如何选择合适的发卡提供商:5 大技术要素

Aleksandr Gornostal

依据 Aleksandr Gornostal

如何选择发卡提供商? R1hbapm

随着市场转向在线和移动支付方式,卡类支付行业呈现出快速发展的势头。而处理提供商和发卡提供商会给销量、客户获取、留存和增长情况带来巨大影响。市面上的提供商比比皆是,比如 Marqeta、GPS、I2C,你如何判断应选择哪家呢? 

发卡生态系统

从我们助力客户建立行业合作关系和构建数字银行产品的工作中,我们已经看到了 API 和技术评估的重要性,在寻找适合当下和未来的合适提供商的流程中经常会忽略到部分内容。 

以下是要在发卡策略(自开始之际即投入使用)中考虑的五大要素。  

1.审查平台功能时不局限于一眼可见的功能

必须彻底检查潜在发卡系统的功能,在考虑相比 I2C、GPS 和 Marqueta 等大型参与者更加实惠的选项时尤其如此。例如,大部分企业希望获得消费控制功能。简单检查下此功能是否位列于 API 清单中,还不足够。要查看与产品目标一致的特定功能。是否需要获得将每天消费上限设为 $500 的功能?或者,你是否想要将消费限于特定商户类型,例如不允许进行娱乐交易的企业支付解决方案?或者两种功能你都想收入囊中?

你需要先回答这些问题,再选择发卡服务提供商。不然,你可能需要自行构建此功能(而非直接从发卡提供商获得此功能),因此而需承担非预期费用。

2.实现 PCI DSS 合规性(不接触敏感数据) 

卡片品牌需强制执行《支付卡行业数据安全标准》(PCI DSS)(若企业在运营过程中涉及敏感支付数据,例如通常称作 PAN 的卡号以及 CVV)。 

我们许多客户属于中小企业,专注于发展自身业务,不想经历冗长且代价高昂的认证流程。你应将有限的时间和资源用于哪些方面?

如果你在运营过程中需用到敏感支付数据,但你甚至无需接触这类数据,那实现 PCI 合规性要容易许多。 

可通过以下两种方式实现这一点:

1.确认发卡机构是否提供 API 流程,可让敏感卡片数据绕过你的服务器。通常可通过以下方式实现这一点:在后端发放临时客户令牌;可通过移动应用程序使用此令牌,经由发放平台 API 直接获取完整的卡号。 

客户令牌请求流程

2.许多提供商不具备此类 API,但是可通过其他方式简化 PCI 合规性:使用 VGS 等厂商的标记化解决方案。从本质上而言,他们会向你提供两个代理供你安装,此后所有敏感数据在进入你后端系统的过程中会作标记化处理,在离开后端系统后即会取消标记化处理。

发卡流程以及标记化代理(在移动/Web 应用与服务器的背景中)

3.确保事件订阅 API 设立到位

可通过多种方式与处理合作伙伴实现集成。我们经常向客户推荐的一种用于构建精密银行解决方案的方式是:同步账号、卡片和交易数据至数据库。 

这种做法不仅可以改善应用的性能(与移动应用和发卡提供商之间的代理 GET 请求相比),而且所有这些数据可用于实时分析及形成业务相关见解。

若发卡企业拥有事件订阅 API(通常作为 Webhook 予以实施),是优势所在。在此种情况下,你只需订阅事件(例如余额已改变、新交易、卡片发货状态已改变等等)并存储数据。若不具备此类 API,最糟糕的情形便是:你会需要自行迭代所有财务账户、轮询更新并检查已发生的变化。 

如果你准备构建 BNPL 产品或者只是想自行管理账户和余额,则即时 (JIT) 付款 Webhook 是合适之选。你将能够按照与支付解决方案最为匹配的方式处理卡片授权事件。例如,在发起 JIT 支付请求后,你可运行快速信用核查、验证商户和交易,以及批准购买行为。 

4.关注 API 验证

大多数发卡流程提供商至少拥有基于密钥的 API 验证功能,你在服务器对服务器集成中需要用到此验证。有一点值得确认:他们是否允许构建多个密钥。凭借这一功能,能够实施零停机密钥轮替。

我们当前看到提供的另一种验证方式是 OAuth2。但是,它并非适用于服务器对服务器通信的最佳方式,原因在于你会需要在所有使用令牌的位置确保访问令牌保持“更新”。然而,如果你在找寻通过无服务器方法快速构建数字钱包的方式,而且发卡机构具备对应功能,可成为用户的验证和身份提供商,则它是验证方法的不二之选。

5.确认沙箱环境拥有你所需的所有功能

发卡与卡片处理提供商会始终提供沙箱环境的访问权,但是其是否会针对你想要实施的所有场景执行模拟?

从我们的经验来看,答案通常为“否定”。例如,在实施实体卡片发放操作时,可能无法模拟不同的卡片状态(已发送至打印机、已打印、已发货等等)。对你而言,这意味着你将仅能够在生产环境中测试某些功能,会增加缺陷检测的成本。

选择适用于长期的合适的发卡提供商 

发卡策略会影响到你的产品路线图、用户体验、合规性以及上市情况。利用这些要素来评估所有潜在和现有的厂商,找寻合适的长期合作伙伴,获得所需的灵活性、支持和工具,来发展业务以及成功开展卡片项目。 

从选择合适的发卡软件合作伙伴,到为你设计并构建解决方案,我们一路为你保驾护航

详细了解我们的发卡开发服务可为你所在企业提供的支持。

了解 Star 的发卡开发服务
如何选择发卡提供商? R5dkbapm
Aleksandr Gornostal
Star 的金融科技解决方案架构师

Aleksandr 在 Star 担任金融科技解决方案架构师,拥有超过 15 年的 IT 行业经验(构建 Web 和移动应用)。在最近六年的工作中,他作为全栈开发人员、团队负责人以及软件架构师参与过多个金融科技产品的工作。他在 Star 的工作重点在于:助力客户根据其需求构建强效的金融科技软件,获得长期成功。

利用 Star 在金融科技领域的强大实力

我们的数字金融领域专家致力于融合策略、设计和软件工程开发服务,助力客户利用颠覆性技术和机遇,来构建创新、顺畅的集成式金融服务。

了解我们的专业技能
Loading...

Star 是一个缔造产品的全球化团队。我们将策略、设计和工程服务无缝融入工作流程,致力于构建影响力、扩展性、性能和可靠性兼具的解决方案。

见解与启发

直接以邮箱订阅 Star 分享的有关趋势、技术和最终目标导向型方法的最新见解。

联系人

或者向我们发送电子邮件:hellostar@star.global

plus iconminus iconarrow icon pointing rightarrow icon pointing rightarrow icon pointing downarrow icon pointing leftarrow icon pointing toparrow icon pointing top rightPlay iconResume iconCross iconActive Badge iconInactive Badge iconFocused Badge iconDropdown Arrow iconQuestion Mark iconFacebook logoLinkedin logoLinkedIn logoFacebook logoTwitter logoInstagram logo

How to choose the right card issuing provider: 5 technical essentials

Aleksandr Gornostal

by Aleksandr Gornostal

How to choose card issuing provider? R1hbapm

The card payments industry is growing rapidly, fueled by the shift to online and mobile payments. Your processing and card issuance provider significantly impact sales, customer acquisition, retention and growth. With so many in the market, including Marqueta, GPS, I2C, to name a few, how do you know which one to choose? 

Card issuance ecosystem with company clusters including Issuer Processors, Payments, Processors, Acquirers, Payment Gateways

From our work helping clients form sector partnerships and build digital banking products, we’ve seen how APIs and technical evaluation are critical and too often overlooked parts of that process of finding the right fit for now and in the future. 

Here are five essentials to factor in your card issuance strategy to put into use from Day 1.  

1. Go beyond surface-level features when reviewing platform capabilities

It’s imperative to thoroughly examine prospective card issuance system functionalities, especially when considering more cost-friendly options compared to major players like I2C, GPS, and Marqueta. For example, most companies want the ability to set spending controls. Just checking that this capability exists in the list of APIs is not enough. Look for specific functionalities instead that align with your product goals. Is it the ability to allow spending of up to $500 per day? Or do you want to limit spending to certain merchant types, such as a business payment solution that would not allow transactions on entertainment? Or do you want both?

You need to answer these questions before selecting a card issuance service provider. Otherwise, you may have unexpected expenses related to building that feature yourself instead of getting it from your issuing provider.

2. Achieve PCI DSS compliance without touching sensitive data 

The Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS) is mandated by card brands if a business operates with sensitive payment data such as a card number (often called PAN) and CVV. 

Many of our clients are SMEs focused on growing their businesses rather than undergoing a lengthy and expensive certification process. What should you do with limited time and resources?

Achieving PCI compliance is much easier if you can operate on sensitive payment data without ever touching it. 

Here are two ways how to do that:

1. Check if your card issuer provides API flows allowing sensitive card data to bypass your servers. Often this can be done by issuing temporary client tokens on the back-end side, which can be used from a mobile application to obtain a full card number directly via the issuing platform API. 

Client token request flow

2. Many providers don’t have that API, but there’s another way to simplify PCI compliance — by using tokenization solutions from vendors like VGS. Essentially they’ll provide you two proxies that you install and then any sensitive data will be tokenized on the way into your back-end system and detokenized as it goes out.

PAN & CVV card issuance journey to a proxy for tokenization through backend and detokenization and reaching end user app

3. Ensure an event subscription API is in place

There are many ways in which you can integrate with a processing partner. One approach we often recommend to our clients building sophisticated banking solutions is to synchronize account, card and transaction data to a database. 

It not only improves app performance (compared to proxying GET requests between mobile apps and the card issuing provider), but also all that data could be used for real-time analytics and business insights.

It's good when card issuing companies have an event subscription API, which is usually implemented as Webhooks. In that case, you'd only need to subscribe to events (such as balance changed, new transaction, card shipping status changed, etc.) and store the data. Without such an API, in the worst case scenario, you'll have to iterate through all financial accounts, poll for updates and check what has changed yourself. 

If you are building a BNPL product or just want to manage accounts and balances yourself, look for Just-in-time (JIT) payments Webhooks. You'll be able to process card authorization events as best suits your payment solutions. For example, as a JIT payment is requested, you can run a quick credit check, verify the merchant and transaction and approve the purchase. 

4. Pay attention to API Authentication

Most card issuing process providers have at least key-based API authentication, which is what you need for server-to-server integration. One thing worth checking is whether they allow creating multiple keys. This will make it possible to implement zero downtime key rotation.

Another authentication method we see being offered is OAuth2. However, it’s not the best way for server-to-server communication as you will need to keep access tokens “fresh” in all places where you use it. Nonetheless, if you are looking for ways to build a digital wallet fast with a serverless approach and the card issuer has the functionality to become an authentication and identity provider for your users, then it’s a perfect authentication method to choose.

5. Check the sandbox environment has all the capabilities you need

Card issuing and processing providers will always give access to a sandbox environment, but will it include simulations for all scenarios you will want to implement?

From our experience, the answer is often No. For example, when implementing physical card issuance, simulating different card statuses (sent to a printer, printed, shipped, etc.) may not be possible. What that means for you is you will be able to test some features only in a production environment increasing the cost of defect detection.

Find the right card issuance provider for the long haul 

Your card issuance strategy impacts your product roadmap, user experience, compliance and go-to-market. Use these essentials to evaluate all potential and current vendors to find the right long-term partner who will give you the flexibility, support and tools to grow your business and run a successful card program. 

Related topics

Share

How to choose card issuing provider? R5dkbapm
Aleksandr Gornostal
FinTech Solutions Architect at Star

Aleksandr is a FinTech Solutions Architect at Star with 15+ years of IT experience building web and mobile applications. For the last six years, he's worked with numerous FinTech products as a full-stack developer, team lead and software architect. At Star, his focus is helping clients craft powerful FinTech software tailor-made for their needs and long-term success.

Harness our FinTech capabilities

We blend strategy, design and engineering to help our customers harness disruptive technologies and opportunities to build innovative, integrated and frictionless financial services.

Explore our expertise
Loading...
North America, Big

We are truly global.
Explore our locations around the world.

North America, Big

Star is a global team of product creators. We connect strategy, design and engineering services into a seamless workflow devised to build solutions with the right focus on impact, scalability, performance and prudence.

Insights & inspiration

Receive the latest Star insights on trends, technologies and endgame-driven approaches straight to your inbox.

Contacts

Or write us at hellostar@star.global

© Copyright Star 2022. All rights reserved Privacy Policy

plus iconminus iconarrow icon pointing rightarrow icon pointing rightarrow icon pointing downarrow icon pointing leftarrow icon pointing toparrow icon pointing top rightPlay iconResume iconCross iconActive Badge iconInactive Badge iconFocused Badge iconDropdown Arrow iconQuestion Mark iconFacebook logoLinkedin logoLinkedIn logoFacebook logoTwitter logoInstagram logo