, Kenya’s M-Pesa, which began in 2002, has transformed what’s possible with mobile money and the services that can be provided to the unbanked – and offer Open API services to enable third-party partnerships via their G2 platform. On the other end, e-commerce platform contenders like Shopify, which gives merchants in 150 countries affordable access to create, manage and maintain online stores, recently partnered with US-based Affirm, a rising BNPL player, and the list goes on.

What’s this all mean? Well, it certainly highlights the critical influence of consumers. The global appetite for increasingly transparent and frictionless payment experiences is what’s driving the current race in BNPL and much of the FinTech ecosystem. So, while keeping ahead of the trends is essential, the best way to guarantee this resilience in product development and design is always through a user-centric approach.

It’s high time for both traditional players and FinTech startups to start rethinking the lending landscape. As installment payments and point-of-sale financing are soaring to new heights, Star understands the fundamentals needed, from ideation through launch, to guarantee that your next end-to-end product development does the same.

Contact us!

Connect with us now to see how our experts can help you achieve digital finance success.

Contact us!

Connect with us now to see how our experts can help you achieve digital finance success.

Explore FinTech capabilities

Our digital finance experts blend strategy, design and engineering to help our customers harness disruptive technologies and opportunities to build innovative, integrated and frictionless financial services.

Olivier Bessi
Product Director, FinTech at Star

Olivier is passionate about Financial Technology, Open Banking, Payments, Cards, Trading, Derivatives, and Machine Learning. He loves to build solutions that create value for companies and individuals in the B2B and B2C space.

With 10+ years of experience in Product Management and Capital Markets, Olivier successfully collaborated with some of the UK's largest FCMs and Investment Banks.

He successfully led the launch and growth of a new derivatives post-trade reconciliation product - driving its design, implementation, management, go-to-market, and pre-sales to build a profitable, sustainable business.

Harness Star's FinTech capabilities

Our digital finance experts blend strategy, design and engineering to help our customers harness disruptive technologies and opportunities to build innovative, integrated and frictionless financial services.

We are truly global.
Explore our locations around the world.

minusplusloadercrossplusarrowarrow-downfacebooktwitterlinkedininstagramquotefilter-arrfilter-not-choosenfilter-choosenbell