探究不断发展的 HMI 解决方案领域

HMI 解决方案 R1hbapm

简要介绍

汽车 HMI 行业的爆发式增长部分归因于 C.A.S.E.,这一首字母缩略词代表:互联性 (C)、自动 (A)、共享/订阅 (S) 和电气化 (E),将对驾驶领域的未来产生重要影响。这些大趋势会给 HMI 开发带来挑战与机遇,同时会将 HMI 解决方案的重要性提升至史无前例的程度。为了更加充分地了解当前的 HMI 体系,以及会确定其未来格局的设计趋势,Star 汽车与移动出行团队率先在全球范围内推出了市场研究项目。我们了解到的信息能够助力车企构建融合 C.A.S.E. 技术的 HMI 解决方案,同时从市场中脱颖而出。

汽车人机界面 (HMI) 指代可让驾驶员或乘客与车辆实现交互的界面或仪表板。虽然车载人机界面向来有着举足轻重的作用,但是在多个因素的作用下,OEM 比以往任何时候都要更加注重 HMI 解决方案设计。其中一个因素为:汽车制造商需将大量信息传达给驾驶员,而不会导致分散或干扰注意力。此外,它们必须利用符合驾驶员期望的新兴技术,来实现互联性与顺畅通信。

电动车浪潮进一步加速了这一体系的成熟化进程,会促进 HMI 开发趋势的形成。根据 KPMG 执行的一项调查,截至 2030 年,新车销售中估计 52% 为纯电动车。汽车制造商需实现以下这点:让驾驶员能够轻松通过电动车界面管理车辆充电需求。但是,同样重要的是:构建独特的车载体验,充分契合电动车车主独具鉴赏力的品味以及对前沿技术的喜爱之情。

Star 深谙在制定 C.A.S.E. 和现代 HMI 解决方案时,创新者所面临的挑战。我们致力于助力合作伙伴构建可扩展的以用户为中心的 HMI 解决方案;此类解决方案融合了最佳实践,同时寻求如何改进现状。我们根据自身经验和市场调研结果,确定了当下和近期 HMI 设计的关键趋势,其中大部分与 C.A.S.E. 相关。我们很乐意分享一些通过分析得出的重要见解。

side_download-min (1)

如需详细了解汽车 HMI 体系及其预计的进化情况,请下载 Star HMI 设计研究报告的副本。

拥抱免提式 HMI 解决方案

忘却“传统”的与车辆 HMI 实现交互的方式吧。旋钮、控制杆甚至触摸屏这些车辆界面使全新的通信方式得以实现,包括语音和手势控制。为何要将驾驶员限制在单个选项中呢?车辆 HMI 支持多种通信方式,因此用户可灵活选择,这种情况日益普遍。

Sony Vision-S 02 配备的传感器可监测唇部动作,因此该款车型可识别唇语。驾驶员和乘客可利用高级语音识别技术来控制语音和导航系统,甚至可在嘈杂环境中实现这一点。或者,他们可通过 L 型手势滑动至新显示屏。DS Aero Sport Lounge 是一款可实现半自动驾驶的电动概念车,还支持手势控制和触觉感知功能,因此用户不一定需使用触摸屏进行控制。

另外,车内助手的发展趋势不容小觑!HMI 解决方案研究报告重点关注汽车创新者,他们将车载伴侣用作免提式移动出行解决方案,来定制驾驶员体验并执行一系列广泛的任务。无论是协作式机器人(比如 Star 协助 NIO 设计的机器人)、隐形的智能助手还是全息图,AI 助手都可显著扩展车与驾驶员以及驾驶员与车和外界之间的通信方式,并可改善车载信息娱乐体验。

虽然车内助手已经成为一项筹码,但是一次令人沮丧的互动就足以成为用户永久弃用语音助手的理由。因此,你最好获得正面的经验,并在设计中融合 HMI 开发最佳实践。

HMI 技术 + 好莱坞的 神奇魅力 = 沉浸式车内体验

随着车企开始弃用模拟显示屏甚至(在某些情况下)车轮,它们开始从电影和游戏行业中汲取灵感,来设计更高层级的显示屏和功能。车企会利用增强现实、虚拟现实和扩展现实元素、三维可视化(例如太阳能概念车 Mercedes-Benz Vision EQXX 搭载的实时三维导航系统)以及声光同步显示技术;在这些技术的赋能下,仪表板和后座体验共同为用户打造难忘时光。最终效果是面向未来的车辆 HMI,它可满足爱车人士与技术爱好者的期待。

BMW 邀请到奥斯卡金像奖获得者电影配乐作曲家 Hans Zimmer,共同为纯电动车 BMW iX M60 打造“IconicSounds Electric”音效库,旨在构建饱含情感的驾驶体验,这是好莱坞世界与汽车 HMI 软件工程开发密切结合的典范之作。Cadillac Lyriq SUV 是另一个充满趣味的可用于说明沉浸式汽车 HMI 开发的示例:通过使用交互式三维模型,在调温等日常操作中融入游戏元素。利用游戏化元素来变革车载人机界面的 OEM 屈指可数,而 Cadillac 位列其中。

Is-this-a-car-or-a-movie-theater

智能互联技术为 HMI 行业的新功能赋能

Counterpoint Research 表示,在 2018 年至 2022 年期间,全球预计会推出超过 1.25 亿辆嵌入互联性的乘用车。智能互联技术向前发展,不断推动 HMI 解决方案的进化,从而使驾驶员和乘客能够通过新一代汽车界面,以全新的方式与车辆和外界进行交互。另外,汽车制造商还将应用用作移动出行解决方案。Porsche 客户可通过 Porsche 应用为汽车充电,并可访问充电水平和里程数据。在部分车型中,用户甚至可在车舱内控制智能家居产品,这是一项激动人心的 HMI 技术开发成果。

汽车学习的内容越多,越能对用户的需求作出预判并提供智能化建议,可能根据交通模式提议替代路线,又或是根据驾驶员的兴趣对附近的景点作出建议。还存在这样一个事实:凭借 Audi Car-to-X 服务,Audi 驾驶员可受益于同伴“掌握的信息”。此功能可从全球超过 10 万辆互联 Audi 车中收集数据。可执行的学习包括:更新有关道路危险情形甚至停车空间的信息,这意味着驾驶员在离开某个地点时可向其他车辆发出提示。是不是有利于团队协作?其他以数据作为支撑的移动出行解决方案几乎充满了无限可能,会对人机界面市场产生持续影响。

我们的 HMI 设计报告中包含了大量发现,而这些不过是冰山一角。另外,公司还利用汽车 HMI 来获得多重裨益,例如缓解里程焦虑和改善安全结果。如需完整了解 HMI 趋势以及 C.A.S.E. 对市场的影响,请记得下载我们的研究报告。如果你面临汽车 HMI 软件工程开发或设计方面的挑战,欢迎你随时问询。

Star 是发掘新构思的专家。凭借久经验证的以用户为中心的设计流程,我们可快速向市场推出颠覆性的移动出行解决方案,并助力客户重新设想车辆界面。

分享

Loading...

Star 是一个缔造产品的全球化团队。我们将策略、设计和工程服务无缝融入工作流程,致力于构建影响力、扩展性、性能和可靠性兼具的解决方案。

见解与启发

直接以邮箱订阅 Star 分享的有关趋势、技术和最终目标导向型方法的最新见解。

联系人

或者向我们发送电子邮件:hellostar@star.global

plus iconminus iconarrow icon pointing rightarrow icon pointing rightarrow icon pointing downarrow icon pointing leftarrow icon pointing toparrow icon pointing top rightPlay iconResume iconCross iconActive Badge iconInactive Badge iconFocused Badge iconDropdown Arrow iconQuestion Mark iconFacebook logoLinkedin logoLinkedIn logoFacebook logoTwitter logoInstagram logo

Exploring the ever-evolving world of HMI solutions

HMI solutions R1hbapm

In brief

The explosive growth of the automotive HMI industry is due, in part, to C.A.S.E.: an important acronym shaping the future of driving: Connectivity, Autonomous, Sharing/Subscription and Electrification. These megatrends create challenges and opportunities for HMI development and make HMI solutions more important than ever before. To better understand the current HMI landscape and the design trends shaping its future, the Star Automotive & Mobility team spearheaded a global market research project. What we learned will help your automotive company create HMI solutions that reflect C.A.S.E technologies while standing out from the crowd.

Automotive human-machine interface (HMI) is an interface or dashboard that allows a driver or passenger to interact with the vehicle. While human-machine interface in cars has always been important, a number of factors are causing OEMs to emphasize HMI solution design more so than ever. For one, automakers are tasked with communicating large amounts of information to drivers without distracting or hindering. Additionally, they must harness emerging technologies that meet driver expectations for connectivity and seamless communication.

The electric car movement is further accelerating the maturation of the landscape and contributing to HMI development trends. By 2030, an estimated 52% of new vehicle sales will be all-electric, according to research from KPMG. Automotive manufacturers need to make it easy for drivers to manage vehicle charging needs from the electric vehicle interface. As important, though, is creating a unique in-car experience that appeals to EV owners’ discerning taste and affinity for cutting-edge tech. 

Star intimately understands the challenges innovators are facing when it comes to C.A.S.E and modern HMI solutions. We help our partners create scalable, user-centric HMI solutions that reflect best practices while challenging the status quo. Based on our experience and market research, we identified key trends in HMI design today, and in the near future – many of which relate to C.A.S.E. We are happy to share a few highlights from our analysis.

HMI for EVs_trend report by Star

For more on the automotive HMI landscape and its projected evolution, download a copy of the Star HMI design research report.

Wave “hello” to hands-free HMI solutions

Forget the “traditional” way of interfacing with vehicle HMI. Knobs, levers, and even touchscreens are making way for new modes of communication in vehicle interfaces, including voice and gesture. And why limit drivers to one option? Increasingly, vehicle HMI supports multiple modes of communication so users have flexibility and choice. 

The Sony Vision-S 02 includes a sensor to monitor lip movement so the car can read lips. Drivers and passengers can use advanced speech recognition technology to control audio and navigation systems, even in noisy environments. Alternatively, they can swipe to a new display screen by making an L-shape gesture with their hands. The DS Aero Sport Lounge, an electric, semi-autonomous concept car, also supports gesture control and haptics so people don’t have to bother with touchscreens.

And let’s not forget the growth of in-car assistants! The HMI solutions research report highlights automotive innovators that are using in-car companions as hands-free mobility solutions for customizing the driver experience and performing a wide range of tasks. Whether it is a cobot like the one Star helped design for NIO, an invisible smart assistant, or a hologram, AI assistants significantly expand car-to-driver and driver-to-car-to-world communication and enhance in-car infotainment experiences. 

While in-car assistants have become table stakes, one frustrating interaction is enough to make a user swear off their voice assistant for good. So, you better get your experience right and reflect HMI development best practices in your design. 

HMI technology + Hollywood
magic = immersive in-car experiences

As car companies say goodbye to analog displays and, in some cases, even wheels, they are taking inspiration from the movies and gaming sector to design next-level displays and functions. Dashboards and backseat experiences work in tandem to create unforgettable moments with automakers using augmented, virtual and extended reality elements, 3D visualization (like the real-time 3D navigation system in the Mercedes-Benz Vision EQXX, a solar-powered concept car) and synchronized light and sound shows. The effect is a futuristic vehicle HMI that appeals to car lovers and tech enthusiasts alike.  

Epitomizing the Hollywood/Automotive HMI engineering overlap, BMW tapped Academy-Award-winning film score composer Hans Zimmer to create the “IconicSounds Electric,” a library of sounds for the all-electric BMW iX M60 designed to create a more emotionally-charged driving experience. Another fun example of immersive automotive HMI development is in the Cadillac Lyriq SUV, which makes mundane tasks like adjusting the temperature feel more like a video game by using interactive 3D models. Cadillac is one of several OEMs using gamification elements to transform human-machine interfaces in cars. 

infotainment_Star

Intelligent connective technology powers new capabilities for the HMI industry

Between 2018 and 2022, more than 125 million passenger cars with embedded connectivity are expected to ship worldwide, according to Counterpoint Research. The advancement of intelligent connectivity technology is forever changing HMI solutions, allowing drivers and passengers to engage with the vehicle and the outside world in new ways through next-gen automotive interfaces. Automakers are using apps as mobility solutions, too. Porsche customers can charge their car from the Porsche app and access charge levels and mileage data. Some car models even allow consumers to control intelligent home products from the cabin, an exciting development in HMI technology. 

The more cars learn, the better they can anticipate a user’s needs and make smart recommendations, whether that is proposing an alternate route based on traffic patterns or suggesting a nearby attraction based on the driver’s interest. In fact, Audi drivers benefit from the “knowledge” of their peers with Audi Car-to-X services. These capabilities glean data from more than 100,000 connected Audi vehicles around the world. Possible learnings include updates on road hazards and even parking spaces,  meaning cars can alert one another when they have left a spot. How is that for teamwork? The possibilities for additional, data-backed mobility solutions are nearly limitless and will continue to influence the human-machine interface market.

Those are just a few of the learnings from our HMI design report. Companies are also using automotive HMI to reduce range anxiety, improve safety outcomes, and much more. For the full scoop on HMI trends and the impact of C.A.S.E on the market, be sure to download our research report. If you are facing your own automotive HMI engineering or design challenge, we would love to chat.

Here at Star, we are experts at spotting fresh ideas. Our proven, human-centric design process enables us to bring game-changing mobility solutions to market, fast, and help clients reimagine vehicle interfaces.

Share

Loading...
North America, Big

We are truly global.
Explore our locations around the world.

North America, Big

Star is a global team of product creators. We connect strategy, design and engineering services into a seamless workflow devised to build solutions with the right focus on impact, scalability, performance and prudence.

Insights & inspiration

Receive the latest Star insights on trends, technologies and endgame-driven approaches straight to your inbox.

Contacts

Or write us at hellostar@star.global

© Copyright Star 2022. All rights reserved Privacy Policy

plus iconminus iconarrow icon pointing rightarrow icon pointing rightarrow icon pointing downarrow icon pointing leftarrow icon pointing toparrow icon pointing top rightPlay iconResume iconCross iconActive Badge iconInactive Badge iconFocused Badge iconDropdown Arrow iconQuestion Mark iconFacebook logoLinkedin logoLinkedIn logoFacebook logoTwitter logoInstagram logo