GTM No Script

车队管理技术会推动转型变革,原因何在

车队管理中的新技术解决方案  63089

无论南北,不论东西,无论城市还是乡村,几乎所有人都已感受到全球供应链所面临的危机。车队管理行业雇佣了将近 400 万商业驾驶执照持有者,这一群体输送的货物量占总量(价值 11.5 万亿美元)的 70%(仅就美国而言)。这一点对于为现代生活赋能发挥着至关重要的作用,但是亦面临着巨大挑战,经历着重大变革。要在这一充满变数的时代稳步前行,秘诀在于对技术驱动型车队管理进行全面深入的了解。

我们有幸邀请到 ELMS、Cloudmade 和 Star 的专家,共同探讨以下主题:车队主要成本环节如何在技术赋能下实现增值并加速增长。车队通过专注于三大维度(互联性、敏捷性、智能化),可获得改进,从而提供更多价值、更高效益并具备更优的恢复能力。

立即收听

卓越的车队管理可实现多重裨益

这三位专家分享了数个车队管理方面的示例:充分利用新技术与新方法。除了能够减少污染、缓解交通堵塞外,Jonathan 论述了在车队管理中更加充分地使用数据和人工智能,将会“为运营商带来巨大的生产力,对客户体验的方方面面产生积极影响。”

在拨打维修电话后,我们得到的回复往往是故障会在 4 小时、6 小时或者甚至 8 小时内得到解决!如果这一期限可缩短至特定的时长,将会如何?或者是否有可能在整个价值链中对包裹进行全程跟踪?如果能切实了解对环境产生的影响,又会如何?

车队管理技术创新可实现诸多裨益,而这些不过是冰山一角;在技术创新的赋能下,驾驶员和道路安全性会提高、保险成本会降低、可实现预防性维护,甚至利用率(重要性日益增加)可获得改进。

车队所有者自然会密切关注拥有成本。这些企业真实拥有大量需加以利用的资本资产,而运营费用必须维持在较低状态。

即使处于大环境有利的时代,要实现这一均衡也并非易事。后疫情时代的到来、驾驶员短缺以及其他挑战的出现,更是加剧了复杂性,由此,我们不难看出当下是进行创新的重要时机。

Jonathan 论述了“互联性以及数据和软件开发(类似于车队管理的构思和概念)已进入成熟阶段,可予以扩展。可在多个层面中对其加以利用,从而实现零意外停工率”,并促进节省车队管理成本。

例如,车队管理者可使用大数据和高级分析工具,执行更加有效的路线规划,并与收货设施实时协调,从而缩短卸货流程时长,节省少许宝贵时间。这个环节节省一分钟,另一环节节省一分钟,如此一来,即便是对于小型车队,也会带来巨大的整体效益。

简而言之,在科技赋能下,过往的主要成本环节可为公司带来增值

从车联网演变为真正智能化

如今,车辆所搭载的技术要多于以往任何时候。如 Ryan 所说,车队管理互联性涵盖我们从车辆中收集到的信息,包括“利用遥测技术和 AI 提升安全性、跟踪能力、监控能力、合规性与安保。”所有此类因素是车队管理解决方案中的重要组成部分。

但是,大部分数据往往孤立保存在某辆车中,或者最好的情形也不过是孤立保存在单个组织中。Jonathan 论述了以下内容:车队管理公司需通过哪种方式“获取车辆生成的数据、将其与其他车辆生成的数据进行整合,并集成第三方数据、充分融合这些数据,从而获取更高层次的见解。”此为实现高级互联性的第一阶段。

第二阶段为实现敏捷性。车辆需理解此类见解,并开始以差异化的方式对其加以利用。Jonathan 论述了以下主题:“我们运用信息的方式是真正引人关注的层面。这便是敏捷性和智能化的界限所在。敏捷性指代思考能力。而智能化则意味着学习。”

后者代表着 AI 车队管理数字转型的第三阶段;如 Jonathan 所说,“凭借高质量数据、嵌入式互联性和敏捷性,如今能够创建推理和训练的递归循环,从而实现以下情景:拥有的数据越多,算法和系统获得的训练就越为充分。”

联系我们的车队管理专家。

联系我们

电气化带来的影响

在讨论车队管理技术趋势的过程中,涉及到的最重要的一个主题是电气化的前景,尤其是针对碳中和目标所需付出的努力。

如 Sebastian 所说“电动车领域面临着一些挑战。可利用这一绝佳机遇来为环境带来积极影响。但是,随之而来的还有复杂性。”他概述了一些车队所有者应加以考虑的最为重要的事宜,包括:

  • 应先将哪种车辆转变为电动车?
  • 这会对作业分配和路线规划带来哪些影响?
  • 会对调度产生哪种影响?
  • 计划将整个车队还是某些车辆转变为电动车?

车队管理行业既包含大型参与者,也包含小型参与者。但是,Sebastian 并不认为小型车队会处于明显劣势。原因在于:小型车队的运营更为简化,可以更灵活地顺应变化,在借鉴从电气化旅程中获得之经验这点上尤为如此。

Ryan 指出,无论是大型车队还是小型车队,均面临着一大挑战:缺少适用于电动车数据访问的通用标准。他将电动车与使用内燃机的车辆进行了对比,就后者而言,已设立能效标准,而且已设立对应的政府监管机构。而对于电动车数据而言,尚未实现这一点。“每款推向市场的电动车均采用独特的自主解决方案,市场中未设立通用的主管机构。”

他认为这一空白蕴藏着巨大机会,服务提供商和各制造商可“共同提取数据构建通用数据湖,以更为深入的方式对其予以分析及共享。”

颠覆性企业可利用这一宝贵机遇进军该领域,不仅整合所有数据,而且努力朝标准化迈进,从而获得所需的高质量数据,搭建智能系统。

对所需数据作出公开透明的说明

数据是这一技术革新的助燃剂。但是随之而来的会有合规性、透明性和隐私权这几大问题。Sebastian 论述了制定清晰且透明的数据使用政策的重要性。向驾驶员(而非只向车队管理者或整个车队)提供实际价值,这一点至关重要。作为对提供数据的补偿,你应“向驾驶员提供些许指导,更多地采用游戏化设计并提供一些特殊待遇(如果从安全和燃料消耗这两个角度而言他们表现良好)。”采用此方式后,会有更多驾驶员乐意选择共享数据,协助实现车队目标。

宗旨非常简单。明确说明你请求获取的数据。让驾驶员自主选择参与或退出,最为重要的一点是,说明其会获得哪些裨益,收集方会如何确保其隐私权。这一点是数字转型车队生态系统能否取得切实成功的关键所在。如 Sebastian 所说,“将数据掌控权交给用户自己。”

立即收听本期完整的有关车队管理技术的播客

本次关于车队管理的专家级讨论包含丰富信息,上述内容不过是序言而已。立即准备好了解完整见解。他们对车队运营的演变方式做了短期预测,探讨了可为 10 倍增长赋能的技术、合并硬件/软件解决方案的重要性以及真正实现高效的方式。

他们甚至对致力于减少碳排放量之车队所面临的最具争议性的一大主题进行了探讨:电气化并不代表一切。如 Sebastian 所强调,“可真正最大程度降低影响的理想路程是:不采用车辆运输方式。”

专注于提高运营效率、降低成本、提升管理者和驾驶员的满意度,以及开发能够实现这几点的技术。立即收听。

阅读我们的车队管理研究报告,详细了解车队管理技术趋势。

立即下载

GTM No Script

Why fleet management technology is driving transformational change

fleet management technology podcast

North or south. East or west. Urban or rural. Few people haven’t felt the crunch that’s taken hold of the global supply chain. The fleet management industry employs nearly 4 million commercial driver’s license holders who deliver 70% of all freight worth $11.5 trillion in the US alone. It is crucial for enabling our modern lives, but it’s going through immense challenges and transformations. The secret for navigating this turbulent era is taking a holistic look into tech-fueled fleet management. 

We gathered experts from ELMS, Cloudmade and Star to discuss how technology enables major fleet costs centers to add more value and accelerate growth. By focusing on three horizons — connectivity, smartness and intelligence — fleets can evolve to become more valuable, productive and resilient.

Listen now

The benefits of better fleet management

These three experts dialed in on several fleet management examples of harnessing new technologies and approaches. Aside from reducing pollution and traffic, Jonathan describes how the better use of data and artificial intelligence in fleet management “will unlock enormous amounts of productivity for operators and impact everything for the customer experience.” 

We’ve all been given a repair window of 4, 6 or even 8 hours for a maintenance call! What if that could be narrowed down to a very specific timeframe? Or how about full track and trace on packages from across the value chain? What about a true understanding of environmental impact? 

This is just the beginning as fleet management tech innovations extend into better driver and road safety, reduced insurance costs, preventative maintenance and even improvements in the ever-important utilization ratio. 

Fleet owners rightfully pay close attention to the cost of ownership. Their businesses consist of literally huge capital assets that need to be utilized while operational expenses must be kept low. 

This is a delicate balancing act even in the best of times. Add to it the complexities of the post-pandemic era, driver shortages and additional challenges, and you can easily see why now is such a pivotal innovation moment.  

Jonathan explains how “the advent of connectivity and data and software, like the idea and concept of fleet management, is ripe and open to expand. There are many areas where that can work toward zero unplanned downtime” and accelerate fleet management cost savings.  

For example, using Big Data and advanced analytics, fleet managers can go beyond more effective route planning and into minute-by-minute coordination with receiving facilities to shave valuable time from the unloading process. A minute saved here and there even for smaller fleets can equal immense overall gains. 

In short, technology enables the things that used to be cost centers to add more value to the company.

From connected vehicles to true intelligence

Today’s vehicles are packed with more technology than ever. As Ryan elaborates, fleet management connectivity comprises the information we can gather from vehicles, including the “use of telemetry and AI to improve safety, tracking, monitoring, compliance and security.” All these come together as critical components of fleet management solutions

But much of this data is often siloed either in one vehicle or at best, one organization. Jonathan describes how fleet management companies need to “take vehicle-generated data, aggregate it with data from other vehicles as well as incorporate third-party data and fuse all of this to get higher-order insights.” This is phase one of advanced connectivity. 

Smartness is the second phase. The vehicle needs to understand these insights and start applying them differently. Jonathan elaborates on “how we apply information is where things get really interesting. This is where we’re on the threshold between smart and intelligent. Smartness is the ability to think. Intelligence is learning.” 

This begins the third phase of AI fleet management digital transformation as Jonathan explains, “With high-quality data, embedded connectivity and smartness, it’s now possible to create a recursive loop of inference and training so that the more data that you have, the better trained your algorithms become and your systems.” 

Connect with our fleet management experts.

Contact us

The implications of electrification 

One of the biggest topics in the discussion of fleet management technology trends is the promise of electrification, especially in working toward carbon neutrality goals.  

As Sebastian explains, “There are some challenges entering the EV space. It is a wonderful opportunity to make a positive impact on the environment. But it also creates complexities.” He outlines a few of the most important questions fleet owners should consider, including: 

  • Which vehicles should we convert to EV first? 
  • How does this affect job allocation and routing?
  • What is the impact on scheduling? 
  • Are you focusing on an entire fleet or a portion of one? 

The fleet management industry has both large and smaller players. However, Sebastian doesn’t see smaller fleets at a major disadvantage. That’s because they have more streamlined operations and are more agile in adapting to changes — especially in learnings that come from the electrification journey. 

Big or small, one major challenge Ryan points out is the absence of a common standard for EV data access. He compares EVs with combustion engines that have efficiency standards in place and government agencies to regulate them. The same doesn’t exist yet for EV vehicle data. “Each independent EV comes to market with their unique solution, but there’s no common aggregate authority.” 

This is where he sees an immense opportunity for service providers and different manufacturers to “pull data together to create a common data lake that can be more deeply analyzed and shared.” 

Here is truly an opportunity for a disruptor to come in and not bring all the data together but also work toward standardization to get the high-quality data necessary for fostering intelligent systems. 

Be transparent about the data you want 

Data is fueling this tech revolution. But it raises questions of compliance, transparency and privacy. Sebastian explains the importance of clear and transparent data use policies. It’s essential to provide actual value to the driver and not just the fleet manager or the overall fleet. In exchange for data, you should “provide some driver coaching, add gamification and some perks if they do well from a safety and fuel consumption perspective.” By doing so, more drivers will be willing to opt-in to data sharing, helping achieve fleet goals.” 

The message is simple. Be clear about what data you’re asking for. Give people the right to opt-in or opt-out and, most importantly, show how they’ll benefit and their privacy will be respected. That’s the key to true success in the digitally transformed fleet ecosystem. As Sebastian puts it, “Let people be masters of their data.” 

Listen to the complete fleet management technology episode now 

We’ve just opened the door to this expert fleet management conversation. Now buckle up for the complete insights. They dive into near-term predictions of how fleet operations are evolving, the technologies that will enable 10x growth, the importance of merged hardware/software solutions and attaining true efficiency. 

They even explore one of the most contentious topics for fleets working to reduce their carbon footprint: electrification isn’t everything. As Sebastian highlights, “The best mile on the road that truly minimizes impact is the one that is never driven.” 

Focus on increased operational efficiency, lower costs, greater satisfaction for managers and drivers and the tech that’s making it all possible. Listen now

Learn more about fleet management technology trends in our fleet management research report.

Download now