GTM No Script

医疗器械开发法规为何不构成阻碍,反而是优势所在

收听 Star 倾情推出的这期 Shine 播客,深度了解医疗科技型企业需要掌握的医疗器械法规、关键技术以及将产品投入市场的最佳方法。

医疗科技在快速发展之中。凭借人工智能、语音助手、云存储和增强现实等转型技术,提供商和医疗保健企业的实力不断得到提升,以此提供基于价值的保健服务、改善患者成效并优化工作流程。

为了充分发挥此类技术的潜力,并应对监管要求,医疗科技企业需采取新的商业模式和方法。为此,我们汇集了三位行业领军人物,他们曾成功将大量医疗科技产品推向市场。他们分享了自己的见解,阐述了医疗科技型企业要在当下和未来取得成功所需采用的策略。

收听播客

医疗器械开发面临的挑战

探讨以医疗科技产品制造商目前所面临的主要挑战拉开序幕。首先,他们在各个开发阶段均需考虑欧盟医疗器械法规 (MDR) 和 FDA 医疗器械软件指导方针。此外,他们必须同时能够:

  • 设计任务关键型软件:Tomasz 分享了此类产品在本身设计层面具有很高的技术含量,作为大型系统组成部分时同样如此,这些产品必须与边缘设备和终端用户通信,以各种方式展示数据,同时维持合规性以及(毋庸置疑)实现预期的医疗用途。
  • 实现诊断目标和互操作性:Stefan 描述了企业在多个维度上需要实现的目标,包括“迅速将合规产品引入市场,此类产品可实现诊断和治疗目标,同时能够与业界当前采用的医疗器械实现互操作性。”
  • 开发模块化医疗科技技术:David 强调,医疗软件开发为模块化产品构建孕育了巨大机会。但是了解医疗和非医疗器械组件之间的界限至关重要,从而能够“更易做出更改,而无需重新提交整个系统”。
  • 围绕此类产品建立全新商业模式:许多老牌器械制造商未曾需要考虑:自身产品在数字医疗保健时代中将以哪种方式运作。Tomasz 强调:“当下是合适的时机来建立适用于互联医疗科技用途的商业模式,同时为终端用户和组织服务。”
  • 将用户置于首位:在努力达到所有里程碑的过程中,很容易忘记最终用户。David 表明:“另外,无论如何都不能忽略用户。提高工作流程的复杂程度,会降低产品的成功几率。在最初设计医疗产品时,就必须对无缝性和参与性加以考虑。”

将医疗保健服务推向新台阶

医疗科技领域的重心从硬件转至软件,为初创企业和老牌企业创造了大量机会,这些企业可提供利用新技术和采用全新保健模式的产品。

企业必须做好准备,在整个患者保健之旅中进行大胆创新和思考,同时考量可在哪些环节为提供商和生态系统的其他利益相关者提供价值。

全球医疗保健体系承受着巨大压力。David 特别探讨了迫切需要开始构建基础设施,对人口老龄化提供支持。“我们必须把医疗保健服务引入家庭。如此一来,保健效果不仅更佳,而且会起到预防作用,此外,可为处于危急情况的患者保留资源。”

David 继续指出,在我们探讨医疗保健领域的前景时,我们需要构建基础,便于系统和技术相互协作,“而非以孤立形式进行运作。凭借这一点,可确保它们得到切实采用、使用、监控并持续参与其中。”

实现这一目标并非易事。首先,我们需要对医生的报销做法进行立法改革,以便从商业角度采用此类工具。幸运的是,疫情加速了此类技术的采用,我们从中看到了一线希望。如今,监管需要跟上节奏。

标准化的出现

尽管在这场艰苦战役中,医疗科技企业仍然需要克服技术和监管方面的挑战,但 Stefan 指出,近年来已取得长足进步。首先,“已构建技术基础,例如更广泛地采用 FHIR 已成为标准做法”。

Tomasz 指出了标准化的优势,表明“新进制造商尤其应该清楚,通过将此类系统互联,我们最终可为患者带来裨益。”

构建以最终目标为导向的医疗科技开发方法。立即联系我们的专家。

取得联系

利用全新 MDR 法规作为优势

年初,全新的 MDR 法规给医疗科技行业带来了巨大影响。其中包括改变器械分类、器械范围、加强公告机构对制造商的监督、要求对 UDI 器械进行标识、增加上市后监测活动等等。

对体外诊断医疗器械而言,其影响无疑非常之大。Tomasz 表示,在这一变化之前,“大约 75% 的体外诊断医疗器械可自行进行认证。而现在这一比例下降至 25% 左右”,这意味着:制造商需将产品送至欧盟公告机构进行 CE 认证。

如今,此类医疗科技产品必须依据质量管理体系进行开发,并由独立机构再次进行审核。虽然这些管控措施给医疗器械制造商带来了短期压力,但这是非常正向的变化,原因在于它应该有助于推动行业制造出更高质量的产品。   

为医疗科技的发展制定最佳策略

医疗科技领域的发展错综复杂。企业需要寻找合作伙伴,来助力自己应对监管挑战及管理整个端到端产品生命周期。

这是继我们收购 Pro4People 后推出的首期播客。医疗科技事业部常务董事 David Box 和 Star 监管咨询与技术总监(前 Pro4People 首席执行官)Tomasz Puk 借此契机,深入探究了我们不断扩充的医疗科技产品/服务。

我们可以提供监管咨询服务和扎实的领域专业知识,以更加专业的方式为客户以及甚至上游群体提供更多价值。从设计和开发医疗器械,到加强上市后监督和更多环节,这一点贯穿始终。

深入了解为开发以用户为中心的合规医疗器械需掌握的信息。立即收听完整播客,同时借此机会详细了解 Star 医疗科技实践部门的实力。

Why medical device development regulations are an advantage and not an obstacle

Regulated MedTech product development R1hbapm
medical device regulation advantages - Star podcast

Dig into what MedTech-focused companies need to know about medical device regulations, key technologies and the best approach to bringing a product to market in this episode of Shine: a podcast by Star.  

MedTech is evolving quickly. Transformational technologies such as artificial intelligence, voice assistants, cloud storage and augmented reality are increasingly extending the capabilities of providers and healthcare businesses to deliver value-based care, improve patient outcomes and optimize workflows. 

To realize the full potential of these technologies and navigate the regulatory environment, MedTech companies need new business models and approaches. That’s why we gathered three industry leaders who’ve successfully brought countless MedTech products to market. They share their insights on the strategies that MedTech-focused companies need to embrace to be successful now and in the future.

The challenges of medical device development

The discussion kicked off with a look into major challenges MedTech product builders currently face. First and foremost, they must consider EU Medical Device Regulation (MDR) and FDA software as medical device guidelines at every stage of development. Moreover, they must simultaneously be able to: 

  • Engineer mission-critical software: Tomasz shares how these products are highly technical both in their own design and as part of larger systems that must communicate with edge devices and end-users, present data in various ways while maintaining compliance and, of course, deliver on the intended medical purpose. 
  • Achieve diagnostic goals and interoperability: Stefan describes the multidimensional objectives companies need to hit, including “quickly bringing compliant products into the market that achieve diagnostic and treatment goals while being interoperable with medical devices currently in the landscape.” 
  • Develop modular MedTech: David highlights the opportunity medical software development creates for modular product creation. But it’s critical to know the boundaries between medical and non-medical device components to be able to “make changes more readily without having to resubmit the entire system.” 
  • Create new business models around these products: Many established device manufacturers never had to think about how their products would function in the digital health era. Tomasz emphasizes “it’s time to build business models which are fit for purpose around connected MedTech and serve both end-users and organizations.” 
  • Put the user front and center: With all of these milestones to hit, it can be easy to forget about who ultimately will use the product. As David explains “At the end of the day, you also can’t lose sight of the user. Adding complexity into workflows can risk a product’s success. Seamlessness and engagement must be baked in from the beginning of medical product design.”

Subscribe on Apple Podcast   |   Subscribe on Spotify

Pushing healthcare into new frontiers

The shifting focus in MedTech from hardware to software presents numerous opportunities for both startups and established companies to deliver products that leverage new technologies and embrace new care models. 

Companies must be prepared to innovate and think boldly throughout the patient journey and see where they can provide value to providers and other ecosystem stakeholders. 

Our global healthcare system is under immense strain. David explores, in particular, the critical need to start building an infrastructure to support our aging population. “We must bring healthcare into the home. The result is not only better and even preventative care, but also the ability to reserve resources for those in dire situations.” 

David goes on to note as we look into the future of healthcare, we need to create the foundation for systems and technologies that work with each other “as opposed to working in disparate silos. This will ensure they actually get adopted, used, monitored and continue to be involved.”

Achieving this will be no simple feat. First, we need legislative changes around reimbursement practices for physicians so these tools are adopted from a business perspective. Fortunately, we’re seeing a silver lining in that the pandemic has accelerated the adoption of these technologies. Now, the regulations need to keep pace. 

The emergence of standardization

Though MedTech companies still face this uphill battle unwinding technical and regulatory challenges, Stefan notes the substantial progress that has been made in recent years. This starts with the “technical foundations that have been created such as the broader adoption of FHIR as a standard.” 

Tomasz picks up on the advantages of standardization, noting that “newcomer manufacturers, in particular, should understand that by connecting these systems, we will create patient benefit in the end.”

Leveraging new MDR regulations as an advantage

New MDR regulations rocked the MedTech world earlier this year. They include changes to device classification, device scope, stronger Notified Body oversight of manufacturers, the requirement of UDI device marking, increased post-market surveillance activities and more. 

Looking at in-vitro medical devices, the impact cannot be overstated. Tomasz explains before the change, “about 75% of in-vitro medical devices could be self-certified. Now it’s down to around 25%” which means manufacturers will have to bring their product to notified bodies for CE Marking in the EU. 

These MedTech products must now be developed under quality management systems and be audited once again by an independent body. While this puts short-term pressure on medical device manufacturers, this is quite a positive change because it should help push the industry towards making higher-quality products.  

Crafting the best strategy for MedTech development

MedTech development is complex. Companies need a partner to help them navigate both the regulatory challenges and the full end-to-end product lifecycle. 

This podcast episode was the first since our acquisition of Pro4People. It was an opportunity for Managing Director of HealthTech David Box and Tomasz Puk, Director of Regulatory Consulting and Technology (and formerly CEO of Pro4People) at Star to discuss our extended HealthTech offering. 

We’ve increased our ability and skill to deliver even more value for our clients and further upstream by providing regulatory consulting and stronger domain expertise to the table. This extends all the way through medical device design and development, enhanced post-market surveillance and beyond.  

Dive further into what you need to know about developing user-centric, compliant medical devices. Listen to the complete podcast, and while you’re at it, explore more about the Star HealthTech Practice’s capabilities now.

Related topics

Share

Regulated MedTech product development Ralkbapm
David Box
Managing Director, HealthTech at Star

As Star’s Managing Director of HealthTech, David works with customers to ideate and develop digital healthcare products from inception to launch and beyond. Prior to joining Star, David spent 10 years working with customers in the healthcare industry building market-leading products and services that improve patient outcomes, increase engagement and enhance healthcare experiences.

Regulated MedTech product development Rapkbapm
Tomasz Puk
Director of Regulatory Consulting and Technology at Star

Tomasz has a proven track record of designing, developing, and maintaining complex IT solutions for the global market. Having worked in various roles including software developer/designer and R&D department manager and medical device process consultant, he combines business, managerial, and engineering skills, to provide the depth of skills and experience our clients need to launch world-class MedTech solutions. Tomasz was formerly CEO of Pro4People and helped navigate their acquisition by Star. Today, he holds leadership roles in both Star’s HealthTech and Service Delivery teams.

Regulated MedTech product development Ratkbapm
Stefan Schlichting
Manager of Product and Service Innovation at UNITY

Stefan is a Manager of Product and Service Innovation at UNITY a management consultancy for innovation and digital transformation. He’s an expert system architect with a strong engineering focus and vast experience working with medical device interoperability. Stefan has a PhD in Medical Informatics and is sub-group chair in the IEEE 11073 PoCD WG for the Service-oriented Device Connectivity.

Harness our HealthTech capabilities

We are passionate about improving healthcare outcomes with digital products that are a pleasure to use

Explore our expertise
Loading...
North America, Big

We are truly global.
Explore our locations around the world.

North America, Big

Star is a global team of product creators. We connect strategy, design and engineering services into a seamless workflow devised to build solutions with the right focus on impact, scalability, performance and prudence.

Insights & inspiration

Receive the latest Star insights on trends, technologies and endgame-driven approaches straight to your inbox.

Contacts

Or write us at hello@star.global

© Copyright Star 2023. All rights reserved Privacy Policy

plus iconminus iconarrow icon pointing rightarrow icon pointing rightarrow icon pointing downarrow icon pointing leftarrow icon pointing toparrow icon pointing top rightPlay iconarrow pointing right in a circleDownload iconResume iconCross iconActive Badge iconInactive Badge iconFocused Badge iconDropdown Arrow iconQuestion Mark iconFacebook logoLinkedin logoLinkedIn logoFacebook logoTwitter logoInstagram logo