医用可穿戴设备和数字医疗保健设备如何提升医院的安全性

Christopher Scales

依据 Christopher Scales

数字医疗保健技术有助于提升医院的安全性 R1hbapm

甚至在这次疫情之前,医护人员的职业倦怠率就已达到破纪录的水平。据报告,一半的医生和三分之一的护士出现此种症状。

自新冠肺炎爆发以来,这一情况进一步加剧了。如今,有 76% 的医疗保健专业人员 (HCP) 都出现了职业倦怠。但这仅仅是开端而已。压力、担心亲人暴露在病毒环境中以及全身性的疲惫,充斥于整个医疗保健生态系统。

在过去一年中,有 48% 的 HCP 考虑过离职,有 49% 的 HCP 表明曾在工作期间哭泣。

前线医护工作人员理应获得更好的待遇。尽管技术不能解决所有问题,但它是一个解决方案。在过去一年中,数字医疗保健技术在提供高质量远程医疗服务方面表现出非凡的潜力(即使是在前所未有的全球健康危机中)。

从长远来看,它甚至能够提供更多裨益,来减轻医疗保健提供商的负担。随我们一起,专注于技术可为提供商带来的积极影响,营造安全性更高、压力更小的医疗保健工作环境。

医疗保健技术在实践中的运用

医疗保健行业通常是技术采用的前沿领域。早在我们拥有家用计算机之前,医院就已采用大型计算机来提供文档、执行分析和实现其他有用功能。但是,我们现在看到的景象是:新技术呈爆发式增长,这些技术利用移动设备、互联性和大数据来完成各种我们在 20 - 30 年前无法想象的任务。

医疗技术是一个较为广泛的分类。它可以指代医疗 IT 基础设施和人工智能,也可以指代数字疗法和其他最新创新成果。

此类突破性进展有助于改善 HCP 的健康和安全,在这一点上可谓意义非凡:

实际上,这些技术并不相互排斥。如今,HCP 已将上述部分技术或全部技术与传统疗法结合使用,不仅可为患者提供更为优质的护理,还可以让他们的生活更加轻松。

同样地,它们还具备另一强大相似性。整体而言,它们已成为改善工作场所健康和安全等级的关键要素。采用此类技术后,压力更小、患病率更低,减少了人为错误和计划外的停机时间,预防了伤害,同时增加了与患者的相处时间。

优化提供商的工作流程并减少错误

当我们想到技术突破进展时,首先进入脑海的是那些大型高调的创新。但是,这些创新这并不总是能够为现实生活带来裨益。因此,在医疗保健领域应用数据科学是我们 Star 探讨时间最长的主题之一。你可能没有注意到它,甚至没有意识到数据科学如何为临床决策提供信息参考或促进各种其他医疗保健活动,这就是关键所在。数据科学加以正确利用后,可无缝集成到工作流程中。

这与医疗保健领域面临的一项重大挑战直接相关。多年以来,人员短缺一直是个难题,本已不堪重负的 HCP 需承受更大压力,完成更多工作。仅记录一项工作就占据所有报告护理时间的 27.5%。他们还在“无用性事务”上花费了额外 6.6% 的时间,“无用性事务”指代等待、寻找/检索和传输。

当下是这些领域实现自动化的一个成熟时机,并且已经推出了一些令人印象深刻的数字医疗保健设备来减少低效现象。Aiva 虚拟健康助手就是其中一个例子,通过它,患者和照护者之间可实现更加有效的沟通。

Aiva 是床边语音助手,可以理解并响应患者和照护者的请求,从而让照护者能够通过智能手机的直观应用程序参与照护工作。最大的一个优势是,照护者可通过应用程序管理和跟踪所有请求,从而全面改善护理机构的运营。

但是,这些技术的关键应用并未止步于此。它们对于护理协调、用药管理、患者护理活动以及非临床类功能(如教育和教学)也起着至关重要的作用。

AIVA 數字健康設備

Corti 是另一个基于 AI 的患者分类软件,可为提供商带来诸多裨益。它有助于实时引导患者问询,从而确保第一急救人员能够提出正确的问题并就护理方法作出正确结论。据其统计资料,使用 Corti 后可使错误率降低 50%,同步时间(与患者共处)增加 15%,同时总体诊断准确性达到 92%。

将这些情况综合进行考虑。在这一方面节省几分钟,在另一环节节省几分钟,最终可以省下数以千计的小时的时间,并可在系统级别提升效率。更不用说因错误率降低而挽救的生命数量了。

Corti 數字健康設備

提供指导和培训

在美国,护士最常见的轮班时长为 12 到 13 个小时。以更广阔的视角来看待这一数字,美国人平均每天工作 8.8 小时,这一水平已经远远超过了经合组织 (OECD) 公布的平均值

护理班次的时长与护理的安全级别和质量密切相关。毋庸置疑,班次时长延长不仅使 HCP 的健康和安全受到威胁,同时会因错误率上升而将患者置于风险之中。

优化工作流程是缩短轮班时长的一大关键要素。此外,可穿戴设备医疗保健技术是强大的可用于提供培训和指导的工具。

Google、Facebook 和 Lenovo 等领军技术企业推出的一系列医疗技术可穿戴设备,以及新兴的竞争类产品,在生态系统中提供了增值以及具有成本效益的解决方案。Vuzix 只是其中一个例子,非常适合我们所处的远程医疗驱动性日益增强的世界。通过此类智能眼镜,现场护理从业人员可以实时获得专家互动反馈、立即采取行动并可获得其他诸多益处,例如:

  • 按需访问医学图书馆
  • 生命体征监测(时刻关注患者)
  • 与支持人员和专家进行实时连接
  • 治疗记录,用于培训
Vuzix 數字健康設備

Vuzix 只是医疗保健产品中众多提供实操指导和培训的可穿戴技术的一种,可为照护者赋能。

Butterfly 的手持式超声波工具同样可为用户提供振奋人心的性能。这款便携式设备可以连接到任何智能手机,并且简单易用,即使是非 HCP 人士也可以学会如何使用。借助此款设备,可将超声数据发送给远程专家,后者即可针对患者健康事宜作出明智决策。

Butterfly 數字健康設備

建立安全性更高的医疗保健机构

首先同时也是最重要的一点,凭借数字医疗保健技术,人们无需进入医院,在家中即可获得服务。就其本身而言,这是在健康与安全层面取得的一大胜利。正如我们在新冠肺炎疫情期间所看到的一样,远程会诊和监测不仅能提高患者的安全性,对于提供商而言也是如此。

数字医疗保健设备(包括临床类和非临床类)可为人类健康带来更多裨益。HCP 同样也是消费群体的一员,经证明,Apple Watch 和 Fitbit 等可穿戴设备是富有价值的工具,可在早期检测出新冠肺炎

管理员已在机构和系统级别采用一些工具来保护员工。Roche 目前正在使用数字生物标记来跟踪健康状况,特别是 HCP 的健康状况。此类工具可密切关注我们医护工作人员的健康,其重要性再强调也不为过。无论是发现疾病、高压力水平、还是整体健康的早期预警信号,通过此类工具,医院领导者都能够适时建议员工休息、请病假以及更充分地跟踪心理健康。

同样地,机构健康管理也变得日益重要。因此,Star 最近与 OneConcern 联合创建了 The Covid Calculator,这是一款直观的在线工具,可帮助工厂和办公室管理者决定是否复工。企业可使用数据建模和用户友好型界面作出明智决策,从而最大程度地保护员工健康。

尽管这些工具目前还无法用于医院环境,但其在生态系统中拥有巨大潜力。同时,它已经可对非临床但仍必不可少的职能(如理赔确认、营收周期管理以及医疗保健系统其他核心功能)提供助力。

ZEISS 數字健康設備

我们以科技为助力的健康未来

我们在讨论新的医疗技术时,很容易将重点放在数字医疗保健服务可为患者带来的巨大裨益上。但是,医用健康可穿戴设备和其他数字医疗保健设备对提供商、支付方以及(毋庸置疑)医疗设备和制药公司同样有利,甚至更为有利。

从优化工作流程和节省大量时间到减少错误并提高医疗保健机构的整体安全性,这些设备在这一历史性关键时刻发挥着至关重要的作用,并提供了当今医疗保健专业人员需要和理应获得的支持。

在 Star,我们将可穿戴医疗设备视为互联式、个性化、精简型数字医疗保健产品/服务不可或缺的组成部分。通过我们目前与 ZEISS 的合作了解相关实际情况。我们通过共同创建 VISU360 来帮助其顺应服务化趋势,VISU360 是一款可扩展的远程医疗平台,具有远程诊断功能并可支持至多 1000 个物理位置。立即查看

相关主题

分享

数字医疗保健技术有助于提升医院的安全性 R5dkbapm
Christopher Scales
Star 策略与见解总监

Christopher 担任 Star 的策略与见解总监一职,主要负责带领医疗科技实践事业部团队共同制定以人为本的数字策略,从而提升参与度并改善医疗保健效果。除了在医疗保健领域拥有丰富的设计经验外,他还成功向市场推出了多项消费类电子产品、汽车和重工业产品和解决方案。在加盟 Star 之前,Christopher 曾在策略设计咨询、内部企业设计与创新团队中担任过多个高级职位。

利用 Star 在医疗科技领域的强大实力

我们热衷于构建能够获得用户青睐的数字产品, 以此改善医疗保健效果

了解我们的专业技能
Loading...

Star 是一个缔造产品的全球化团队。我们将策略、设计和工程服务无缝融入工作流程,致力于构建影响力、扩展性、性能和可靠性兼具的解决方案。

见解与启发

直接以邮箱订阅 Star 分享的有关趋势、技术和最终目标导向型方法的最新见解。

联系人

或者向我们发送电子邮件:hellostar@star.global

plus iconminus iconarrow icon pointing rightarrow icon pointing rightarrow icon pointing downarrow icon pointing leftarrow icon pointing toparrow icon pointing top rightPlay iconResume iconCross iconActive Badge iconInactive Badge iconFocused Badge iconDropdown Arrow iconQuestion Mark iconFacebook logoLinkedin logoLinkedIn logoFacebook logoTwitter logoInstagram logo

How medical wearables and digital health devices are creating safer hospitals

Christopher Scales

by Christopher Scales

Digital health devices and medical wearables R1hbapm

Even before the pandemic, rates of healthcare professional burnout had reached record-breaking levels. Half of physicians and one-third of nurses reported experiencing symptoms. 

Since COVID-19, things have only gotten worse. 76% of healthcare professionals (HCPs) are now experiencing it. But that's just the beginning. Stress, worry about exposing loved ones to the virus, and general exhaustion pervades the ecosystem. 

48% of HCPs have considered leaving their jobs, while 49% have reported crying at work during the past year. 

Frontline workers deserve better than this. While it won't fix all the problems, technology is one answer. In the past year, we've seen digital health's incredible potential to enable high-quality remote care even during an unprecedented global health crisis

Long term, there’s even more it will do to reduce healthcare provider burden. Join us in this focused look at the positive influence tech is having on providers to create safer and less stressful working healthcare environments. 

Health technology in action

Healthcare has generally been at the forefront of tech adoption. Long before we had computers at home, hospitals had mainframe computers providing documentation, analysis and other useful functions. But what we see now is an explosion of new technologies that harness mobile devices, connectivity and Big Data to do things we couldn't have imagined 20-30 years ago. 

Healthtech is a broad category. It can refer to Health IT infrastructure and artificial intelligence to digital therapeutics and other recent innovations. 

In terms of impact on improving the health and safety of the HCP, these breakthroughs have particularly been meaningful: 

Vitally, these technologies are not mutually exclusive. HCPs today are already applying some or all of them in conjunction with traditional therapies, and it's not just creating better patient care but also making their lives easier. 

Likewise, they share another potent similarity. Together, they have become critical for promoting health and safety in the workplace. The result is lowered stress and illness rates, reduced human error and unplanned downtime, injury prevention and more time spent with patients.

Optimizing provider workflows and reducing error

When we think of tech breakthroughs, large and flashy innovations first come to mind. But that doesn't always translate to real-life benefit. That's why the application of data science in healthcare is one of our most consistent themes here at Star. You might not see it or even be aware of how data science informs clinical decision-making or facilitates myriad other healthcare activities, and that’s exactly the point. Properly harnessed, it is seamlessly integrated into workflows.

This leads directly to a major challenge in healthcare. Staffing shortages have been an issue for years, increasing pressure on already over-taxed HCPs to do more. Documentation alone consumes 27.5% of all reported nursing time. They also spent an additional 6.6% on “waste,” defined as waiting, looking/retrieving and delivering. 

These areas especially are ripe for automation, and there are already impressive digital health devices that are reducing inefficiencies. Aiva Virtual Health Assistant is one example, and it supports more effective communication between patients and caregivers.

Aiva is a bedside voice assistant that can understand and respond to both patient and caregiver requests, allowing the caregiver to engage via an intuitive smartphone app. Best of all, caregivers can manage and track all requests via the app to comprehensively improve care-facility operations. 

But key applications of these technologies don't stop there. They are also vital for care coordination, medication administration, patient care activities and non-clinical roles like education and teaching.

Virtual Health Assistant

Corti is another AI-based patient triage software that has numerous benefits for providers. It helps navigate patient interviews in real-time to ensure first responders ask the right questions and reach the right conclusion regarding their approach to care. According to their statistics, using Corti has led to a 50% error reduction rate, 15% pace increase (time spent with patients), and an overall diagnostic accuracy of 92%.  

And all of this adds up. A few minutes here and a few minutes there translates to thousands of hours of saved time and improved efficiency at the system level. Not to mention the number of lives saved from lower error rates. 

Corti - AI-based patient triage software

Providing guidance and training

The most common shift length for nurses in the US is 12-13 hours. To put that number in perspective, the average American works 8.8 hours per day, which is already well over the OECD average

Nursing shift length is strongly associated with the safety and quality of care. Unsurprisingly these extended hours are not just putting HCPs' health and safety at risk, but the patients' by increasing errors. 

Optimizing workflows is one essential component to reduce shift length. In addition, wearable health technologies are powerful tools for providing training and guidance. 

A broad swathe of healthtech wearables from tech leaders like Google, Facebook and Lenovo, along with rising challengers, provide value add and cost-effective solutions in the ecosystem. Vuzix is just one example and a perfect fit for our increasingly telehealth-driven world. These smart glasses allow the onsite care practitioner to receive live expert interactive feedback, immediately act on it and receive other benefits like: 

  • Access to on-demand medical libraries 
  • Vital signs monitoring without taking their eyes off the patient
  • Real-time connection with support staff and specialists
  • Treatment recording for training purposes 
Vuzix - wearable technologies in healthcare

Vuzix is just one of the many hands-on guidance and training wearable technologies in healthcare products that empower caregivers. 

Butterfly’s handheld ultrasound tool is equally exciting. The portable device connects to any smartphone and is simple enough for even non-HCPs to learn how to use it. From here, it can send ultrasound data to remote specialists who can make informed decisions about patient health.

Butterfly - portable medical device

Creating safer healthcare facilities

First and foremost, digital health technologies keep people out of hospitals and at home. By itself, this is a major health and safety victory. As we've seen during COVID, remote consultation and monitoring don't just make the patient safer, but the provider too. 

Digital health devices, both clinical and non-clinical, have further health benefits. HCPs are also consumers, and wearables like the Apple Watch and Fitbit have proved valuable tools to detect COVID-19 early

At the facility and system level, administrators have adopted tools to protect their workforce. Roche is now using digital biomarkers to track health, specifically targeting HCPs well-being. Tools like these keep an eye on our healthcare workers’ health, and their importance cannot be overstated. Whether it’s noticing early warning signs of illness, high stress levels or overall health, this enables hospital leaders to advise staff to take a break, sick leave and better track mental health. 

Facilities health management has likewise grown increasingly important. That’s why Star recently partnered with OneConcern to create The Covid Calculator, an intuitive, online tool to help factory and office managers to decide to return to work. Using data modeling and a user-friendly interface, businesses can make an informed decision that best protects their workforce’s well-being. 

While not available for the hospital environment just yet, the potential for these tools in the ecosystem is immense. Meanwhile, it has already been effective for non-clinical yet still essential roles like claims validation, revenue cycle management and other core health system functions.

ZEISS - digital health technologies

Our tech-enabled health future

When discussing new health technology, it's easy to focus on the immense patient gains that digital health drives. But medical health wearables and other digital health devices are equally, if not more so, beneficial for the provider, payer and, of course, Med Device and Pharma companies. 

From optimizing workflow and saving immense amounts of time to reducing error and improving health facilities’ overall safety, they are vital during this critical moment in history and provide the support that today's healthcare professionals need and deserve. 

At Star, we see wearable medical devices as an integral component of a connected, personalized and streamlined digital health offering. See what that looks like in action from our ongoing partnership with ZEISS. We helped them embrace servitization through co-creating VISU360 - a scalable telehealth platform with remote diagnostics capabilities and the ability to support up to 1,000 physical locations. Check it out now.

Related topics

Share

Digital health devices and medical wearables R5dkbapm
Christopher Scales
Director of Strategy & Insight at Star

As Director of Strategy and Insight at Star, Christopher works primarily with the HealthTech Practice team to define human-centered digital strategies designed to improve engagement and deliver better health outcomes. In addition to his healthcare design experience, he has also successfully brought to market consumer electronics, automotive and heavy industry products and solutions. Before joining Star, Christopher held numerous senior roles in strategic design consulting, internal corporate design and innovation groups.

Harness our HealthTech capabilities

We are passionate about improving healthcare outcomes with digital products that are a pleasure to use

Explore our expertise
Loading...
North America, Big

We are truly global.
Explore our locations around the world.

North America, Big

Star is a global team of product creators. We connect strategy, design and engineering services into a seamless workflow devised to build solutions with the right focus on impact, scalability, performance and prudence.

Insights & inspiration

Receive the latest Star insights on trends, technologies and endgame-driven approaches straight to your inbox.

Contacts

Or write us at hellostar@star.global

© Copyright Star 2022. All rights reserved Privacy Policy

plus iconminus iconarrow icon pointing rightarrow icon pointing rightarrow icon pointing downarrow icon pointing leftarrow icon pointing toparrow icon pointing top rightPlay iconResume iconCross iconActive Badge iconInactive Badge iconFocused Badge iconDropdown Arrow iconQuestion Mark iconFacebook logoLinkedin logoLinkedIn logoFacebook logoTwitter logoInstagram logo