GTM No Script

车载数字助手解锁令人愉快的用户体验

官方消息:我们与机器人生活在一起。到 2023 年,全球投入使用的语音助手数量将和人类一样多。人工智能 (AI) 支持的数字助手是一种可以理解语音指令并为用户完成任务的应用程序,主要应用于智能手机、平板、电脑和音箱,在汽车中的应用也越来越常见。

车载 AI 语音助手充当最终用户和车辆系统与服务之间的中间人,让驾驶员能够在手握方向盘的同时获取信息和执行任务。我们来看看推动车载数字助手发展的因素是什么,并思考如何才能设计出增强用户信任、增加互动甚至提升品牌忠诚度的协作式机器人。

与时俱进:车载数字助手的发展因素与用例

智能手机的发展导致驾驶员和乘客对车内互连解决方案的需求增加。如果整车厂 (OEM) 无法满足此期望,就说明他们已经忽略了人们的基本需求。AI 支持的语音识别技术在互连领域中越来越重要。Amazon Alexa、Google Assistant 和 Apple Siri 都创造了新的方式进行沟通、购物、环境控制等活动。整车厂采用车载语音助手的一个最主要原因是与用户行为保持一致。事实上,根据 Voicebot.ai 的研究,开车时是消费者使用智能手机语音频率最高的时刻 (62%)。截至去年,一半以上的美国消费者在车内尝试过语音助手,三分之一的消费者每个月都频繁使用语音助手。研究表明,33.2% 的消费者使用了汽车的预装语音解决方案,其他人则使用蓝牙连接移动语音助手或通过车内仪表板连接 Apple CarPlay、Android Auto 或 Amazon Alexa。

车载语音助手用例可以分为两类:基本功能(比如打电话、导航、发送信息或播放音乐)和更加个性化的情境服务。虽然基本用例最为常见,但整车厂都在努力支持复杂的用例,尤其是随着越来越多的自动驾驶解决方案投入使用。例如,车载数字助手可以基于一天中的时间、地点、用户的食物偏好和预算限制推荐餐厅,然后为他们预定座位。它也可以基于一天中的时间和过去的购物经历向驾驶员推荐购物站点,然后相应地重新规划路线。

预定、礼宾服务和品牌大使:车载数字助手对整车厂的优势

考虑到消费者的兴趣,整车厂可以让车载助手成为车辆的一种优势。如果正确使用这些功能,它们就能够改善用户体验,并建立客户关系。最好的车载数字助手可以促使驾驶员和乘客与数字助手展开自然而然的谈话。它们是整车厂的服务平台,是专为满足用户需求定制的“一站式”解决方案,也是为汽车提供商创造新收入流的手段。它们还可以作为品牌的物理表现,尤其是在整车厂设计了一款协作式机器人的情况下。

车载数字助手的另一个潜在优势是,它们为汽车公司收集数据创造了机会。汽车公司可以利用这些数据了解受众,并与受众一起成长。虽然个人信息需要保密,但整车厂可以收集匿名数据,用于分析人们如何使用汽车功能,然后相应地更新产品图,从而改善用户体验。在某种意义上,汽车已经成为一种科技产品,所以,整车厂应该像科技公司那样重视用户数据。但即便如此,整车厂仍然必须遵守数据隐私规定。熟悉不同区域的限制对任何一家全球性企业而言都绝非易事,汽车品牌也不例外。

自研还是购买

另一项挑战是确定从零开始自行开发车载助手还是使用现有的解决方案,比如 Siri、Apple CarPlay、Google Assistant 和 AndroidAuto。整车厂选择自行开发专有车载语音助手的一个主要原因是,随着梅赛德斯成功开发出 Hey Mercedes,它的 MBUX 数字语音助手可以用于创造独特的用户体验和控制用户数据。如果选择从零开始自行开发,那么,与车载技术集成就容易得多,也可以让整车厂更好地掌控客户服务和用户体验。另一方面,利用第三方工具和服务设计可以加快部署的速度,并降低设计新技能和用例的难度。例如,越来越多的整车厂(包括奥迪、宝马、雪佛兰等)都推出了与 Amazon Alexa 集成的汽车型号,目的在于实现家用助手服务及手机助手服务与车内助手服务之间的无缝转换。

协作式机器人与隐形服务案例

在汽车品牌有能力设计出车载数字助手之前,它必须确定究竟是开发协作式机器人,还是让智能汽车助手“待在幕后”。使用协作式机器人有诸多优势。它可以更加轻松地建立起情感联系,并通过生动的表达传递情感、改善与用户的沟通。随着品牌忠诚度的下降,与驾驶员之间的联系变得愈发重要,怎么强调都不过分。智能协作式机器人设计还可以赢得用户信任,用户越信任语音助手,就越有可能使用它。

显然,协作式机器人必须看起来不具威胁性。但具体的美学设计应该取决于各个品牌。在某种意义上,协作式机器人可以被视为整车厂的新吉祥物,必须在讨喜的外形和强大的功能之间达到平衡。Nio 的车载伴侣 Nomi 拥有绝对可爱而萌趣的造型。这种外观不仅可以令用户放松,还可以增加信任和喜爱之情。此外,如果一个小巧可爱的机器人犯了错,它带给人们的懊恼感也没有隐形助手那么多。随着整车厂努力进行故障排除和改进,可爱在一定程度上可以弥补能力的不足。但是,可爱法则并不适用于每一个品牌,根据用户文化背景的不同,人们对它的看法也各不相同。这种助手必须接受市场的考验。

车载数字助手服务设计的考虑因素

但仅仅依靠可爱的造型根本无法走远。更重要的是这些车载语音助手如何发挥作用。如果它们不进行有效、自然的沟通,就会失去依靠可爱的造型赢取的所有信任。整车厂及其合作伙伴应该考虑以下车载助手服务设计的最佳实践:

  • 以人为本的设计:设计师必须反复问自己:助手支持的这项服务为驾驶员和乘客带来了哪些好处?我如何改进车载系统和改善驾驶体验?我何时会让驾驶员产生认知负担或分心?
  • 展示一些个性特点:决定车载数字助手的声音和语调是最基本的决定。整车厂应该考虑此工具的个性特点,确保它能体现品牌形象。例如,Hey Mercedes 不仅能提供帮助,还表现得颇为智能、有趣,有时还有微微的暴脾气。
  • 展开自然的对话:与车载 AI 工具的谈话必须尽可能给人一种自然而然的感觉。这是需要处理的最复杂的方面之一,但对于人机互动至关重要。协作式机器人必须恰当回答问题。如何处理它无法回答的问题也很重要。“抱歉,我不理解您的问题”这样的回答可能会让人产生挫败感。但如果回答“抱歉,我无法帮助您解决这个问题,但我可以讲一个笑话作为补偿吗?”则会让人心情愉悦。
  • 保持灵活和多模式思维:设计多模式体验,让用户在触控和语音之间流畅转换。支持云连接,以便推出更新内容,保持系统为最新版本。
  • 集成所有功能:语音助手的功能越多越好!必须确保用户无论想打开后备箱还是想收听播客,都可以通过车载助手尽可能掌控自己的驾驶体验。
  • 缺少信任,就一无所有:毫无疑问,整车厂必须确保数据的安全,并遵守隐私条例的规定。他们还必须如实公开自己使用数据的方式,让用户轻松选择使用还是拒绝服务,并说明数据共享如何改善他们的体验。清楚说明语音助手的任务是改善而非监视人们的生活。
  • 反复测试:设计师和开发人员必须脱离电脑,在现实世界测试车载助手,以便了解它如何与其他车载系统互动,并对可用性进行真正的测量。
  • 情境设计:对用户正在执行的任务(即使发生在车外)有一个整体的了解,并基于情境(即地点、一天中的时间、路线、驾驶员的心情、日程安排等)将助手提供的服务集成在一起。

最后一英里:解放新一代驾驶

随着越来越多的电动汽车和自动驾驶汽车上路,人们对马力的关注程度也越来越低。他们关心的是有无可能获得最佳驾驶体验。驾驶员在寻求能满足甚至预测他们需求的系统,可以根据时刻和他们的心情,将驾车体验变成一场冒险或闲适安宁的休憩之旅。汽车中应用的 AI 技术便能做到这一点。如果操作得当,语音助手将变得非常有价值,人们无法想象没有它驾驶将变成什么样,就像很难想象没有 Siri 或 Alexa 的生活一样。

关于车载语音助手,最激动人心的一点在于,它的价值不一定只能通过高端奢侈市场来体现。充满吸引力的数字解决方案也可能价格相对较低,使得整车厂能够在所有产品和型号中提供某种程度的语音辅助。

准备好设计一款让客户离不开的车载伴侣了吗?Star 可以提供帮助。立即联系我们了解如何设计。

我们一起来讨论一下

图片来源: 梅赛德斯-奔驰戴姆勒Chris

GTM No Script

In-car digital assistants hold 

a key to a delightful user experience

It is official: We are living with robots. By 2023, there will be as many voice assistants in use as there are people on the planet. AI-powered digital assistants – applications that can understand voice commands and complete tasks for users – are in smartphones, tablets, computers, speakers and, increasingly, cars. 

In-car AI voice assistants serve as a mediator between the end user and the vehicle’s systems and services, allowing drivers to access information and perform tasks without taking their hands off the wheel. Let’s take a look at what is driving the growth of in-car digital assistants and consider best practices for designing collaborative robots (cobots) that foster user trust, drive engagement, and even improve brand loyalty.

Get with the times: in-car digital assistant growth factors and use cases

The growth of smartphones has led to an increased demand for in-car connectivity solutions for both drivers and passengers. If OEMs can’t fulfill this expectation, they are neglecting what has become a basic desire. AI-enabled voice recognition is an increasingly important component of connectivity. Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, and Apple Siri create new ways to communicate, shop, control surroundings, and more. One of the biggest reasons OEMs are adopting in-car voice assistants is to keep up with user behavior. In fact, the most common use of voice on smartphones occurs while consumers are driving (62%), according to research from Voicebot.ai. As of last year, more than half of U.S. consumers had tried a voice assistant in the car and one-third were monthly active users. While 33.2% used a car’s pre-installed voice solution, the rest used Bluetooth to connect with a mobile voice assistant, or connected with Apple CarPlay, Android Auto or Amazon Alexa through the car dashboard, according to the research.

virtual assistants - infographic

In-car voice assistant use cases can be divided into two buckets: basic functionality like making a phone call, getting directions, sending a text or playing music; and more personalized, contextual services. While basic use cases are most common, OEMs are working to support complex use cases, particularly as more self-driving solutions hit the road. For example, an in-car digital assistant could offer restaurant recommendations based on time of day, location, and a users’ food preferences and budget constraints, then reserve them a table. Or, it might suggest a driver stop for groceries based on time of day, traffic and past purchases and reroute the journey accordingly.

Creating conversations, concierge services, and brand ambassadors: the advantages of in-car digital assistants for OEMs

Given consumer interest, OEMs have an opportunity to use in-car assistants as vehicle differentiators. Executed correctly, these features improve the user experience and build customer relationships. The best in-car digital assistants inspire natural conversations with drivers and passengers. They serve as the OEM’s service platform, a “one-stop-shop” for solutions tailored to the user’s needs, and a means for creating new revenue streams for automobility providers. They can also serve as a physical manifestation of the brand, particularly if an OEM designs a cobot. 

Another potential advantage of in-car digital assistants is that they create an opportunity for automotive companies to collect data they can use to learn about and grow with their audience. While personal information needs to remain private, OEMs can collect anonymous data to analyze how people use car features, then update their product map accordingly to improve the user experience. In a sense, cars have become tech products, so OEMs should value user data just as much as tech companies do. That said, OEMs must comply with data privacy regulations. Navigating different regions’ restrictions is challenging for any global entity, and automotive brands are no exception. 

To build or buy

Another challenge is determining whether to build an in-car assistant from scratch or use existing solutions, such as Siri through Apple CarPlay or Google Assistant through AndroidAuto. One of the main reasons OEMs opt to create proprietary in-car voice assistants, as Mercedes has done with Hey Mercedes, its MBUX digital voice assistant, is to build a unique user experience and to control user data. Building from scratch can also make it easier to integrate with in-car technology and gives OEMs more control of customer services and user experiences. On the other hand, leveraging third-party tools and service designs can be faster to deploy and make it easier to design new skills and use cases. For example, a growing number of OEMs, including Audi, BMW, and Chevrolet, are offering models with Amazon Alexa integration to create a seamless transition between assistant services used at home and on the smartphone and those used in the car.

in-car assistant

The case for cobots vs. the invisible being

Before an automotive brand can design an in-car digital assistant, it has to decide whether to create a cobot, or keep the smart car assistant “behind-the-scenes.” Using a cobot has a number of advantages. It can more easily build an emotional connection and add kinetic expressions to convey emotion and improve communication with users. With brand loyalty dwindling, the importance of connecting with drivers cannot be overstated. Smart cobot design also earns user trust, and the more users trust the voice assistant, the more likely they are to use it.

Obviously, cobots should look non-threatening. But aesthetic specifics should depend on the brand. Cobots, in a sense, can be seen as the new OEM mascot and should strike the perfect balance between cuteness and functionality. Nomi, Nio’s in-car companion, is undeniably cute and playful-looking. This appearance puts users at ease and fosters trust and even affection. Furthermore, if a cute little robot makes a blunder, people tend to get less frustrated than they would with an invisible assistant. In a way, cuteness can compensate for incompetencies as OEMs work to troubleshoot and improve. However, the cuteness approach might not suit every brand and could be perceived differently depending on the cultural background of the user. The assistant has to be tested with the market.

In-car digital assistant service design considerations 

But cuteness will only get you so far. More important is how these in-car voice assistants perform. If they don’t communicate effectively and naturally, they will lose any trust their good looks earned them. OEMs and their partners should consider the following best practices for in-car assistant service design:

  • Human-centered design: Designers must ask themselves again and again: What benefit does this service enabled through the assistant provide for drivers and passengers? How am I improving in-car systems and enhancing the driving experience? When do I introduce cognitive load on the driver or simply get distracting?
  • Show some personality: Determining the in-car digital assistant’s voice and tone are fundamental decisions. OEMs should consider the tool’s personality and make sure it reflects the brand voice. Hey Mercedes, for example, is helpful but also smart, playful and, at times, subtly snarky.  
  • Build natural dialogue: Talking with in-car AI tools needs to feel as natural as possible. This is one of the most complicated areas to tackle, but essential to engagement. The cobot must respond appropriately to questions. How it handles queries it can’t answer is also important. Responding with, “I am sorry, I don’t understand” could make people frustrated. But saying, “I am sorry I can’t help with that, but can I make it up to you with a joke?” should lighten the mood.  
  • Stay flexible and think multimodal: Design multimodal experiences that allow users to move seamlessly between touch and voice. Enable cloud connectivity so you can roll out updates to keep the system current.
  • Integrate with everything: The more the voice assistant can do, the better! Users should be able to control as much of their driving experience as possible using the in-car assistant, whether they are looking to open the trunk or listen to a podcast.
  • Without trust you have nothing: OEMs obviously have to keep data secure and adhere to privacy regulations. They also need to be transparent about how they are using data, make it easy for users to opt-in or out of services, and communicate how sharing data can enhance their experience. Make it clear the voice assistant’s job is to improve people’s lives, not to spy. 
  • Test, test, test: Designers and developers must test in-car voice assistants in real-world context, as opposed to on a computer, so they can see how it interacts with other in-car systems and get a true measure of usability. 
  • Situational design: Have a holistic view of the tasks the user is performing, even outside of the car, and integrate services offered by the assistant based on context, i.e., location, time of day, route, mood of driver, schedule in the calendar, etc.
voice-assisstant

The last mile: democratizing next-gen driving

As more electric and self-driving vehicles hit the streets, people care less and less about horsepower. They care about having the best driving experience possible. Drivers are looking for systems that can meet their needs, or even anticipate them, transforming car rides into adventures… or restful retreats, depending on the moment and their mood. That is what AI in automotive can achieve. Done right, voice assistants become so valuable, people can’t imagine driving without them, just as it is hard to imagine life before Siri or Alexa. 

One of the most exciting things about in-car voice assistants is that their value doesn’t have to be reserved for luxury segments. Digital solutions with huge wow factors can come with relatively small price tags, allowing OEMs to offer some level of voice assistance in all makes and models.

Ready to design an in-car companion your customers can’t live without? Star can help. Contact us today to learn how.

Let’s talk

Image source: Mercedes-BenzDaimlerChris