GTM No Script

卓越的产品管理等同于更高的市场契合度、实力更强的团队以及新的增长机会,原因何在

各行各业以解决方案为导向的趋势日益突出,产品管理的范畴和重要性亦随之持续扩大和强化。在本期 Shine 播客(由 Star 推出)中,我们会对产品管理进行深入探究。

我们是一家端到端 IT 咨询公司,我们的产品经理在以下过程中发挥重要作用:助力医疗科技金融科技汽车与移动出行领域及其他目标行业的客户提供突破性的产品,从而让客户加速增长并确立品牌地位。

优秀的产品经理应具备哪些特质?企业在面试过程中应询问哪些类型的问题?如果你是一位处于求职状态的满怀抱负的产品经理,可以通过哪些举动让自己脱颖而出?

请聆听本期播客,它将一一为你揭晓答案。

收听播客

要找到合适的产品经理,从企业确立的里程碑入手

每家企业都会依据确立的里程碑作出规划。为此,技术创始人兼首席产品官 Nick Black 每次都会围绕以下关键问题来开启与合作方的对话:“我们下一步要实现的目标是?我们要尝试推出我们的产品吗?我们要试图通过前 10 位用户确定产品与市场的契合度吗?或者我们要在全球进行扩张吗?”透彻了解自己要实现的里程碑后,即代表你在找寻合适的产品经理的旅程中顺利迈开了第一步。  

Star 的产品管理副主任 Olia 对此进行了补充说明,她认为“无论找寻的对象是内部合作伙伴还是外部合作伙伴,灵活性和跨领域的经验都有着至关重要的作用。”原因在于产品管理涉及整体把控,负责人必须具备全局观,并能够将其传达给整个团队。

对比产品负责人与产品经理:你会先聘请哪个职位?

对于门外汉而言,这两个术语听起来极为相似,但是要注意区分,在与企业合作时尤其如此。正如 Olia 所述,对于“敏捷”方式(尤其是 Scrum 项目管理方法),产品负责人指代“管理积压工作和任务、主要与交付团队合作的人员”。

这一术语容易造成困惑,原因在于“负责人”这一表述会让你认为该名人员负责作出重要决策或者拥有产品策略,但是在 Scrum 中并非如此。此类任务和其他大量工作均由产品经理负责。

正如 Nick 所说,“产品管理的关键点在于对试图解决的问题进行归纳整理、扩展业务并提高用户参与度。”

他阐述了这一区别,并说明了对于初创企业而言这一点尤为重要:“如果你是一位已在行业深耕细作 15 年的创始人、拥有所在领域的博士学位、了解产品管理,而且乐于指导并培养员工,那么你可通过聘用并培养初级产品经理来构建模型。”

另一方面,产品负责人是在过去 10-20 年中于欧洲兴起的一种新角色。企业想根据硅谷型技术产品管理模式对自己的方法进行建模,但是不愿意向技术部移交决策权。Nick 阐述道,他们会“确立利益相关者和企业的具体需求,由产品负责人将此类需求转化为技术部要完成的任务”。

对于初创企业而言,这会导致形成一个关键转折点。虽然部分企业规模足够庞大,会对此类职位进行细分,但是如果你加盟过初创企业,那么就清楚身兼数职是很正常的现象。创始人引入产品负责人后,通常会发现产品负责人的工作内容超出职位本身的要求。创始人会需要向其支付更高薪水或赋予其更多职责(通常为两者皆有!)。

此时,优秀的产品负责人已成型,只是他们可能不适合负责产品管理。如果你是创始人,需要注意两点:留住优秀的人才,构建强大的团队。

而这正是 Star 等企业的用武之地,我们能够切实带来增值,原因在于我们可让创始人利用我们的项目团队,填补关键人才的空缺,助力其实现目标。例如,此类初创企业可能需要完全独立的项目团队,或者产品负责人与富有才华的工程师。无论属于哪种情况,我们都能够助力其迈向最终目标。

了解 Star 的产品管理方法如何助力你走向卓越。与我们取得联系进行深入了解。

取得联系

如何搭建有效的产品团队?

初创企业。成型企业。内部或外部方法。Nick 认为,每家企业的团队都需要具备竞争力、自主权和关联性。因此,每个团队均需具备以下三位关键成员:

  • 产品经理:策略和整个愿景的负责人。产品、客户与最终用户之间的关键联络人。
  • 技术负责人:“工程师代言人”。他们的工作语言类似于:“好的,我们可采用 x 方法,在几月内交付新功能,但是如果我们采用 y 方法,在几周内就可完成。”
  • 产品设计师:不仅仅是 UX 设计师,而是一个能够深入了解客户想法、确立价值定位并构思理念的角色。

然而,最为重要的是,需要搭建一支团结一致的队伍。如果你能做到上述几点,那么将能够构建出真正非凡的产品/服务。

世界一流的产品经理具备哪些特质?

无论你是拥有 8,000 位员工的企业掌门人,还是创业人士,无论你现在身处产品管理职位还是计划投身于此,通过一些显著特质,会让真正优秀的产品经理脱颖而出。

Olia 表示,优秀的产品经理具备以下特性:共鸣思维、关爱之心以及乐于思考原因所在。这一点甚至适用于面试流程。通过了解面试者过往经验中围绕产品作出特定决策的原因,你可获得有关候选人的大量信息。

Nick 详细说明了这一锚定原理,并表示“人们喜欢讲故事,会很自然地编造内容,构建虚假的记忆。但是,如果你真正试图将面试者置于特定时间的特定事项中(例如你准备将产品推向全球,然后就此提问),你可能会获得真正有用的信息。”通过此种方式以及模拟研讨会,你可获悉面试者的真实工作方式,以及其是否为企业的合适人选。

在播客中详细了解产品管理策略

这两位产品管理方面的专家在整期播客中进行了深入探讨。他们详细讨论了产品开发策略,包括聘用产品经理,以及了解企业在不同阶段的需求。

欢迎你收听整期播客,如果你有意愿成为 Star 的产品经理,请查阅我们的空缺职位,机会多多。你将有机会与 BMW、ZEISSNioPanasonic 等全球一流的客户携手合作,亦有机会与有志书写宏伟篇章的创新初创企业携手并进。

查阅我们的

了解我们的空缺职位

GTM No Script

Why excellent product management equals better market fit, stronger teams and new growth opportunities

product management_a podcast by Star

As businesses of all stripes grow increasingly solution-driven, the role of product management will only continue to increase in scope and importance. So on this episode of Shine: a podcast by Star, we’re diving deep into product management.

As an end-to-end IT consultancy, product managers play a crucial role in helping our clients across HealthTech, FinTech, Automotive & Mobility and every industry we serve deliver groundbreaking products that accelerate growth and define their brand. 

What are the qualities of an excellent product manager? What types of questions should companies be asking during an interview? And if you’re an aspiring product manager on the job hunt, what are some things you can do to stand out? 

Find out this and so much more by listening to this episode. 

Listen to the podcast

Finding the right product manager starts with your company’s milestone

Every company is structured around milestones. That’s why Nick Black, Tech Founder and Chief Product Officer, opens the dialogue with every business he works with around a few key questions. What do we need to achieve next? Are we trying to launch our product? Are we trying to go from our first 10 users to finding product-market fit? Or are we trying to scale globally? By having a strong understanding of the milestone you’re targeting, you’ll be able to take the first step in finding what product manager you need. 

Olia as a Deputy Head of Product Management at Star extends this by offering her perspective, “Regardless of whether you’re looking for an internal or external partner, flexibility and cross-domain experience are essential.” That’s because product management is such a holistic role, and this leader must be able to see the big picture and help translate it to the team. 

Product owner vs. product manager: who do you hire first?

These two terms can sound pretty similar to the untrained ear, but it’s important to distinguish them, especially when working with enterprises. With the Agile approach and especially a Scrum project management methodology, a product owner is “the person managing the backlog and tasks and mostly works with the delivery team,” as Olia describes. 

This is where terminology can be confusing because with the word “owner,” you might think this means somebody who’s making major decisions or owning product strategy — which isn’t the case in Scrum. These tasks and much more are done by the product manager. 

As Nick explains, “The whole point of product management is that you align the problems you’re trying to solve, grow the business and engage users.”

He illustrates this distinction and why it’s especially important for startups by saying, “If you’re a founder who’s been in the industry for 15 years, have a Ph.D. in the area, know about product management and love coaching and developing people, then you can create a model based around having junior product managers and growing them.” 

On the other hand, a product owner is a new role that emerged only in the past 10-20 years in Europe. Enterprises wanted to model their approach based on Silicon Valley-style technical product management, but they weren’t ready to hand over the keys to the business. Instead, they “created what the stakeholders and businesses needed, and the product owners would translate these into requirements to complete on the technical side,” Nick elaborates.   

This leads to a critical inflection point for startups. While an enterprise may be large enough to separate these roles, anybody who’s ever worked for a startup knows you wear many hats. A founder who brings a product owner on board may often find themselves in a position where the product owner outgrows the role. The founder will need to either pay them more or give them more responsibility (usually both!).

Then, there will be excellent product owners and just that, and they might not be suited toward product management. As a founder, you have to pay attention to the two: to retain good talent and build a strong team.  

This is where companies like Star can truly add value because we enable founders to utilize our project teams to help achieve their goals and fill critical talent gaps. For example, they might need a fully independent project team or a product owner and talented engineers. Either way, we can help them work toward their North Star goal. 

See how Star’s approach to product management can help you shine. Connect with us to learn more.

Get in touch

How do you structure an effective product team?

Startup. Enterprise. Internal or external approach. Nick sees that teams at every company need competence, autonomy and relatedness. As such, there are three key members every team must have: 

  • Product manager: the owner of the strategy and the entire vision. Your key liaison between a product, a customer and an end-user. 
  • Tech lead: “emissary for your engineers.” They’ll be able to tell you something like, “well, we could take x approach and deliver a new feature in a few months, but if we did y, we could get that down to a few weeks. 
  • Product designer: this is more than a UX designer, but somebody who can get into the heads of customers, build value propositions and design ideas.

Above all, though, this needs to be a close-knit team that acts as one. If you’re able to do that, then you’ll be able to craft something truly special. 

What makes a world-class product manager?

Whether you’re managing an enterprise of 8,000 people, getting a startup off the ground, in product management now or looking to get into it, a handful of distinguishing features set apart truly great product managers. 

Olia describes how the best are driven by empathy, caring and wanting to answer the questions “why?”. This applies even during the interview process. By understanding why certain decisions were made around a product in their past experiences, you can learn a lot about a candidate. 

Nick details this principle of anchoring and how “people love telling stories and just naturally make stuff up and create false memories. But, if you really try to anchor people onto a specific thing at a specific time, such as when you scale a product globally and then ask them the questions you can get really useful information from them.” This along with simulated workshops can provide you with insights into how people really work and if they’re the right fit for your business. 

Explore more product management strategies in the podcast

The conversation among these two product management experts gets deeper in the complete podcast. They give even more product development strategies into hiring product managers and understanding what companies need at different stages.

Listen to the full episode and if you’re interested in becoming a Star Product Manager, check out one of our many open positions. This is your opportunity to work alongside world-class clients like BMW, ZEISS, Nio, Panasonic, as well as disruptive startups looking to chart their next iconic move.

Explore our job openings